Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Second visit......still would return

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Choice at breakfast. The roof top pool and seating. It's position in Funchal. The staf.
Cons: Less complicated lighting system. Toilet door in the room that stayed closed
Location: Central location.
We love the vine, a quiet hotel in a perfect spot for getting around. Plenty of excellent restaurants within walking distance. Fantastic choice at breakfast and a choice to eat either outside or inside. A small but lovely rooftop pool and bar with fantastic 360 views. Not much of a view from our room this time but the rooms are spacious, modern and with a fantastic shower. All the staff we met were polite and helpful and many we remembered from our last visit 2 years previously.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Fantastic hotel , great helpful staff, very central.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Central hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Staff,food,rooms,cleanliness all excellent Well recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location for Funchal centre

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Location, good service and friendly ambience.
Cons: Allocation of space on pool terrace.
Location: Excellent location with easy access to restaurants,shops and marina. Many local activities plus levada walks,island tours etc.
This is our 2nd time of staying at the Vine and our repeat visit was welcomed with an upgrade to a Junior Suite on the 5th floor. We had a very spacious room, however sometimes design overrides practicality! The reception staff rectified all our issues (bedside table, electrical socket adaptor, A/C ) as best they could. There is a comprehensive buffet breakfast and there are tables outside in the courtyard. One downside this year was the lack of space on the very popular roof terrace where there is an infinity pool, Jacuzzi and restaurant bar. The sunbeds have been placed ridiculously close to each other ,making it difficult to get on them or move without invading others' space. For 50 Euros a day you can get a guaranteed double sunbed in a VIP area -an innovation that has clearly caused the overcrowding elsewhere. Most days they were empty! Overall though,we enjoyed our stay on this lovely island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Fantastic hotel, great lication

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Wonderful hotel with modern decor. Staff friendly and breakfast buffet was delicious. Room was soundproof and the bed was so comfy we had the best night's sleep ever. The location is perfect as you are right in the heart of Funchal. Only stayed for three nights and didn't want to leave. We will be booking again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

A Very Clean Cut Modern Hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Its position, reasonably close to the old town. Everything was very clean and well serviced.
Cons: Due to its situation we doubt it could actually be improved. It is what it is and would probably totally satisfy other people.
Location: Situated right on the edge of the town and close to the sea front means everything is easily accessed. There are plenty of good eating places.
We were upgraded on arrival to a junior suite. The hotel is very modern and perhaps therefore not to our taste. However, it was very clean and all staff were helpful and polite. Personally, we would have preferred a separate bathroom. Because of its situation above a shopping centre, the pool area is situated on top of the hotel and is very restricted for numbers. This meant that there was no 'relaxation' area apart from the pool as the rooms also do not have balconies. The reception being on the first floor, guests only pass through this on their way to breakfast. Whilst we do not like being bombarded with information, there was a definite lack of here although we feel sure that any enquiries would have been facilitated by the staff.
5 out of 5
by Hugo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rimvydas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right in the centre

Posted May 12, 2017
Great hotel in very central location with friendly, helpful staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is style over practicality, the rooms are dark with views either over a noisy street or over a shopping centre atrium. The bathrooms small and useless, sink area no where to put toiletries or dry towels or swimwear. This area is only separated from the bed by a half panel of glass and therefore using the loo is really not a pleasant experience.There was no balcony to sit out and no chairs to relax, the bedside the only place to relax. Lighting a complicated system and no charging sockets. Bedside tables pull out affair but you have to clear this off to open the wardrobe. Not much space to put anything . Staff aren't that obliging and this is the first hotel we have been refused a late checkout even if we paid, the policy is ridgid!Breakfast was served in a very dingy area with no views to speak of, hot food was stone cold, they have a problem keeping it warm. The continental is ok. Staff here were efficient but again not that obliging, when we asked for a second cup of coffee we were met with an eye rol! The roof top pool is a nice area but small and I could imagine a problem with beds here. Food and drinks in the hotel were extremely expensive in relation to the rest of Funchal. The locality is good, well placed for shopping in Funchal. The weather was dreadful on our visit so we paid a visit to the spa area, this was poor affair with only 4 beds to relax on, a small dip jacuzzi and a small dark stream room. It's very dungeon like not a nice to visit.