Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Very nice hotel, but a little distant from town.

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: We loved the quiet situation, the friendly and courteous staff
Cons: Very little apart from the almost impossible task of re-designing the rooms to give more wardrobe and drawer space, but the wi-fi should be simple
We were aware that we had booked a garden room, but were not told until arrival that the view was very restricted by trees. Our main criticism was that there was extremely limited space for our clothes, some of the rails being too high for my 5 feet 2 inch wife to reach, so that we spent 8 nights living in part out of suitcases. The wi-fi also left a lot to be desired; quite intermittent. However, the grounds are lovely and the staff were very anxious to please, and were most helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke, England

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The staff are all very friendly and have hardly changed since we first went there 12 years ago. There is a 'family' feel about the hotel.
Cons: The Wi-Fi is not as good as one might expect but it at least allows a bit of peace and quiet.
Location: Being out of town, there is kittle to do in the immediate vicinity. However the gardens are lovely and extensive, allowing space for a wander and med
11th visit in the last 12 years. The staff have hardly changed since we first went there and are wonderfully welcoming and friendly. A truly tranquil hotel outside the town but within easy reach by taxi or bus. The hotel is always clean and tidy and the food is always good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel for retired people with staff very helpful.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
As Expedia will be aware we complained that our room was too remote from the main hotel as my wife has mobility difficulties. Our room was poorely maintained and the view was only of a rather uninteresting lawn. We made an online comment to this effect which resulted in our beimg given an upgrade to a 'superior' room on the second floor of the main building of the hotel. As there was access by lift from the reception to our room this was perfectly suitable. There was a magnificent view across the gardens and swimming pool to the sea below. The room was more luxurious and well maintained and had the added benefit of a balcony. The staff are exceptional and many have been with the hotel for a long time. Breakfast in the main dining room was very good, plentiful and well presented in a buffet style. An a la Carte menu was available every night in the Manoir, a separate and rather magnificent old building. We only ate there once and it was very good. A snack style menu was available, virtually all day, at the swimming pool area and offered very good simple food. On weekdays the hotel provides a frequent, courtesy, mini bus to take guests into Funchal. There is only one drop off spot which is quite a long way from the town centre and a second stop nearer the main shopping centre would be an improvement. We would recommend this hotel and should we return to Madeira we would definitely stay here.
5 out of 5
by Teresa

The perfect get away

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
a wonderful stay. The staff were really friendly and the facilities excellent. particularly being able to order full meals in the bar until 9-30 pm or sandwiches until 11-30pm
4 out of 5
by Anna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel with weaknesses

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Nice hotel with very friendly staff, a few things could improve the experience: Rooms clean and sufficiently spacious, bit dated and could do with new carpets (clean but a little worn). Wifi in rooms non-existent unless you stand right by the window. Blackout curtains do not black out completely (not an issue for everybody but I like dark rooms for sleeping), additionally they have spotlights in the garden that light up the impressive trees but send a lot of light into the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wiltshire, UK

Lovely hotel.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Had a great holiday. Difficult walk to and from Funchal even for the fittest guests. Shuttle bus from the hotel covers the trip free-of-charge but finishes Saturday lunchtime until Monday morning so you will need to budget for taxi's for those days and the evenings. Staff were excellent and the a la carte food was really good. Would definitely recommend to future visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice quiet hotel, perfect for a few days relaxtion

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The rooms are not the usual run of the mill hotel room, they are very comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast is excellent.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is not that close to Funchal - you need to get a bus/taxi although the hotel does run a courtesy bus a few times a day
This was our second stay, the grounds and area of the hotel are so peaceful and relaxing for a few days winding down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Channel Islands

Old hotel with lots of character

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Lovely views over Funchal and nice outside sitting area.
Cons: Very rough tiles around the pool area made feet sore - should be upgraded.
Location: Very close to Funchal. A walkers and hikers paradise. Also boat trips for whales and dolphins. Cable car and beautiful gardens to explore.
Excellent and charming hotel, Rather quiet in the evenings although it was low season when we visited. Good food and very pleasant staff. Beautiful gardens and pool area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great food and quite location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Good location . Grey courtesy bus service.
Hotel could do with some updating. Great staff and food . Lovely pool and pool bar.