Ratings based on 967 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Best New Years celebration ever.

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: Service the grounds the view.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Casino down town and old town Funchal
Form the evening dinner to the fire works display at midnight and dancing the night away everything was just great
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Fernando Carriço, Hotel Management
Dear Guest John, With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. Thank you for staying at the Pestana Casino Park and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Madeira. Sincerely, Fernando Carriço Unit Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a pleasant stay

Posted Dec 28, 2017
this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in, in all my travels around the world. they apologised, though it does not give me my holiday back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Fernando Carriço, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments and views. At Pestana Casino Park, we take our guests’ feedback seriously as this is the only way we can truly measure and continuously improve the service we provide to our guests. We are disappointed to hear you didn’t find our offerings excellent, and we apologize for being unable to impress you . Thank you once again for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We aim to improve and we look forward to serving you better in the future. Kind regards, Fernando Carriço Unit Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Outstanding

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Amazing staff, friendly and helpful anytime with anything. Hotel was perfect -central location, all needed facilities (restaurant, spa, swimming pool, patio, garden bar, casino, games, entertainment) Food - variety of food, every day different buffee, delicious breakfast always sometime different to eat which makes it more interesting, extra options for food intolerances, good timing, friendly staff, fantastic presentation
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Fernando Carriço, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Katarzyna, Thank you for the great review (and great photos, too)! We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, food, staff and facilities. Your positive comments about us have been really appreciated and we sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you back to Madeira and to the Pestana Casino Park hotel, so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again to offer you “the time of your life”. Kind regards, Fernando Carriço Unit Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex UK

Favourite place to stay in Funchal

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Lovely room. Great staff. Really good location. We love the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by Fernando Carriço, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Little A, With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. Thank you for staying at the Pestana Casino Park and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Madeira. Sincerely, Fernando Carriço Unit Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston UK.

Long weekend Treat.

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Perfect location for any length of stay. Because of location it is great for short stays. Classy hotel in a special place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by Fernando Carriço, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. David, We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments about us have been really appreciated and we sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you back to Madeira and to the Pestana Casino Park hotel, so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again to offer you “the time of your life”. Kind regards, Fernando Carriço Unit Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maidstone

Lovely views

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Had a greT stay, hotel is easy walking distance from the town and has lovely views over the harbour and sea front😎
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Fernando Carriço, Hotel Management
Dear Mr . Paul, It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit to Pestana Casino Park and to offering you “the time of your life” Kindest regards, Fernando Carriço Unit Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

This is a great hotel and very well situated

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Location and facilities
Cons: Coffee/tea making facilities in the room
Location: Perfectly located for the town and local bus services.
We were a group of 6 friends going for a weeks holiday. The rooms were clean and modern and with good air conditioning. We booked on a bed and breakfast basis and enjoyed a great buffet each morning. The staff were always helpful and would call cabs etc. and help with any questions about Madeira etc. We would all definitely go to Madeira and would book this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Fernando Carrico, Hotel Management
Dear Gill & Friends, Thank you for your positive thoughts about Pestana Casino Park and we are happy to met your best expectations. Regards, Fernando Carrico
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staffordshire England

good location. short walk through a park to town

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: a lick of paint in the bedroom. A bit drab for a 5 star hotel
great hotel but wouldn't pay the amount for a partial sea view again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Fernando Carriço, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Just a short note to thank you for staying at Pestana Casino Park Hotel and for taking some of your precious time to share your feedback about the holiday experience, which we have carefully read all your opinions about our hotel and our services . All our guests valued feedback really matters to us and we will certainly use yours to improve our services. We thank you for your preference and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again in a not too distant future. Warm regards, Fernando Carriço Unit Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Definitely NOT 5*

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: The location was good for getting around
Cons: Provide Tea/ coffee facilities in rooms as standard
Location: Good restaurants within walking distance. Poolside area was good.
The hotel is very large and in a great location. I had read some reviews about the hotel and knew there was some building work next door (it’s a new SAVOY hotel) In anticipation of this I emailed Pestana prior to our holiday requesting that we were not put in a room looking at building works. I received a response telling me they would respond as soon as possible. We are now home and I’m still awaiting the response and we were in a room looking at the building works despite having booked a room with a mountain view. The holiday was a celebration for my 60th birthday and this spoilt our celebration. Breakfast is served in a very large dining room with plenty of choice. The cold selection and breads were plentiful. The cooked breakfast (buffet style) was always cold / Luke warm no matter what time you arrived. It’s worth thinking about timing for breakfast as it can be very busy and crowded, particularly if there is a conference group staying. The towels in the rooms are greying and worn as are the pool towels. The outdoor pool area is very good although the sun lounges need replacing as they are very worn. The Dockside restaurant offers food and drinks. The hotel corridors are long and dark and with room service trays left outside the doors all night they are a trip hazard. Each room has a balcony with two chairs; they are very low and therefore you end up looking at the railing, blocking your view (if you’re lucky enough to have one!) The staff were friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Fernando Carriço, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Ann, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel. We strive to provide all our guests with flawless experiences and we are very sorry to hear that we could not met your expectations. We regret that the inconveniences mentioned made your holidays not up to your satisfaction, and we present our most sincere apologies for it. Regarding the email I would like to mention that unfortunately we have not received any email with your request, we always take good note of all our guests requests, and of course we would also have taken into consideration your, even though we can not guarantee a certain room because it will always depend on the availability we have at check in. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope you can give us a second chance to host you at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel. Best Regards Fernando Carriço Unit Manage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Close to funchael good location

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Lovely hotel lovely staff but the beds are hard not comfortable needs better mattresses
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Fernando Carriço, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Dilia, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Casino Park hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, regarding our hotel and staff. When it comes to the mattress, we regret that it was too hard for you. On a next visit please inform us that our mattresses are too hard for you and we will certainly find a solution that will make your stay more comfortable. Looking forward to welcome you in Pestana Casino Park, again, in a near future. Kindest Regards, Fernando Carriço Unit Manager