Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

'Character' hotel in very good location

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Lovely grounds and gardens including the tea-house in a very good location. Nice entrance, and gentile bar/dining areas. Good food.
Cons: Put Tea & Coffee making facility in bedrooms; more diligent room cleaning; the swimming pool was rather 'barren in appearance/ feel; better maps/info.
Location: Not a wide choice of local dining (cable car to Funchal stops by 6pm). Meals at Patio das Babosas between the two cable cars stations were excellent
Monte was a very good location for a first visit to Madeira being very close to the start of the toboggans and to both cable cars - and the gardens opposite are actually better to visit than the official Botanical gardens too. Dining was good though perhaps the a la carte menu was a little limited and the waiting staff were very good. All staff were friendly though the quality of information from the reception was variable. We went on both a Levada walk and an Island tour - both day trips organised from the hotel and both very good experiences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Lovely

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Lovely traditional style hotel, with very friendly helpful staff. Hotel away from the very busy built up Hotel area, which was great. Good breakfast. Room was spacious and clean looking over the mountain. Pool was good, but a little cold. We used the local bus service in the evening as the hotel shuttle finished at 5, which could have been a problem if we where less mobile. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tavistock, Devon

A tranquil haven after the heat of the day

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Our suite was lovely, the staff were very helpful, the views and gardens were fabulous, and the climate was a relief after the heat of the day.
Cons: The pool should have been heated, and the breakfast sausages weren't up to much. 'Scrabble' in the Games Room would be welcome.
Location: A cool and peaceful refuge. We did boat trips, Mountain Walks, and Canyoning. So busy that we didn't even have time for the Horticultural Gardens.
The Hotel has the advantage of a cooler climate than those down in Funchal itself. This is a blessing when you've been out for the day and want to relax after a shower. Who wants to get hot and sticky again? The immediate view of the Tropical Gardens is lovely, and you can see all the way down to the harbour. Our pre-breakfast mornings were spent watching 'today's' cruise liner come into port, and our evenings were spent enjoying overlooking the gardens, with a glass of wine. It's a shame that the pool wasn't heated during our stay, and a larger variety of games in the Games Room would be a good idea, but overall the hotel was a really great choice and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Although outside of the main town, the Cable Car terminates just around the corner, and three inexpensive bus services terminate close by and run until quite late; and there are always taxi's, so you can enjoy an evening in the town if you wish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
very convenient for the cablecar quiet at night nice gardens
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Isle of wight

Hotel with beautiful gardens.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Set adjacent to the chair lift and gardens. Lovely helpful staff.
Cons: Bedrooms need upgrading.
Location: Chair lift, botanical gardens and wicker chair rides.
The hotel itself looks amazing, beautiful entrance, bar and restaurant area. What a shock when you see your room. Thread bare dirty carpets, musty old furniture and broken bathroom tiles. Basic 1980s tv and no tea making facilities. That said ,the view was fantastic as were the gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK.

Unique hotel historically with stunning views

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Individual style of hotel with attractive furniture and paintings in public areas. Lovely gardens, helpful staff, good food.
Cons: Hotel transport down into town could be more frequent and offer a choice of drop-off areas. Swimming pool was temporally unheated and jacuzzi faulty.
Location: Pleasing walks around hotel gardens. Nothing much else unless you take the bus or cable car or taxi into town.
Friendly staff. Beautiful gardens. Great views. Had to stay an extra night because strong winds delayed return flight to UK by 24hrs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales UK

Unique hotel in unrivalled surroundings

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The ambiance, the location, the gardens and the staff
Cons: A map information pack for guests arriving by road
Location: The whole Island is at your feet, by car, bus, taxi, cable car, toboggans there is somthing on this wonderful island for everyone.
The hotel is set in gardens that are stunning, they are part of the sub tropical gardens developed over the last 200 years based on the residences of the titled and weathy of the island and beyond. The rececption area, lounge,library and bar area reflect the history of the original mansion with old oil paintings on the walls and antique items of furnature. These enhance the modern features of this area, they are covered by a strong free wifi signal and the library contains a computer terminal free to the guest. The restaurant is of a very high standard. The room we stayed in was spacious, well appointed and clean (some evidence of past guest miss use could be seen on an otherwise perfect carpet.smoking is banned in the rooms). The cabel car linking you to the Funchal sea front is 300meters from the hotel door, the finest Church on the island is 300meters in the other direction as are the "World Famous Tobboggons." We had a relaxing wonderful 7 days break lazing in the pool and the hot tub sunbathing outside the pool on the patio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: It had a lovely ambiance
Cons: I felt when hotel was full the staff were rushed off their feet and were under severe pressure
On arrival the swipe card did not work and we twice had to go back to reception and eventually we were given a key. My only other point that the water glasses in the room were never cleaned. Besides that the hotel was efficient, very friendly and helpful staff and the food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting up un the hills

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Location is wonderful to escape. Peaceful
Cons: Bedroom and bathroom refurbishment
Location: Set in lovely gardens. There is a wonderful palace garden within metres of the hotel with plants and mature trees, oriental gardens, koi fish ponds
A lovely, albeit dated hotel set way up in the hills above Funchal. Driving to the hotel is an experience as you have to dodge the basket togoggan! The hotel is a beautiful building set in lovely grounds however the rooms and bathrooms are in need of an upgrade. The staff were all extremely polite and pleasant and made a good effort with many languages. Breakfast was typical buffet with fresh fruit, home baked bread and continental and cooked available however the cooked food sits around in heated dishes and didn't look appetising.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bexhill-on-Sea, UK

Great location at 600m above Funchal, good views

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Location above Funchal, staff so friendly and knowledgeable, clean.
Cons: The hotel is a little tired in places (carpets etc), slightly faded elegance, but reminder of times past.
Location: Cable car, toboggan run are musts, and plenty of walking, though one of the nearby walks is closed due to the Great Fire of 2010.
The holiday was excellent overall. The buses were an experience - we took them mainly to get around, and were impressed by the way the drivers negotiated seemingly impossible inclines, hairpin bends and narrow roads. Cable car and toboggan run a must (both very close to the hotel). Walking in Madeira is exhilarating, but be prepared to climb, and not suffer too much from vertigo. Many times we were above the clouds, but at sea level (in the South) it was warm and sunny. There are no restaurants other than the hotel restaurant for dinner in Monte (hotel fare very good, but a little pricy), so a trip down to Funchal for evening meal is best, where there is ample choice. We enjoyed the botanical gardens (allow an hour and a half at least), and taking a day's car hire was very rewarding, as it allowed us to walk in the mountains, and see some of the incredible island scenery - 'wow' factor 10!