Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec, Canada

With husband for a week.

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: The situation to visit Funchal and the parking site not to fare, even if we had to pay for.
Cons: Change the continental breakfast and ad a smile with the service. It is robotised!
Location: Lots of visit in Funchal and the surrounding. When you know your way out,it is easy to visit all around Funchal.Mercado about 15min.walk.
Parking facing the hotel. Pay everday. free after 8pm and on the week-end. excellent situation if you walk. Not very quiet. Dogs barking, peoples talking loud. Breakfast ok. Not more. A little bit of smile by the owners,would be more appreciated!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Agostinho, Hotel Management
this is other peole opinion had a fantastic stay here. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the terrace was a true gem, beautiful view and a lovely place. we can not please everybody
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prague

Good base in Funchal to discover Madeira

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Cons: The room in which we staid (no. 1) is pretty close to the lobby / breakfast room and therefore it was pretty noisy in the morning. Old furniture.
Location: Excellent location close to the center (5-10 mins by foot), shopping center (5 mins by foot) and bus stations.
Vila Teresinha offers all the basic conditions for whoever wants to explore the island. It's clean, the owners are helpful and hospitable and the breakfast was good (we especially liked the fact that every day we had a different desert and different fruit). Good balance between quality and price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for , Hotel Management
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending us to other travelers. We are so glad that you felt welcomed in our house and found our location convenient to explore the Island. It was a great pleasure to meet you both and I look foward to your next visit. Warm regards from Madeira ,Agostinho & Catarina
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cosy and Convenient

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
Perfectly situated place with a lovely host who prepared nice breakfasts. The place is quaint and has a nice balcony seating area as well. Really glad I chose this place rather than a room in a big (and more distant from Funchal center) hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending us to other travelers. We are so glad that you felt welcomed in our house and found our location convenient to explore the Island. It was a great pleasure to meet you both and I look foward to your next visit. Warm regards from Madeira ,Agostinho & Catarina
5 out of 5
by Edgar

Would definitely return here!

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Whether or not "budget-minded" (as I am), this facility is tops in its class and in a great "European" tradition. Host Augustino assures every comfort and need. His cooking and cleaning staff are meticulous and generous. Breakfasts as included are delicious and very complete! The outdoor balconies (available to all rooms) with views of the city and harbor are a big plus (including with tables, chairs, and power outlets!). Very quiet neighborhood with convenience grocery store nearby. Reasonable access to local transportation by foot (but do your homework on bus routes, first). (Not recommended for the physically-impaired or challenged.)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
It's a pension not an hotel. We stayed there 18 months ago and it is exactly the same and could do with a bit of updating. Be aware that it is up a steep hill. It is a shame that the breakfast is skimped on in some ways. You are given plenty but the orange juice is watered down, the bread tasted like yesterday's, one and a half butter pats each etc. make it feel as if they were cutting corners a bit too much. However, lovely views from the balcony if you are willing to pay more for the top rooms.
5 out of 5
by Hak Ping

Friendly little hotel with great hosts.

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
I booked it only a few weeks earlier and got a great price. It's close enough to Funchal centre but away from all the noise. The only Tino speaks perfect English so you won't have a problem. He loves conversation with you about Madeira, Portugal and other issues. Very helpful and extremely friendly. On the final day, he also let me to keep the room till midday so that I could wonder around city centre before leaving for the airport. Great breakfast by the way.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Budget Hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
This guest house is great for those on a budget. It's clean, well appointed, and has lots of nice touches (i.e balcony, community fridge, books etc) however the hostess can be very rude at times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg, mb

Great experience - would recommend!

Posted Aug 13, 2016
The family that runs Vila Teresinha is so kind and accommodating. We had to leave before breakfast on the last day and they prepared a big spread for us ahead of time so we could still eat! The guest house is off the main drag so it's fairly quiet. The rooms are clean. The terrace is lovely and looks out towards the water. There aren't many frills but for such a fair price, I think that the facilities are more than reasonable. We really enjoyed staying here and would definitely recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Agostinho & Catarina, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Agostino E Catarina
4 out of 5
by Michelle from London

Location, hospitality and authenticity

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
A real B & B conveniently located
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended budget guest house

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
This guest house is in a great location only a few blocks from La Vie shopping centre. The included breakfasts are amazing with a wide assortment of breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, a dessert, coffee or tea and eggs made to your liking. The hosts are friendly and helpful and speak multiple languages. The terraces are wonderful for winding down in the evenings and enjoying the skyline overlooking the harbour.