Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Jul 4, 2017
We had a lovely week here in June. Really nice hotel, perfect for a relaxing break. Facilities all good: lovely big room with balcony with sea view, outdoor pool, gardens, excellent buffet breakfast, good staff. Location very close to the old town - for access to sights and best place to spend the evening in restaurants and outside cafes. Lovely clean room, good facilities - no complaints!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford, Essex

A good location for restaurants and eating out.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: The rustic feel, character and very civilised. Staff helpful but unobtrusive.
Cons: The buffet cooked breakfast was hit and miss. Plates were stone cold and the various foods were sometimes cold or lukewarm. Toaster not efficient.
Location: The choice of nearby restaurants was a big plus. maybe half a mile from hotel. Buses were plentiful as were taxis. The seafront was nearby.
Quiet and peaceful location. Stunning views across Funchal bay. Hotel is top of a hill requiring a level of fitness when returning back to the hotel in the sun and humidity. Funchal is all gradients and not many level footpaths.
5 out of 5
by Miss Jessica E Bannister

Wonderful location and hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Best hotel I've stayed in for a long time, hotel is clean and well cared for, staff can not do enough to help you, we were upgraded to a suite with beautiful views of the hills and sea with a large terrace. The pool area is quite big, looks out onto the garden- complete with parrots and fish, not once did we struggle to get a nice spot/lounger by the pool. In terms of location the hotel is just up a small hill from the old town Funchal, which we found to have the best restaurants and entertainment. It took us 15 minutes to walk to the harbour. I would highly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing stay, within walking distance of the main attractions of the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Battle

Very pleasent hotel 20 minutes from Funchal centre

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable hotel. The staff were always polite and the service was excellent. You could always get a sun bed around the pool!
Cons: I need a gluten free diet, and found the breakfast a bit limited (suggest you bring your own). The gym is hot and the equipment not great.
Location: We stayed in Funchal, but Madeira has a lot to offer if you are happy to hire a car - maybe next time.
We stayed for two weeks at the end of June. We enjoyed a relaxing holiday using the hot days to laze around by the pool, and the cooler days to visit the centre of Funchal. There are several museums to look around and Funchal has a wealth of small streets to explore and old buildings to look at. Took the cable car to Monte and looked around the botanical gardens (well worth it). Our hotel was in the Old Town, bustling with dozens of restaurants - we enjoyed a few evenings here - but we tended to go into the centre of Funchal to eat - the The Ritz became are favourite place. Some evenings (after we had eaten) we got a taxi to the Royal Savoy for the evening entertainment and a bit of dancing (jive, cha cha etc). On Saturday nights there were firework displays from the quayside and just about the whole of Funchal comes out to see them from the promenade.
4 out of 5
by Ruth

Lovely hotel, fantastic location

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in perfect location very close to the waterfront, local restaurants and the old town. Hotel very clean ,breakfast was perfect with plenty of choice and well cooked and fresh everyday . Had a bedroom which overlooked the mountain- certain amount of road noise but didnt ruin our holiday - room was HUGE with a superking sized bed - was lovely - only negative is there was no tea/coffee making in the room and the description of the room i booked was misleading and incorrect so that should be addressed - i booked a room that said it was a double AND two singles- it wasnt it was one very large bed so was fine for us but may not have been for other people booking what they would have thought was a room with multiple beds. Staff friendly enough and helpful. Enjoyed our stay and because of the location we would stay there again.Overall very happy and would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Mar 13, 2017
This hotel is ideally located in the Old Town area of Funchal with a huge selection of restaurants within easy walking distance. Also within walking distance are bus stops for buses to all parts of the Island as well as the cable car to Monte. We were so glad we did not pick a hotel in the "Hotel Zone" which is way away from central Funchal. Yet as it is in its own lovely grounds the hotel is completely free from the usual urban noise. The only sound we heard from our garden view room was birdsong. This might not be the case for the so called mountain view rooms which overlook a road, though not a very busy one. This hotel should be a top pick on location alone.
5 out of 5
by Kit

Enjoyable stay

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
Airport transfer went awry but given excellent suite with wonderful views. Dinner expensive but the breakfast was first rate. Reception was always very helpful and we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Wonderful holiday

Posted Jan 15, 2017
This hotel is faultless. High standard of service, good location and facilities. Tremendous views over the harbours and the ocean. Can highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Lovely hotel near to the old town

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Easy access to all of the restaurants in the old town. There is a hill but I managed it each day without problems. Lovely terrace looking out to sea
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Pleasant but room for improvement

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Lady at front desk has to learn to smile. Gentleman very pleasant.
Location: Location very good. Close to waterfront and restaurants.
Upside: very clean, close to the action. Downside: staff needs to be more pleasant, especially front desk.