Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A Grand Hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Courtesy bus to the town centre Funchal and there are lots of places to eat without having to wander too far away
Cons: Bed not as comfortable as I would like it to be ! Television very outdated and should be replaced by a flat screen
Location: Lots of shopping places,supermarkets and things to see and do
Hotel lovely and clean and very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful swimming pools and a very well kept garden.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Madeira Island. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A great place to relax

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Everything was geared to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Staff always willing to help with information, tours, etc.
Cons: It would have been nice if the gym and pool opened at 07.00, not 08.00. The waiters were sometimes too quick to clear the table at breakfast!
Location: Good local shopping if you like that (we don't). Nice seafood restaurant looking out to sea - beautiful sunset.
The welcome, the service, the cleanliness were all fantastic. Very good communication by courtesy bus to the centre of Funchal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Madeira Island. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The bed was very uncomfortable. Two beds pushed together...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Madeira Island. We apologize if in some aspects we did not corresponded to your expectations, we shall do our very best to improve for your next visit. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Lovely hotel, lovely location

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: Staff attitude, amongst a very limited few.
Location: It's well situated for the local shopping outlet and really nice restaurants. You need to use the free bus or taxi to go into Funchal .
If you've booked this hotel then you are going to a really nice place, close to lots of things to do and with superb views. The hotel is immaculate , if somewhat reserved, as you may expect of a 5 star location. Most of the staff were exceedingly helpful, only let down by the odd one or two who perhaps believe that sullen is in keeping with their status. Rooms are cleaned daily, towels , robes and slippers all supplied and there is varied, if somewhat subdued entertainment. Drinks prices in the bars are steep unless it's happy hour, breakfast variety is awesome and little touches such as turning you bed down at night are lovely, though not really necessary. I'm probably being 'picky' and would go back in a heartbeat but if you aspire to be 5 star then you have be tested against the best and evolve your service to keep up. Don't let anything I've said put you off. If you want a party atmosphere, cheap booze and games round the pool don't go here. If you want to relax in the sun, eat well and stay in immaculate, roomy comfort then you are going to have a fabulous holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for staying at the lti Pestana Grand. On behalf of all our team, we would like to thank you for you most kind words and compliments towards them. We will make sure they receive this feedback from you! We certainly look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you very soon, until then please receive our kindest regards. Yours sincerely, The management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Quiet location but with good links and amenities

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Quiet location, beautiful sea views. Our partial sea view room looked over the ocean to Cabo Girao. Excellent shuttle bus service and not Funchal or short walk to hotel zone. Several restaurants very close to the hotel so it was possible to stay very local. Hotel staff were wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Madeira Island. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Romania

Nice view to the ocean and gardens

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: View - garden and ocean; beds
Cons: more sunbeds
Location: Very close to the mall; enough restaurants in the neibourhood
Overall experience ok. Major drawback not enough sunbeds around the pool which creates discomfort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Madeira Island. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent uk

Lovely friendly hotel easy access to town

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Beautiful walks flowers lots to do food excellent.will be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Mandeira Island. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The room was excellent and the hotel staff were most helpful. The location was very good.
The hotel was excellent in every respect with the exception of the wifi which was unreliable at times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Santos, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us. It´s great to learn that you were very pleased with the room allocated and have found our staff helpful. We acknowledge that we most improve some aspects on the Wi-Fi, the technicians are at the moment looking into it. The rate that you have quote us (1), doesn´t reflect your thoughts and kind words! Perhaps you would be so kind to change your evaluation, which apparently was done by mistake! Many thanks in advance! It was our absolute pleasure taking care of you and we look very much forward to personally welcome you back on your next stay at the Grand, please do contact me whenever you need our assistance or advise. With my kindest regards, The Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Two single beds pushed together aren't comfortable at all
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Mandeira Island. We apologize if we did not correspond to your expectations. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Grand in every sense

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Ebookers
Great hotel, fabulous location, warm service, breathtaking views. the breakfast is a highlight with free flowing sparkling wine! The gardens are lovely with lots of different type of flowers. The pools are clean. It truly is one of the best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear KKS, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Mandeira Island. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management