Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2018
A distinctive, quality hotel with beautiful gardens. The staff are very professional and friendly without being over the top. Food is excellent. A perfect place for couples to enjoy a relaxing, comfortable holiday. The swimming pool, gym and all public areas are well maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northwest England

Wonderful location

Posted Mar 20, 2018
Beautiful gardens and pools, delightful views and utterly relaxing. It is out of town and up 2 steep hills, fine if you're fit but we used the buses and these were excellent. Ate one dinner there and that was delicious. Staff very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel set in beautiful peaceful gardens.

Posted Mar 18, 2018
Very pleasant, helpful staff. Comfortable , clean room. Short bus ride from the centre of Funchal yet plenty of good restaurants within an easy walk of the hotel. An oasis of calm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Beautiful quiet hotel.

Posted Mar 13, 2018
Truly beautiful place. Food is out of this world. Staff are so helpful and I wish I could have stayed for much longer as I felt so at home and happy here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

All round excellence and comfort

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful , room, gardens and breakfasts exceeded expectations. Wilteturn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Peace in a busy city

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Peaceful, walkable to the town and the staff were lovely.
Cons: Pool temperature wasn't warm enough. Would have used an indoor pool much much more. No instructions on how to use the multi purpose shower.
Location: Fabulous restaurant not far called Chris' Place.
Hotel set in beautiful, constantly tended tranquil gardens. Staff very welcoming and courteous. Room was comfortable and veranda with sun loungers was nicely screened with bushes. The only thing that would have made it better would have been an indoor pool. In November the water was a bit chilly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Peaceful Paradise

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: The ambiance of sheer contentment
Cons: Pathway lighting between hotel and dining venues
Location: Located well for easy access to Funchal center attractions with regular bus services to avoid an alternative twenty minute walk
A oasis of exotic plants and fauna within gardens wonderfully maintained to compliment the grand Manor House and bespoke Hotel. The care and attention to service is exemplary resulting in the most enjoyable and relaxing holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Relaxing getaway

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: It was a quiet oasis of calm but within walking or travelling distance of Funchal.
Location: Easy access to Funchal and outings to other areas could be organised by the hotel.
A week in a beautiful tropical garden with great food and amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2017
This is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Beautiful surroundings- a little oasis close to the town. Wonderful facilities and staff - a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Fabulous hotel in superb gardens.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The only criticism I have, is that there is no mirror over the dressing table which is a little inconvenient.
Location: Very pleasant location not far from Funchal. There is a small supermarket, excellent cake and pastry cafe and good restaurants nearby.
This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I am an experienced traveller. It is an oasis of calm and the gardens are full of the most exotic and beautiful flowers and plants. The staff are efficient, polite and friendly and the food excellent. I am planning to return again next year!