Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Relaxing

Posted Apr 7, 2018
We visited at Easter and generally the hotel felt about half full, so it wasn’t very busy. Weather was good. Hotel is very clean with some minor repair needed in places; hotel staff are very friendly and always want to help. I suspect this may be harder in peak season. Buffets are good but overpriced. Spa is great - also when weather is cold and overcast. Most disappointed with Hotel entertainment. They put on an egg hunt for the kids when we arrived, but after this, nothing! The evening entertainment was desperate. It’s like the hotel doesn’t care about attracting its residents together in the evening to socialise or spend money at the bar. By the end of our week, it became too painful to sit and listen. We had a family room on the 3rd floor facing the rear garden. Had hire car and underground garage has plenty of parking. Lots of waking. Right on edge of the sea so sometimes windy. Amazing island. Would visit again and would be happy to stay at the hotel - clean and friendly. We went B&B only.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for choosing Lti Pestana Grand Hotel to spend your holidays in Madeira. We thank you for your review and for sharing it with so many travelers. It will be our pleasure to have you back in a near future! Yours sincerely, The management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel overlooking the sea.

Posted Jan 27, 2018
Pros: The indoor pool; although the shape of it makes it difficult to have a really good swim.
Cons: The coffee.
Location: There are lots of different trips to do in and around Funchal.
The buffet breakfast is excellent. The only small niggle is the that the coffee was awful - I could not even drink it. We liked the indoor heated pool, as it was too cold to swim outside in January. The shuttle bus into Funchal was excellent: regular and reliable. The hotel and grounds were beautiful and all very well kept. Funchal is a lovely town and there is plenty to visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear gesut, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand once more as your hotel in Madeira Island. On behalf of our staff we thank you for your words. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulous

Posted Jan 10, 2018
I think this hotel exceeded expectations I think this hotel exceeded expectations I think this hotel exceeded expectations I think this hotel exceeded expectations I think this hotel exceeded expectations I think this hotel exceeded expectations I think this hotel exceeded expectations I think this hotel exceeded expectations I think this hotel exceeded expectations
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand once more as your hotel in Madeira Island. On behalf of our staff we thank you for your words, specially Luis. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2018
On a list day we were told in the morning of the departure that they had a continental breakfast but because we did not know this prior we could not take advantage of this. In addition the room had numerous issues that could did not get resolved( hair dryer with turn off after 30 seconds, they say that was by Design. Because I have travel all over the world I've never had that issue. In addition the AC and heating did not work correctly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Madeira Island. On behalf of our staff we thank you for your words. We are very sorry to know that you had this experience and we shall address this issue directly. Indeed, the hotel guests have right to free breakfast in the room for when the check out is sooner than 8 am. All of your guest request, are treated with maximum priority and we send the maintenance right away when this situations may occur. Once again, we hope that you had a great time in Madeira Island and it would mean a lot to us to see you in our resort once again. Our warm regards, The management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel and beautiful views set in attractive w

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: The position
Cons: The beds could be more comfortable and the towels could be up graded
Location: Location is a half hour walk to the centre of Funchal but a courtesy bus is provided daily with a timetable
Enjoyed my stay very much and have been coming to this hotel for over 10 years. Always friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Madeira Island. On behalf of our staff we thank you for your words. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful! Friendly and welcoming

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Nothing too much trouble. Very Highly recommended. Breakfast buffet truly amazing (and we’ve been to some top hotels!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Madeira Island. On behalf of our staff we thank you for your words. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The managemen
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Hotel is good

Posted Dec 17, 2017
The good thing in this hotel has a shuttle bus and location is good, nice swimming pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Madeira Island. On behalf of our staff we thank you for your words. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Positive - wouldn't give the hotel full 5 stars as some parts need renovation (carpet in rooms, bathtub, old style televisions), but the rooms are huge and always squeaky clean and the staff has been nothing but nice and helpful in all circumstances. The location is amazing, would definitely recommend and go back there if I was to return to Madeira.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Madeira Island. On behalf of our staff we thank you for your words. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management
5 out of 5
by SAFWAN

Posted Nov 27, 2017 on Hotels
all well, but the hotel has to get rid of the stains in the carpets in the rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017
Dear guest Thank you so much for your review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Madeira Island. On behalf of our staff we thank you for your words. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Experiencing high quality of holiday

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: location, facilities and food quality.
Location: The shopping centre nearby is great.
The hotel gave us a great chance to experience the highest quality of holidays with super sea view rooms, huge and beautifully presented swimming pools, spa and indoor pool facilities, and high quality of breakfast. The hotel's location is also ideal in a modern area with good hotels, shopping centre around. We like especially the offering of a cup of Madeira wine at the reception and the champagne in breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Lti Pestana Grand as your hotel in Madeira Island. On behalf of our staff we thank you for your words. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back. Our warm regards, The management