Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good place to stay

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Close to Odense Central station.
Nice staff, comfort bed, but a little bit small. It takes 10 and 15 minutes to walk to the museum.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

good location- ok hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: It was convenient to train station and excellent location to walk the coty
Cons: No shampoo- hairdryer- tiny towels- TV did not work- blankets on bed were two twin for a double bed
Location: Good safe location- we were only in room to sleep so it was fine but the little things would have made it perfect- see above.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Too expensive for what it has to offer

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: I guess the location is not too bad.
Cons: A personal touch would definitely improve the bad feel. I would also replace those security cameras by more inconspicuous types.
Parking at the hotel is very difficult. On the road in front of the hotel you can only park for 30 minutes between 09:00 and 16:00. This hotel is not directly manned. The front door is automatic and opens on your hotel key or by calling the receptionist. The receptionist is physically at another hotel. On arrival you connect to the reception via video link (I.e. Skype). The machine will dispense your room cards and you can make your payment there. The room was very small, there is very little daylight coming in and there is no room for suitcases. The bathroom is tiny too. There is no shower cabin so after the shower the bathroom is soaked. The drains smell and the pipes from the room above run through the bathroom which is very noisy. In the public area there are various security cameras. They are obviously present by their flashing lights and making noises while moving. This gives me an uneasy "Big Brother" feeling. The breakfast is average. A very limited choice of items and the scrambled eggs are dried out by the time I had my breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Very very basic

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Reasonable location.
Cons: Lower the price or offer more. Get some staff to work there. Like maybe a front desk???
Location: About 8 mins to central station. 5 mins to older part of town.
I could have chosen to stay at a cabin metro if I had wanted basic. I thought I was choosing some where with more atmosphere. Saw no staff. Checked in with a machine. Machine wanted my credit card. Had to pay upfront before I even saw the room. one bed smaller than a normal single bed " cut to fit" the room. Room tiny. Had my daughter with me, fortunately she's not demanding and nor am I Saw it through as I was forced to pay upfront otherwise I would have moved elsewhere. But would no stay there again. I know Denmark is very expensive and rooms are over priced compared to other countries. And I regularly visit Denmark. But this was extreme in my view. And I have travelled a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gainesville fl

i would stay again

Posted Oct 17, 2014
clean, comfortable, convenient location. efficient check-in unlike any hotel experience i have had.
3 out of 5
by Gina from Richmond, VA, USA

Shoebox-sized Rooms

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Affordability. Central location.
Location: Good location close to central train station and walking street district.
Although I am a displaced Dane living in the States, I have not entirely forgotten the typical size of big city apartments in Denmark. The Ydes Hotel, however, just redefined the term "close quarters." with no place to open, no less store luggage, we found ourselves happy to only have opted for one night. An uncomfortable layer of dust formed almost hourly on our night shelf ("table" would be too generous) in spite of my diligent effort to keep it at bay. The TV remote control did not work properly (unless increasing the volume is SUPPOSED to happen, when you press the "volume down" key. Also, selected channels were sporadically skipped though fully available through the buttons on the TV). On a positive note, since the reception staff was located at the sister hotel a few doors down the street and available only through remote screen access, there was a heightened emphasis on security, as the locked front door could only be opened by hotel access key or off-site personnel. Not that I'm entirely sure such valiant home security is truly necessary in Odense. I digress. That being said, Ydes Hotel is an affordable option for exploring the city. Just don't plan on doing much other that sleep here. Or stay too long.
2 out of 5
by michael from York, UK

Too small!!

Posted Nov 9, 2012
Pros: wifi
Cons: size, space and horrid decor
Location: Good
The Ydes Hotel's biggest problem is size.... it's too small for it's own good! The lifts do not coordinate with the respective floors which means either way you have to carry heavy suitcases etc up/down the stairs.... not great! The bathroom was basic to say the least although functional. It felt like a hostal really. The television was badly tuned and the actual room only had 1 plug point! Wifi was ok! For the price I expected a lot more and on this basis Iwill not be using this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Beliggenheden var virkelig god og rolig, og "net" receptionen meget velfungerende.
Cons: Værelsets standard var ikke i orden. Det var rent, men alt for lille til to personer med bagage.
Hotellet ligger virkelig centralt i Odense, og i weekenden var det nemt at finde parkering. Værelse nr.1 (med to enkelt senge) var dog MEGET smalt og uden plads til kufferter/rejsetasker, som måtte placeres i "midtergangen". Ret bøvlet og ukomfortabelt, når man er to personer.Værelse nr. 1 burde kun udlejes som et enkelt værelse. Begge sengelamper var delvist defekte. Bad og toilet blev ikke rengjort i de tre dage, vi var der,men vi fik rene håndklæder og sengetøj hver dag ?! Skraldespanden blev desværre ikke tømt fra dag til dag :-(
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

God placering

Posted Dec 14, 2015
God placering i centrum men så er der heller ikke meget mere at komme efter. Jeg var der i 2 nætter og der blev ikke gjort rent eller udskiftet håndklæder og lagener. Der var ingen shampoo eller lignende på badeværelset, kun sæbe. Jeg havde indtryk af at man kunne få kaffe og te på værelset, men der var hverken kaffe, te, kopper eller noget. Kun en gammel elkedel i skabet. Generelt virkede det MEGET low budget.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Absolut ikke pengene værd. Det eneste gode der er at sige er at det ligger centralt.