Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire, England

Well run good quality hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2018
Pros: It has a pleasant,relaxing and laid back atmosphere where things are done with a quiet efficiency and no fuss.
Cons: It's fine as it is
Location: Plenty of other dining options locally and shops to provide things you may have forgotten. Some nice walks along the sea front . Tour bus stops.
The staff were courteous , friendly and very helpful. It was a bit more than a comfortable stroll into the town centre , but, as a resort hotel it had plenty of on-site facilities for those who just want to chill out. A free shuttle coach was provided for those who did wish to visit the centre and a couple of local bus services stopped outside the hotel too. Taxis , as ever in Funchal, were easily available also. The food was of a good standard and varied and the local wines I tried were really good. As well as entertainment provided on-site there are plenty of music venues in town to suit most tastes. The Madeira Mandolin Orchestra deserve a special mention as they perform an interesting programme to professional standards and are well worth a visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2018
The food and facilities at this hotel are very good but it’s the staff that make it a standout choice. They could not do enough to help.
4 out of 5
by john

Weeks break on Madeira

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel with very friendly staff throughout. Located close enough to walk to the centre of Funchal with also a lovely promenade in the opposite direction. Porto Mare Basilico restaurant was very good. Local area also provided some super restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017
Dear Guest thank your for your review on the hotel and Il Basilico AndreCaldeira
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Autumn break

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Although it is large hotel it doesn’t feel like that. There is an uninterrupted view to the sea from the hotel balcony with a lovely garden ito explore. Everything is very clean. The pools are great to swim in and the food in the restaurants is of a high standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Location: Check TripAdvisor for some nice restaurants close by. Supermarket under the hotel makes life very easy.
Went for a short break to Madeira and selected this hotel based on feedback and we were not disappointed. Very comfortable hotel with nice grounds. Breakfast was typical -- lots of choice but equally very average in quality. We would book again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Stunning gardens

Posted Oct 14, 2017
This hotel was pristine, would go back tommorow - the gardens are amazing always plenty of sunbeds, great food and drinks - and so cool that you can use the facilities of sister hotel next door. No wonder nearly everyone we met have been going bakc there for years - when you find a hotel that ticks all the boxes whey look anywhere else. 😎
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was laid back and easy..

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly and plenty of activities. Entertainment was quite good
Cons: No improvement necessary
Location: Easy access to Funchal. Hotel provided courtesy buses every day. Plenty of eating places and fine shops.
Unfortunately we arrived two days late due to being unable to land - poor weather conditions.. With only four and a a half days left we made the most of our time by taking long walks around the beautiful Island and relaxing by one if the hotel's pools. Our evenings were spent in various restaurants in close proximity to the hotel. Would highly recommend the holiday despite our shaky start.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monmouthshire

Little Gem

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Trip Advisor
Cons: Bar by the pool did not sell crisps/nuts which would have been nice when we were having a drink.
Location: Easy to get around by bus. Porto Mare bus takes you straight to terminal for Cable Car to Monte. check toboggan open. Many nice restaurants.
Lovely hotel. Very clean. Friendly polite staff. Many swimming pools to choose from. The large outdoor at Porto Mare along with the indoor spa which led to an outside one (my 12 year old son used this. he did say this one was a bit slippy due to the material at the bottom). Also indoor and outdoor one at Eden Mare you can use but we were happy with ours. Not too deep so happy with my son swimming on his own. He liked the mini golf course too. We were only on B&B basis. Breakfast lovely. Much to choose from:- lots of fresh fruit, cold meats, cheeses, cooked breakfast, cereals, Yoghurts, pastries and a variety of bread and rolls. Soya milk provided for those who can't drink dairy. Gardens lovely and well kept. All staff work very hard. Our room was on the 4th floor and had a lovely view of sea and pool and gardens. One of the bars was below but the music was not that loud (did not start till later in the day from about 5) and would end by 11 but with doors shut you could not really hear it anyway. Had a good look at other hotels and must say we are glad we stayed at the Porto Mare. 10 days too short as much to see and do. Will be back. PS a lovely added touch was the flowers, rose petals on bed and bubbly in room for us for our wedding anniversary. I emailed a while back regarding this. I forgot I had emailed them but they remembered. Thank you Porto Mare. Also Booked taxi transfer through Expedia and could not fault them either. Smooth quick transfer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Lovely Hotel in Tropical Gardens

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The location and the quality.
Cons: It would be good if some of the reception staff could communicate better. Claudia was wonderful!
Location: Sea front location near the Lido. Lovely to walk out in the evening to local bars and restaurants. Funchal is quite close by - a must.
Extremely large lovely room with wonderful views over the pool. Beds were very large and really comfortable. The balcony was huge - could have had a party out there! Plenty of choice at breakfast which was served in the pool side restaurant. The public areas were very spacious and plentiful. It was easy to find a quiet spot. Happy Hour was good. The number and variety was excellent - from family fun to Zen the hotel has it all. Location was superb and the courtesy shuttle bus to Funchal was a real bonus. The Hotel organisation was very good and we shall be returning in the not to distant future.
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels