Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb experience and great value too.

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff. Every nook and cranny of the hotel and our room was kept clean, well presented and in good working order (that's not a comment I've made about any hotel ever and I've stayed in probably at least 50 in the last 6 years)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tibis

Posted Mar 16, 2017
it is very good for you what do you pay so I recommended all my friends and family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Decent hotel in a nice location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The hotel is in a great location with the front rooms having an amazing sea view. The rooms were decent but not for 4-star hotel, the mattresses urgently require replacing and our room for example was a double but it had twin beds so we were separated as the bed moved. Breakfast is good but no vegetarian options. Staff is friendly apart Isabel when we kindly asked her if we could get a kettle in the room... The swimming pool could be heated and as a suggestion it would be good to have a hot tub where the gym is given that it was always empty and that is a waste of space for something better. Short walk to get to the centre of Funchal, plenty of restaurants and bars around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Pleasant hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Clean and comfortable rooms. Hotel far from town centre but a straight Road with not much elevation if compared with the island. Buses very close and frequent. Only down for us is rooms could contain a kettle and 2 mugs. Didn't use the pool as we were there in February. Breakfast was good but it would ger boring if you are staying more than a week. Overall happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Friendly hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and high standard of room.
Cons: Broken lift should have been repaired sooner. TV reception in my room was poor.
Location: Lovely town. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Excellent tourist information centre who arranged sightseeing tours around the island for us.
No complaints about the excellent, spacious room. Excellent cleaning to high standard. Nice balcony. Reception staff all friendly and helpful. The hotel was suffering from broken lift, however, so only 1 lift functioning the whole week of my stay. Apart from that, no problems.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Not really a 4* but great location

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Would I come here again? Probably not but the location was spot on. This hotel came up as a 4* when booking it definitely was not. Needs updating a lot. We were there for 10 days bed and breakfast towards the end we couldn't face having breakfast there was no variety the food was pretty boring. The staff at reception and our cleaner were lovely and friendly however a couple of staff in the dining room for breakfast were just rude and looked like they didn't want to be there. Overall the hotel was clean and all we needed for a cheap 10 night getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great sea views

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Clean Friendly hotel, excellent staff
Cons: re source orange juice for breakfast
Location: 30 mins stroll down hill to Funchal with all it amenities.
Stayed for a week in October overall a very pleasant Hotel & Staff we very nice & helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton England

Clean and friendly hotel.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: /every thing.
Very very helpful reception staff. Clean comfortable rooms. Nice out door pool and very reasonably priced snack bar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Definitely not a 4 star hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Having stayed in many 4 star hotels. I was shocked to see how awful this one was. Found the lady on reception very unfriendly & unhelpful. Upon going to the room was shocked that the so called seaview was awful. Complained to unhelpful lady at reception who told us there were no other rooms available & would need to speak to the manager. Spoke to the manager an hour later who reluctantly found us another room with a better seaview. The breakfast selection was truly awful. We found a much nicer hotel a short walk away that we used in the day time and only went back to the awful Raga hotel to sleep at night. PLEASE AVOID THIS HOTEL, IT IS DEFINITELY NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL. Would not ever stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Cons: was no bin in a room.
Had a good view to sea, staff were helpful, and breakfast was good