Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Basic good value

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Excellent location,close to all amenities. Spotlessly clean, very basic but comfortable. Staff could have been more helpful on check in Fine the rest of the time
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Tony Brazao , Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. All the best :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good people, good services

Posted Sep 6, 2017
This hotel has been really kind in all matters. Staff provides support for travellers and are flexible. Location is great too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh,Scotland

Location is the best, the rest is just ok.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The best and most important thing is that the location of this hotel is the best ever in Funchal!
Cons: bathrooms!
Location: EVERYTHING is nearby!:) The best of the city!!!! La Vie, the best pastry shops, gardens, wine tasting, burgers, lots of fruit stalls, bolo do cacos!
Overall, because of the fact that we were only sleeping in the room due to being around Madeira all day every day, I can say that I would stay again in this hotel - it's cheap, the location IS AMAZING, THE BEST, very comfy that it's close to everything and the old town which is the best part of Funchal (Lido is awful). So overall - it's good for what you pay for. We stayed at 168 building, which is next to the main one, the rooms advertised with a balcony - well the balcony is so small it doesn't count as a balcony, but anyway - the rooms were small but clean (sheets changed every day, new towels, made up bed every day) bed was okay, kind of comfy, bathrooms need work definitely - the main problem though is the fact that the door doesn't close or the bottom , or that the bottom of the door has been cut, so a big gap is there - basically you can have no privacy if you need it. Maybe it depends on the room - we changed two rooms and they both had bathroom door problems. Also not very clean showers. Breakfast is not good - we did go only once and left in 5mins, but you can go for the fresh bananas and boiled eggs with toast - quite basic stuff there and not the best quality of food, coffee is not coffee. But still, we were fine with not having the breakfast, because of the price you pay and the amazing location you get. I can recommend the small local cafe just across the street for lovely Latte and omlette filled bolo do caco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel, good location, clean, comfortable

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Very large spacious room.
Cons: It was a hot night, a fan would have helped.
Location: Lots nearby! Lots of good and reasonable restaurants close by, recommend Funnil! Close to the centre of town, tour company's, buses, market.
Located in the old part of Funchal, close to good restaurants, the port area, the market, buses. Very large room, old style, beautiful parquet floors, cooking facilities, comfortable bed, shower over the bath could be a concern for some with mobility problems. I didn't have the breakfast to comment. Staff really friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Cheap hotel in city centre

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Well, the room is spacious, beds are confortable, clean sheets and towels every day, but if you dont mind the broken bits in the bath tub and a broken bide and scraped, unclosable bathroom door, broken shades and a kindergarden under your window you will be just fine. For a cheap hotel in city centre with an electric hob, kettle, sandwich maker, fridge freezer, all kitchen utensils and plates and cooking pots it was a good price and we were happy that it was clean and towels changed daily. We cooked and enjoyed our staying because we are not picky people, we enjoyed the holiday and outdoors more than the stay in hotel. Wifi was very good and location of the hotel was great, just 10 min walk to the harbour and 5 min walk was La vie shopping centre where on the ground floor was cooked food, next to the hotel is a restaurant with good prices and good food and we played pool just in the complex infron of the hotel, tv is available in the room with english programmes, and a paralel street takes u straight into the old city, was happy about location and all together the holiday
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great location but....

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Great location, clean, staff helpful , but bad internet, and hard mattresses. .. for the price and for a few days it's Ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: brilliant location, fantastic value for money
Cons: may be start cooking hot breakfast would be nice
Location: great location , close to everything
we stayed a week during carnival time. very happy, weather was good sunny,we swam every day, been on three bus tours. hotel location is fantastic in the very center of Funchal, easy to find and close to all locat places of interest, beach and port . would recommend to anybody who doesn't like spend tooo.. much time in hotel room and prefer to walk around or simply stay more outdoors.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

School playground

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Very disappointed with the accommodation. Nothing like the pictures shown online. if I hadn't paid upfront I would have refused to pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cannot beat the Colombo for Value

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Only a 6 minute walk down to the Cathedral and shopping in town. Excellent eating nearby.
Rooms are quite large and beds comfortable. Try for a room to the rear for a more peaceful and quite night..Breakfast is very good and the option of the balcony seating is great. .My second visit - would come again. Enjoy !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Conviently placed.

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Location
All round good experience and relative to the rate. Comfortable, clean and conveniently located