Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitley Bay, Northeast England

Very comfortable hotel with good amenities.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Really enjoyed our first visit to Madeira and would love to come back when the flower festival is on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Channel Islands

Quinta outside of Funchal Centre.

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The affinity pool and bar service area and aircon in the room. Complimentary bus service to Funchal Centre. Buffet breakfast.
Cons: Soundproofing - Our room had an interconnecting door to the adjacent suite. Nocturnal and ablution noises very evident! WiFi in rooms.
Location: Good location overlooking Funchal town and three excellent restaurants in walking distance.
Enjoyed five days in this hotel on bed & breakfast basis. It is more suited for adults only. The hotel could be a set piece from the "Hercule Poirot TV series" based on its main lay out. The modern affinity pool and bar service area is however excellent as is the buffet breakfast provided. WiFi worked well in reception area but would recommend it should be available in hotel rooms.The ambience of the hotel to a small degree is spoiled by the new modern road system in front of the hotel and a supermarket that is fairly adjacent. The package we had included transport to and from the airport that worked well apart from on arrival other booked parties failed to materialise that delayed us for about an hour. We would thoroughly recommend the Jeep Safari 5 tour and would have done another if we were staying longer. Avoid Funchal if there is more than one cruise liner in port. There were three when we visited, and the Blue Line Monte Tours were hopeless as there was no space to hop on and off as promoted resulting in a 26 Euro round trip without stopping off at any of the attractions en route! A good choice of restaurants to suit all tastes in street adjacent to the cable car station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not 5 star

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Baccus restaurant
Cons: Serious update
Location: good views. Village up the road was very nice
This hotel is definitely not 5 star as advertised and also etched on the entrance door. It is in a desperate need of updating from the room down to the sunbeds. What a shame as the hotel is in a nice area up in the hills with fantastic views over Camara do Losbos and the sea behind. We took the hotel shuttle into Funchal one day to be dropped off somewhere behind the old town with quite a long walk and a longer walk back up hill to catch it for our return. It was a long drive back dropping people on roué at another hotel. We discovered the local bus the next day! The hotel has 2 restaurants. Baccus restaurant was excellent with very good service. This was where we had our breakfast which was good with good choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was very good. The restaurant attached to the hotel was to die for, the meat was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from English Midlands

Nice, friendly hotel. A bit far out

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Decor
Location: See above
Nice hotel with more character than many of the newer hotels. Looking a little worn around the edges in places. Nice view from all the rooms. Moderately priced BBQ restaurant and a "posher" Buffet restaurant which we found a bit overpriced for what was served. Staff were all unfailing helpful and overall very peaceful. Not much to do on a wet Wednesday though as it is a bit too far out of town. There is a free shuttle but it is not quite the same as being able to walk out of your door into a street full of activity. Good access to walking. Would recommend the "Safari" trips on Landrovers. Great fun,well informed guides and a good way to see the island.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Away from it all!

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Quiet with good views and restaurants on site.
Cons: The property could use some upkeep, it is dangerously close to a 3-star property, definitely not the 4-star of Expedia or 5-star they rate themselves
Location: A good drive to get down into town. Roads to get there are challenging. The hotel is not easy to find. A car is necessary.
Quiet location, with a good, distant view of the ocean and city lights. A bit hard to find, with two rated restaurants on the property. This hotel is part of a small chain of hotels. It was rated by Expendia as a four star, they rate themselves a five star property. The property is feeling little tired, and could use a face lift, especially for the price. Internet only in the lobby area, not on pool deck and not in the rooms. Still has a Cathode Ray Tube style TV, almost an antique at this point. Our balcony had peeling paint and stucco, and the hardwood floors in the room could use refinishing. The common areas with the exception of the pool area were better, and the car park and breakfast were included in the rate. Breakfast was a high point. Probably the best breakfast we had in our week in Madiera were the two days we spent here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Like a well worn but most comfortable slipper

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Outstandingly helpful staff. Rather faded elegance but a very cosy environment. We had three outstanding meals in the restaurant (al a carte)
Cons: Shuttle more frequent and last back much later. Drivers were far too speedy!!! Wiring in room needs sorting no power unless lights were on.
Location: A great compromise between the bustle of Funchal and way out in the sticks. Good local eating Large supermarket on the
A bit of a hiccough on our first night but we were more than adequately compensated not that we would have expected them to do so. Situated in a pleasant village/small town we one could readily savour the local atmosphere. Easy access into Funchal and back on the bus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from scotland

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Out of town very relaxing, town easily reached. No groups of tourists, local life on your doorstep. Supermarket 3 mins away, 4 eateries, 4 pubs.
Room had balcony, decent size, which faced out to sea with lovely views. Double bed was two singles pushed together which, is really what it is, no great. Very clean although bathroom just a little tired, needing a wee touch up with paint etc, but was immaculate, so no need to complain. swimming pool was good but absolutely baltic, although once in it was bearable. good sunbeds and always lots of space, so nice to relax. Restaurant was lovely as was food.The main part of hotel is just wonderful, we sat with a couple of liquers, drinks that is not some sort of foreign persons, and took ourselves back to a life where we lived the life of that time. Lovely little room on the top floor, we had coffee on the balcony on our first night it was just so special. Staff were just great, very helpful and cheery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from blackpool

Quiet and in the hills

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Professionalism and non pushy staff.
Cons: Minibar in a fridge and tea making facilities in the room. Bless them but no one but the English can make a proper brew!
Location: Hilly!
The Quinta could do with a lick of paint and new carpets but if you are able to see beyond that this place has a great deal going for it. We didn't have a car for our week there and frankly didn't did one. The Quinta has a free minibus for trips into Funchal which we used twice and saved us a fortune on taxis. Being part of Charming Hotels we were able to be transported(free) and feed at some of the other hotels in the group and I would recommend this highly to anyone considering going. The pool and sauna were good and waiter service excellent. The breakfast was both bountiful and quality. The drinking of Buck's Fizz first thing in the morning is something that I could easily acquire as a daily ritual. The Quinta is situated very close (500m) to the start of a levadar walk to a glass floored building, where we had a picnic, supplied courtesy of the supermarket opposite the Quinta. The 3 hours trek each way including a stop off at a small bar was well worth the effort and made us feel healthy. We went on an organised trip to 25 fontes arranged through reception. I really can't praise too highly the warmth and friendliness of the staff and people of The Quinta. We will return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Comfortable and spacious hotel in pleasant gardens

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Good location and amenities. Helpful staff.
Cons: Perhaps tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
Location: Funchal has many Museums and sights of interest. There are lots of mountain roads to explore.
Hotel is on the edge of a village with shops and restaurants within walking distance. The daily minibus service to Funchal is great, much easier than driving and trying to find parking. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the hotel does not feel crowded even at full occupancy. There was a good choice of foods on the breakfast buffet, and service was prompt and friendly.