Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorking

Excellent

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Very clean, good service. Pedro Zamora, Classic Guitarist on Sunday night was fantastic
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by m, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and delighted to hear you consider the Royal Savoy Hotel & Resort ‘excellent’. We were most happy to hear you fully enjoyed your holiday experience, in particular the beautiful music and performance of Pedro Zamora at the classic guitar. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon when we will be sure to strive to exceed your expectations once again. Warm regards and Muito Obrigada. Luisa Correia Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very goood hotel close to the sea and to the town

Posted Mar 29, 2018
Pros: The comfort, the general facilities and the staff and the breakfasts
Cons: The evening meals in the restaurant
Location: It was nice to walk into Funchal and enjoy the atmosphere
We stayed for 3 nights and found the whole atmosphere very relaxing. The staff were vere friendly and helpful. The only weak area was the quality of the theme food in the retaurant in the evenings. We will be happy to come back to the Savoy
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2018 by m, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at the Royal Savoy Hotel & Resort. We appreciate your kind words on the overall relaxing atmosphere that we provide to our guests as well as the helpful and friendly service you received from our team. We equally welcome your comment on the themed evening dinners, and on this opportunity we are happy to inform you that as from the beginning of April we now offer more a la carte dinner options – we feel certain this will further enhance guests’ dining experience in our restaurant. It’s wonderful to know that you will be happy to return – the best compliment we could ask for, and a very warm welcome back will always await you here. Warmest regards and Muito Obrigada. Luisa Correia Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga

Beautiful hotel with an excellent view to the ocea

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Pros: Everything, the elevator running with a view to the ocean, the staff, Maria who was taking care of our room.....
Cons: I don’t know....
Location: The location is on the ramp of the hill and is close to the old downtown or to the other part of the city where you can find rental cars or mercado.
When we arrived we were so amazed to find out actually the hotel is everything I wanted to have for my 50th bithday: view to the ocean, a place where to bath in the sun and a luxury of a perfect stay! I was so happy and couldn’t ask for more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your very kind feedback following your recent stay with us at the Royal Savoy Hotel & Resort. We were delighted to know that you chose our hotel to celebrate your special “big” birthday and once again, congratulations from all of us. We were so happy to hear we could make the occasion a memorable experience for you. We equally appreciate you sharing your beautiful photos of our hotel and facilities on this website. It was a true pleasure having you with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon when we will be sure to strive to exceed your expectation once again. With warm regards and Muito Obrigado. Luisa Correia Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Location: central location, short walk to the port, easy to get bikes, cabs etc.
Fantastic experience, great rooms, good breakfasts, very good facilities (pool, gym, sauna). Staff went out of their way to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review following your stay at the Royal Savoy Hotel & Resort. We were delighted to read that you had a fantastic holiday experience with us and we exceeded your expectations in regards to our location, facilities, guest rooms, the quality of our breakfast and above all the helpful service you received from our attentive and caring team. We all hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy our warm Madeiran hospitality once again. Warm regards and Muito Obrigado. The Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful Views

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Cons: A more interesting and modern restaurant menu
A very attractive and comfortable hotel. Helpful and attentive staff. The restaurants al a carte menu was less inspiring. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following you stay at the Royal Savoy Hotel & Resort. We were pleased to read overall you had an enjoyable stay with us, found our hotel comfortable and attractive, as well as our prime ocean front location offering beautiful views and above all you received helpful and attentive service from our team. We equally welcome your observation on à la carte menu and we will of course be look into this with our culinary team in order to further improve our food offerings to meet the developing needs of our discerning guest-clientele. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon when we will be sure to strive to exceed you expectation. Best wishes for the year ahead and Muito Obrigado. The Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Rooms need updating and freshening up. Some of the furniture seems antiquated and needs modernising. Buffet breakfast limited and repetitive. Food generally mediocre. Maybe 5* on facilities but really a 4*. Better hotels in Funchal for a similar price. Consolation was that all staff were outstanding. It’s a shame that the reviews are not more balanced. Probably a good hotel in its day but it is almost certain that the Savoy Palace will tempt clients away from the Royal when opened.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by The Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion following your stay in December at the Royal Savoy Hotel & Resort. We welcome all feedback from our guests as we believe this is most a valuable tool, which enables us to monitor the developing needs of our discerning guest-clientele and helps us evaluate the standards of our services and facilities that we offer to our guests. Our hotel is obviously not the style of hotel you were expecting and we can only apologies that our interior décor and food offerings were not as you had anticipated. Indeed, our food offerings is one of the most positive aspect commented by our many guests. On the other hand, we do appreciate you highlighting the outstanding service you received from our attentive and professional team. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back, perhaps next time to our sister hotel, The Savoy Place where for sure you will receive our usual warm Madeiran hospitality. With best wishes for the year ahead and Muito Obrigado. The Management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun in Funchal

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Our first time in Madeira and what a wonderful experience staying at the Royal Savoy was. From the moment we arrived we were looked after and nothing was too much trouble. The facilities at the hotel were fantastic - with 3 different pools to choose from to keep the children entertained. The food was sublime with a wide choice at breakfast and different themed nights for dinner. If eating in the hotel is not your thing, The hotel is located within walking distance or a short taxi to many different restaurants and bars. Cannot recommend the Royal Savoy highly enough!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands, UK

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We have stayed at the Royal Savoy a few times before, and continue to enjoy it. A good location, and lovely public areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aylesbury

Amazing Staff!

Posted Jun 9, 2017
The staff really made this a home away from home, the were friendly and attentive, the customer service was beyond any I have experienced else where. Hotel facilities are fantastic and it's close to town, plenty of restaurants within walking distance (or short taxi if you're not keen on hills)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Central location

Posted May 2, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Good pool and ample sun beds
Cons: Disappointed with the junior sweet,kitchen area not cleaned, and balcony never swept
Location: Facilities excellent as location
Overall we had a nice break,hotel 4.5 star ,excellent evening entertainment,would probably return