Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic pool, friendly staff, comfy beds, great.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Wonderful staff - kind, helpful, friendly. Excellent pool. Comfy beds. Affordable. Great water pressure in bathrooms.
Location: 10 minute walk to Bagnoli Metro, 30 mins to central station; La Solafatura very near, plus amazing amphitheater; restaurants, great pizza nearby.
A haven away from the bustle of inner city Naples with a gorgeous pool. Stayed with my son, who has disabilities, and a friend, as we wanted to go to Vesuvius, Roman sites, and La Solfatura, but needed somewhere to retreat to and unwind away from the hustle and bustle. This was perfect for us: not shabby, but not too posh either. Clean and comfortable rooms, great beds. The pool is exceptional, and we had it to ourselves a lot of the time. My son adored the pool and hotel, and can't wait to go back. We went almost everywhere by Metro and Train - good city transport links all the way from the hotel to Naples then south to the big sights (Pompeii etc.) Stuff to do nearby too. Bit of a trek into the city centre, and it's a slightly run down neighbourhood, but we traded this off against the relaxing grounds and pool (and the affordable price). Ate in the restaurant a few times, and it was fine - breakfast a hit all round (much cake) - and there's lots of good food nearby too, including a great pizzeria right on the hotel doorstep. Would go again, for sure, and recommend to unfussy travelers looking for an oasis and happy to travel a bit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel but a little bit tired 🤓

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Staff and service were great 😀
Cons: Needs modernising it's all a bit tired 🙃
Location: Not much nearby, shops and restaurants close either Sunday or Monday so don't get caught out with that 😬
This hotel is lovely but quite isolated, it's a 15 minute walk downhill and across a few busy roads to the nearest metro station which links you quickly to pozoulli and the nearest ferry or to Naples and beyond. If you have a hire car then getting to and from the hotel is far easier. Taxis in Italy are a nightmare to source and also very expensive, buses and metro are far cheaper and easy to navigate although they don't really stick to their time tables. Overall this hotel gave us everything that we asked for, lovely breakfast each morning and staff that were extremely helpful. Finally there is an elevator that takes you to the bottom of the hotels drive that isn't advertised this rules out a further 10/20 minute walk ( up or down ) from the hotel gates to the hotel, so, ask reception to point it out for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Room not as advertised but Expedia .

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Staff very pleasant and location quite and relaxing and private. Very unique location on a hill parking well away from public roads.
Cons: Expedia photos and information
Location: Close to main road, surrounding area seemed a bit run down.
We were expecting a room that reflected the photo graphs detailed on the Expedia website for a quadruple room. In fact the room initially allocated had a double bed a single bed and a sofa that had been set up as a bed, leaving very little floor space. The room also had very little natural light. Upon flagging this to the reception staff they stated that the room photos on the Expedia website reflected their superior quadruple rooms a we had booked a standard quad room and therefore been given such. One good point about the room was that it was located right next to th pool area. The hotel did however agree to move us to a quadruple room with two levels and consistent with the sales photos on theExpedia website.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

To far from everything

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Hotel was nice a bit far out therefore it was taxi everywhere the breakfast was a disgrace even though it was just continental how can u burn a boiled egg or green scrambled egg cause they where maybe cooked the night before and heated up in the morning the worst ever if u like cakes for breakfast u would be ok very poor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Ebookers
We had a great six days at the hotel with our daughter. She loved the pool and the room was great with it's own little terrace garden. Breakfast ok but very busy each morning but staff hardworking and very helpful. We did not use the restaurant as went out to eat in the evenings. Good location to do day trips from around Naples. Very close to zoo which my daughter enjoyed and small Carrefour supermarket.
3 out of 5
by Robin from Atlanta

Not a four-star hotel.

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at the Montespina was excellent. The poolside is beautiful and relaxing.The rooms are larger than most Italian hotel rooms. However, the rest of the stay was not anything I would recommend. The hotel is an older hotel in a run-down part of the city. It was still respected as there were multiple local groups that met there. The breakfast had canned fruit, no fresh fruit, with imitation scrambled eggs and salad. There were fresh pastries and yogurt. I would choose another hotel for my next visit.
4 out of 5
by Ross

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Barrie from Wigan

Mix up but all is well that ends well

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
After a serious mix up with the booking and the owner telling us he was fully booked when we arrived , he agreed to allow us to use the pool all day and then take us to an alternative hotel , but later in the day he came back to us and said he had a room for us , it then became a perfect last day to our holiday
5 out of 5
by Joshua

Comfortable retreat

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here for 2 nights mainly for the pool. The rooms are a bit old but clean, the air con does not work very well at all! Though the air con is not that big of a deal because the pool is fantastic. It big, clean and a good temperature with lots of sun chairs around it. One strange catch was you had to wear a bathing cap which you can buy there for 3euro. WiFi was very good! I would recommend Montespina for a stay, very relaxing!