Ratings based on 440 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Unique Experience

Posted Apr 13, 2018
Pros: From the food to the room service it was a wonderful experience to stay at the hotel.
Cons: Only to have instructions to use the television and where to obtain DVDs to use - an information sheet with these details by the TV would be helpful.
Location: Trip to the Botanical Gardens was wonderful and not expensive
A fantastic stay at the Cliff Bay - enjoyed the ambience of the surroundings, beautiful views, the hotel is wonderful, decoration is very sympathetic and tasteful and spotlessly clean. Staff are always obliging and helpful, and the breakfasts are fantastic with so much variety and superbly cooked. This is a definite 5 star hotel with nothing to fault. A first-rate and marvellous stay which was too short.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Epsom, Surrey

My favourite hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2018
I have stayed 5 times at this hotel, it never disappoints me, feels like home, very cosy, large room, fantastic food, swimming pools. It has everything! I had a few busy periods in my life and all the time I keep returning to this hotel to recharge and rest. You will not be disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Position

Posted Mar 15, 2018
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Nothing to comment on
Location: Superbly located on a cliff overlooking the city. Lovely and very well maintained gardens. Free hourly bus service to centre
Bedrooms very spacious and well furnished in a Traditional style Beds most comfortable Staff very obliging and polite Facilities superb and comprehensive. Wide range of food and prices
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2018
Pros: We enjoyed the general ambience, our room, the food, the friendliness, good location and much more
Cons: The shuttle bus could run more frequently and pre-booking is inconvenient.
Location: Well situated in the main hotel district. Lots of restaurants nearby, walking away from town, or the more energetic could walk into town.
The Cliff Bay is a lovely hotel perched on the side of the cliff in the hotel district of West Funchal. There are lots of restaurants close by, if you crave variety, but the hotel itself has several excellent restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful and also efficient. We were unfortunate with the weather as Madeira was hit by Storm Emma and we failed to achieve our aim of catching some winter sunshine. However, the hotel is so good that the storm did not spoil our enjoyment of the holiday. The lower reaches of the hotel grounds were severely battered by the storm, but the staff coped very well and almost everything continued as normal. We had a lovely large room with a view over the bay. Almost all rooms have bay views, but if you really want to splash out, the most expensive rooms have views towards Funchal Bay. However, we were satisfied with the view we had away from the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo MI

Great

Posted Feb 23, 2018
Pros: Everything
Location: Many restaurants and amenities nearby, shuttle to the Old Town, all kinds of excursions and activities available.
The Cliff Bay is a true five star hotel in a lovely setting. Whether you are using the hotel as a base to explore Madeira or just kicking back to read your book or do nothing, The Cliff Bay will meet your needs. Special thanks to the desk staff and the staff at the Rose Garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham UK

Excelent hotel in a good location

Posted Feb 22, 2018
The hotel has great facilities in a really good location. The staff are very friendly professional and helpful and can recommend appropriate tours for every guest. The island has a lot to offer but is quite hilly with separate areas so its many attractions need to be tailored to the abilities of the guests. There are many things to occupy throughout the different weather conditions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Very nice hotel, great views and staff

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: Clean and well maintained
Location: close enough to main town
Nothing to fault, very restful, staff very helpful and all as you would wish for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Best hotel in Funchal!

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Very good location and view Very helpful staff and overall service was near perfect Facilities such as pool and jacuzzi were clean and presented well Restaurants served delicious food with perfect service to match Will definitely return
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2017 on Hotels
Superb room and good value eating at Le Cliff bistro. Breakfasts are absolutely amazing, with chef making fresh eggs, pnackase, omlettes etc, + glasses of bubbles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury

Up to it's usual very high standard

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Location: 20-30 mins walk to central Funchal, or catch a bus or cab, or there is a complementary bus. Lots of tours to sights, lavada walks etc available.
Our 5th visit in 5th years. Said by local taxi drivers to be the best in Funchal, and we can believe that. Food, staff, spa, bedrooms, general facilities all good. Out of peak season it is very good value.