Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Very affordable hotel with charming staff

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Its friendly staff and authentic local character
Cons: Window blinds could open to have a better view of the city
Location: It is halfway up the hill from the seafront and very close to the old city, with many restaurants and museums.
I had a limited budget for a business visit and could only afford this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised as despite the very cheap price I had a large sized room with en suite bathroom that was cleaned every day, as well as daily breakfast wiht excellent coffee. Staff were very convivial and it was especially pleasant to linger in the coffee bar as all the surrounding workers pop in to have espresso and chat about the news of the day. It is excellently located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester

Great value budget option

Posted Mar 31, 2017
A clean comfortable if somewhat dated room, great location for both airport transfers and Maderia Public transport, great value for money.
5 out of 5
by Gilberto

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffield

City centre hotel,

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Independent hotel on the edge of the old town , very friendly staff, good for using for a base to go exploring. It's not the Hilton but then the price reflects that, rooms are basic but clean .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Residencial Parque

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Located at the far end of the town just below the residential areas. Within a 5 minute walk of some really good coffee shops and 10 minutes from the heart of the town. Hotel is 3 stars and probably worth that. Reception manned 24 hours and a small bar area where drinks and breakfast can be had. Rooms need a little maintenance here and there but very clean, fresh towels every day and clean fresh linen. Breakfast consists of tea/coffee and bread rolls with jam. Looking back I would of not added this to the bill and grabbed a great coffee and cake just down the road. Local area can get a little noisy at peak times but this is not on a main road as such so not too bad. If a pool holiday is not your thing and you are looking for a budget base from which to explore then this may be for you. Overall what do you expect for £22 per night inc breakfast
3 out of 5
by Damian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Epsom, England

Friendly hotel close to Funchal Old Town

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Location, friendliness, price, and it has a lift
Cons: Sometimes the shower handset does not fit properly into the holder on the wall and you have to hold it. Sometimes the sink plug is missing.
Location: Convenient for the Old Town and all the attractions Funchal has to offer
We always stay here when we need an odd night at the beginning or end of our regular visits to Madeira. Over the years we have got to know the owners and staff and they seem just as pleased to see us again as we are to see them. They always make us very welcome and try to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. It has a lift, which some other inexpensive hotels do not. The location is convenient for the Old Town restaurants - about 7-8 minute walk away. The beer is cheap and they make a "pokey" poncha that is delicious at just 2 euros. The beds are always very comfortable - firm but not hard. The breakfast is continental - rolls and coffee, with fruit juice, butter, jam and cheese spread. The hotel has wi-fi but it can be slow.
5 out of 5
by Jason from London

Bargain stay with decent location

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels
Great bargain and close walk to the town.
4 out of 5
by Sven-Erik and Barbro from Ferragudo/Undersåker

Close to restaurants, shopping and sightseeing.

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels
This pension is a nice and small family pension located in the center of Funchal. Staff are very friendly and will assist you whenever you need it. Rooms are well maintained and always nice and clean. Bathroom with toilet, sink, shower and fresh towels every day. You get 2 small soaps every day but no shampoo so bring your own. Nice double bed with plenty of pillows in different sizes. One big closet with lots of hangers, 2 small bed tables and a small TV with lots of channels. The bedroom has a door to the "balcony room" consisting of 2 chairs, one table, baggage rack and a window that can be opened towards the road and the garden in front of the hotel. There is a couple of parking spaces right outside the hotel, where you can park your car for free. The breakfast is simple with coffe or tea, milk, orange juice, white bread rolls, butter, jam and spread cheese. The breakfast room is also a bar where you can enjoy your favorite drink during the day or in the evening while using the free Wi-FI that works very well, with good speed, most of the time. When the whether is good, you can enjoy the nice view of Funchal from a sunbed located on the roof top balcony of the hotel. I find this hotel very well worth the money, an I can really recommend it for your holiday stay in the beautiful island of Madeira.
5 out of 5
by Claus from USA

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels
Wonderfully helpful staff. Convenient location.