Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to use as a base to explore Madeira

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Cons: The hotel may not be able to affect this but some nights dogs were barking all night .
The staff were very helpful and knowledgable about the island. The location is good for Funchall town ( although the walk back is very steep and tests the legs ) and for getting to the rest of the island . The room was a good size , although the kitchen area was a little cramped and the lack of an oven was a bit of a draw back . The pool was excellent and warm with plenty of space for sun beds
4 out of 5
by Joseph

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Very beautiful apartment complex. We had a ground floor apartment so no view of the town, apart from that a great place to stay. May need a bus (2 euro) or an 8 Euro taxi ride back up the hill after a long day though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston

Comfy, spacious and with a great view!

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The spacious apartments, large pool and mature gardens; and the lovely staff.
Cons: The complex has obviously been there a while, and whilst very well maintained is perhaps just a touch worn around the edges.
Location: Being uphill towards the back of Funchal there isn't a lot nearby, but there are a few handy shops and a couple of nice cafes.
Staying at Quinta Mae dos Homens was a joy - if a little challenging for the legs. This small apartment complex is very comfy (if just a tad worn round the edges), with spacious accommodation and a lovely pool and gardens - and the staff were a joy. However it is quite high up towards the back of Funchal - we didn't know what a steep lane looked like till we stayed here! But the views over the city and harbour were great, and going down into town was easy. So too was getting a taxi to take us back at the end of the night. All in all we had a great holiday here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely appartment with great staff

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Clean and spacious with nice views.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Not far from the Botanical Gardens. Easy to walk into Funchal from here.
We spent a week at this appartment and loved our stay. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, even when we had to stay an extra two nights due to cross winds at Funchal airport. We will definintely stay here again if we return to Madiera.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice apartment, wonderful view.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Cons: Plumbing, particularly the shower.
Location not ideal for aging legs. Coped by extensive use of local buses which were very reliable , and taxis which were relatively cheap. These apartments in a different location, ie closer to town centre, would merit a higher rating,
5 out of 5
by Gillian from Bristol

A hidden jem

Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
Spacious apartment with balcony overlooking the sea, we enjoyed the 'coming and goings' of boats in the port. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens,also there is a large pool, tastefully enhanced with comfortable seating and potted flowers. This was our first visit to Madeira, and we found the experienced staff extremely helpful, advising us on different tours, walks etc. The cleanliness of everything was A1. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by Stewart from east Sussex

good position and restful

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely setting, within easy walk down to the old town then on the bus route ifyou don'tfancy a walk up the Hill. Great sea views and within easy reach of tourist attractions. Well resourced appartment and nice pool area. Owners very welcoming and helpful. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stavanger

Flott utsikt. Fint basseng.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Cons: Frokosten ble levert i en korg på døren. Vi brukte ikke tilbudet og laget frokost selv. Et rom med mulighet for felles frokost hadde vært hyggelig.
Fint opphold, reiser gjerne tilbake. Flott og hjelpsomt personalet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Galicia

Bueno en su categoría. Sin lujos innecesarios.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Tiene piscina y un buen aparcamiento (fundamental: la isla se disfruta más en coche). Todo funciona bien (excepto las luces del dormitorio) y es tranquilo y silencioso. Con vistas al este y al puerto. Defectos: situado en una de las muchas pendientes de Funchal, no aptas para paseos y con el super un poco lejos. Se tardan 10 min en bajar al centro; subir, ni lo intentes...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels