Ratings based on 685 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Convenient location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Very helpful staff. convenient location. great breakfast.
Cons: Better ventilation in bathroom.
We were traveling with our two teenage children so had a quadruple room (four singles). The room was small by American standards, but still a good size. The bathroom only had a shower, but again, not too cramped. The bathoom steamed up a great deal during showers. I don't think the vent was working at all. Hotel offers a very nice continental breakfast that got us off to a great start each day. We had rented a car, and were able to park in the hotel's lot. Location was close to all the sights and activities in Odense. easy walk to shopping, restaurants and museums. Hotel staff was extremely helpful in finding a laudromat. There is a lovely lounge downstairs for hanging out or having a drink in the evening. Would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Henriette de Vos, Hotel manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taken time to comment on Expedia. We will look at the ventilation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berryville, Va.

Forgot to inform me about holiday closing-

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: The Grand, where I ended up staying, was fine and the receptionist, Tanya Hansen, was quite personal and me gave special care with my frustration.
Cons: The Ansgar Hotel should certainly have been more alert and arranged for lodgings elsewhere.
Location: Reservations were at the famous Den Gamle Kro (famous old restaurant)on 'go gade' (a pedestrian walking street)for an extensive lunch with family-
Lousy! No one contacted me about the Ansgar hotel which was booked months in advance and prepaid as well! Only lucky that a book keeper (or another hotel) was near by this hotel when I arrived via taxi from Copenhagen Denmark! I was to meet some out of town relatives for a holiday lunch and spend the night. The door was locked and only indicated holiday closure! Luckily another person, from another hotel nearby, suggested that I walk down the block and check in there instead. Apparently the hotels were in the same group. When I did arrive, I was told they were closing that night too. So arrangements were made further with a 3rd hotel of the chain...still further down the road! I certainly got my exercise in that day with baggage in tow! Finally I was received by the Grand hotel for a single room. Originally, I could not find the room by the elevator, which was was down the hall, past the suites and around the corner from other rooms. I was already tired from the hike previously made to 2 other hotels and upset as I was late to meet my relatives for lunch. I complained about the location and said I wanted a change and to be near the elevator. Later on upon my return another room on a higher floor was offered, although areas in the room were in need of cleaning, it was at least near the elevator and comfortable. Slightly noisy due in the AM to some repairs that were ongoing but not too bad. A good breakfast was included and they would settle with the other hotel the bill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located.

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nice and comfortable hotel.
Cons: Because it's an old building, you can hear other guests when they entered or left their rooms.
Location: Near train station, museums, restaurants and shopping area - walking distance.
We chose the hotel for being near the train station but discovered that it was also near the city center and parks. Had a nice breakfast and the hotel staff was very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Too many things just didn't work.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Platina CA USA

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Family room booking was not as represented. 1 bed & 1 cot. Booked 2 beds, cot & couch. Very small room. Overpriced for what we got. Impossible to shower without flooding entire bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bit outdated but good location

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean it up better!!
The initial impression was not good at this hotel because they did not have my reservation correct. I reserved two rooms and paid in advance on expedia. Unfortunately the desk clerk only had 1 of the rooms so it took awhile to check in (and some panic on my part). But I will say, the clerk was very easy going and simply assigned me another room and accepted my confirmation and payment as proof for the second room even though he had no record of it. Rooms outdated, windows opened thankfully since there is no air conditioning. My bathroom was fairly dirty and suffering from some significant wear and tear. The best part of the hotel is the location - close to train station and within easy walking distance of all of the sights.
5 out of 5
by E. Susanne from Durban, South Africa

Excellent location within walking distance.

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location. Close and withing walking distance to everything one needs to see in Odense.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old but Charming

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly and the room was spotless.
Cons: Nothing. The hotel has done what it can to modernize. Parking is very limited so we had to pay to park nearby.
Location: We had a car, so location was not crucial for us. There was shopping within walking distance. Not too far to the Hans Christian Anderson museum.
We were treated very cordially by the staff on our overnight stay. The building is old and old-fashioned but very clean and charming.
4 out of 5
by Rhona from Framingham

A great value, excellent location and breakfast.

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful desk person who arranged our rooms even when the reservation was incorrect. The breakfast is excellent. It is a good value and the location is great.
5 out of 5
by Eric from NY

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant staff and convenient area