Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Really nice hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: I like the facilities and the localisation.
Cons: The only minus are the spa (which is great, but the swimming pool and jacuzzis were not so warmed) and the games part could not be used after 7pm.
Location: Good location and a lot of restaurants nearby.
We were there just for 3 nights, as a long weekend, running from the London's cold weather. It was really good and relax, the food is amazing, the place fantastic and the staff is really great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke, UK

Stunning

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Quality of the service Outstanding facilities Friendliness of the staff
Cons: The receptionist on duty at our check out was abrupt and very 'matter of fact'. This was such a contrast to the usual friendly, welcoming service.
Location: The boat trip to see Dolpins and Whales is a wonderful experience and a highlifght for us.
Wow is a word that falls too easily from our lips, but we were well and truly wowed by Porto Mare. From our wonderful welcome, that included a beautifully prepared room in honur of our wedding anniversary to our final swim in thw warm indoor/outdoor pool, we felt respected and honoured as guests. All the staff were incredibly friendly, inlcuding the housekeeping team who always stopped what they were doing to exchange greetings. The dinning staff were exceptional, especially Suse - the smiling one, who made each meal time very special. The food was wonderful in all the restaurants and the manager of The Med made it fun to be there. The grounds are just so very relaxing, for such a big complex. We want to try and find the same pillows in the UK as they were fantastic to sleep on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Great hotel couldn't fault it or its location.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Couldn't fault it, staff always available to help without being intrusive, well furnished, great restaurants and beautiful gardens.
Cons: I never fealt anything was missing, I didn't understand why during happy hour only one cocktail available at discount, everything else half price.
Location: Unique walking on mountain paths, other restaurants close, plenty of day and half day trips, botanical gardens, coastal promenade with cafe's and bars
The hotel is about a mile West of Funchal main town, it is situated less than 100m from the sea. Funchal didn't seem to be about beaches, the coast is rocky but there are landscaped areas in place of beaches to sunbathe, swim and dive directly into the sea. The Porto Mare is one of three hotels joined together with extensive gardens and pool area, everything was spotless and the gardens well maintained. There are four restaurants one for Portuguese cuisine, another Mediterranean, an Italian and finally a large buffet restaurant themed on varying cuisines daily over 7 days, this seems to be the restaurant for inclusive packages and used by all for breakfast. The standard of food is very high in all of the restaurants and as we booked Bed and Breakfast were pleased to find them reasonably priced especially in view of the quality, service and attention to detail, live mood music in all except the buffet restaurant. The room was large, well appointed, mini bar, safe, two large single beds side by side and a balcony. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful in all areas of the hotel, snack meals also available at the pool bar. Indoor and outdoor pools. I would recommend this hotel and while we normally try different locations would have no hesitation in returning to it and the beautiful hilly island of Madeira
5 out of 5
by Susan

SUPERB FAMILY TIME

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
GREAT HOTEL FOR ADULTS POOLS SUPERB AND SPOTLESS
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, Excellent service

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Pools, Gym, Bars, Gardens etc etc
Cons: One waiter was a little off but all the others were great
This hotel makes everything easy and enjoyable. Excellent location , great service and always smiling staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Impeccable service, lovely rooms, decent food

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Ebookers
This amazing hotel lives up to its great reputation. The staff are superbly professional and friendly. The service is exemplary. Travelling with a young baby is stressful at times but the hotel staff made our stay as stress free as possible, providing everything from a proper cot bed to a high chair in our room for feeding our baby. The rooms are really spacious and super comfortable with lots of thoughtful touches like 2 hair dryers, fruit and water on arrival, free wifi, and best of all, my favourite brand of toiletries - Rituals! The room was always cleaned to a very high standard. The balcony afforded us amazing views of the Atlantic ocean. The quality of food is fantastic and we really enjoyed our breakfasts (what a comprehensive selection). We got room service most evenings, which is a major convenience when travelling with a baby. The extra cost is worth it (service charge for ordering beverages via room service is higher than that for food). The food was very tasty every time. The hotel complex is huge, which means lots of facilities. We tried the two indoor pools (including the one from the Eden Mar) and they were fantastic. The pool by the spa area is 1.5 m and the one by the Eden Mar is a bit more shallow. We also tried the jacuzzi - very relaxing. Most of the time, we had the pool to ourselves, which was lovely. We enjoyed happy hour drinks at the bar - very reasonably priced. The free shuttle to Funchal is very handy, otherwise there are a couple of public buses
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Everything
Location: Many restaurants nearby.
Hotel spotless, large selection of food, staff very happy and helpful . Gardens beautiful, this hotel should be a five star hotel .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. Nothing to criticise.