Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Shakayla

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Serapo with a great view.

Posted Oct 29, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Serapo is on a private beach in Gaeta where the view is spectacular. The room was fine and there is a free European style breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parker, CO

Great location!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect! The staff spoke English and were patient with our attempt to speak Italian! The breakfast was great.
Cons: Screens! And maybe let the weather dictate things rather than a calendar.
Location: Gaeta is beautiful. We took a long walk, found a gelateria, bar, and a delicious, unexpected kebab place for break-from-pizza dinner.
We booked 3 rooms at the hotel, all three were ready and clean when we got there. The woman who checked us in spoke English, which was helpful. We checked in on October 2nd. On September 30th, the hotel pool and private beach close. So, if the weather is nice, like it was for our stay, your on-site activities are limited. Also on September 30th, the AC is shut off; Our rooms overlooked the beach, which meant afternoon sun, which meant hot rooms. There are small balconies but no screens so leaving the windows/doors open was not a great idea due to the flies and mosquitoes. The grounds of the hotel are nice, but the surrounding area has A LOT of garbage laying around, thus adding to the fly problem.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Laid Back Retro Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in Hotel Serapo for the ambiance 70's. It is very laid back and we love it. But the rooms are very pricey and small. It is not very comfortable. We also had to pay extra for the hotel beach access (20 euros). Nice breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in beach

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Great location - but not what I expected in terms of service. Rude staff / breakfast was average at best / overall most areas seem to need some upgrading. Hotel looked run down. Would try another hotel when coming back to Gaeta
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Perfect spot in Gaeta- on a lovely beach!

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Swim, explore antiquity, eat, rent a boat and explore the Turks grotto from the port side of Gaeta. This is Italy! Not a tourist trap.
This is the place to stay in Gaeta. You are directly on the beach! Get a sea view room and you'll have a balcony to watch the sea and gorgeous sunsets. They renovated and the showers are spacious and well designed. Breakfast was excellent, in summer months you can enjoy it on a terrace. A small pool but why bother with Serapo( the beach) so close. This beach is pure sand and the water has no rocks or obstructions of any kind! You can walk to Gaeta Vecchia, the City Center, enjoy a park across the street and lots of fun for kids nearby with go- karts etc! Very reasonable and the staff was pleasant and accommodating!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Fun place to stay, good location.

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Hotel Serapo is in a great location on the beach, but also a short walk from charming old town Gaeta. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful. The garden on the hotel grounds was beautiful. Our stay was in early April, so the hotel pool was not ready for the tourist season yet, however it looked like it would be very nice once open.
5 out of 5
by Ann from Irvine, California

Nice hotel at the beach

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay, would be better if the wifi worked inside the hotel room. Good location except there was noise that started early (7:30am) on the weekend when we wanted to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach on the doorstep

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Hotel was clean & right on the beach. Breakfast was typical continental but not hit choice just bread & pastry. had dinner one night it the restaurant & it was ok. We were in the annexe at the rear of the hotel, which was in need of some TLC. Staff were happy to help & fixed the problem we had with the air con. Only real complaint was the cost of the Sunbeds on their beach. €20 a day was expensive when the next section of beach was only €10 & next door by less than 10m
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Terrific family hotel in fabulous position

Posted Aug 4, 2015
We had a family room on the top (third) third floor. The room was very clean and had a small balcony overlooking the beach- lovely! Only faults were uncomfortable beds and air-con that needed to be slightly colder. Everything else excellent, good breakfast, lovely garden/ pool area, gym and indoor pool, very clean sandy beach, spectacular town- loved it!