Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nothing like the pictures

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Upon arriving, our room had no toilet seat. The bed was a sofa bed (I was aware of this when booking), but it was not made into a bed. When I went to the front desk to ask about this, she easily changed us to a different (bigger) room. The second room was dark, very unpleasant, the bathroom had 2 hooks to hang towels and the wall underneath them was black from mold. The door deadlock didn't work. We couldn't get the heater to turn on. Neither room was anything like the pictures on expedia. We got a refund (after about 2 hours on the phone) and booked Hotel Suisse near the main train station...much much better (although 3 times the price). The woman at the front desk was not pleased that we called expedia instead of talking to her, but authorized the refund and gave us back the cash we paid for the hotel tax.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Cons: Rooms need maintenance! Paint was in poor condition and wood frame on door to terrace was broken.
Location: Nearby access to Tram and Buses made this a good location. Large, well stocked super market was 1 stop away.
A group of young men congregated in the center court yard being rowdy and loudy. Tried to confront me as I was entering the building, there after I was extra cautious of those around me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was trying to save money.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: I must admit, it was cheap.
This was a step too far. The place is miles from the Palais des Nations, and in a run down district.
2 out of 5
by Jen from Houston, TX

Dont think I will be repeating.....

Posted May 21, 2014
Staff was not helpful at all, when I arrived the 3 people in the front were helping out 1 disgruntled customer, so I had to wait 20 minutes to ask where i could park. The hotel in itself is very dingy and musty. On the bright side, there is a little kitchen and a supermarket a block away, so that's convenient, but it's not a good location to visit Geneva. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bez from london

For the price, fantastic. Close to bus and tram.

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Great place to stay. On the main bus route to and from geneva cornavin train station and annemasse station. Bus 61.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty and quaint

Posted May 20, 2013
Pros: The room was very clean, comfy bed- though a little hard to my liking-2 bathrooms :)
Cons: The lighting in the hallways
Dark smoke filled halls in hotel led to a surprising fresh smelling beautiful room. Was glad was with my husband because the halls were very scary. Hotel is right acorss the border- located in the heart of the city- restaurants are walking distance. Hotel doesn't change $ so be sure to do it at your airport of origin.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chris from United Kingdom

Cheaper than staying in Geneva

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Cons: It can get a little noisy as it is above a parade of shops and next to the border.
Location: Overlooking the customs port at Mouillesulaz
The hotel is cheap and near the French Swiss border. It overlooks the border crossing and there is a tram within 50 yards of the hotel which goes to the middle of Geneva in about 15 minutes (number 12). There are some other odd things; you can only check in between 16:00 and 20:00 and you must check out between 08:00 and 12:00 because at all other times the reception desk is closed. There is a laundrette downstairs in the lower floor of the hotel and if you need a ironing board then there is one at reception. There are some people there who have been there for months and plan to stay for a few more months. It can get a little noisy but if you are looking for somewhere to stay which is cheaper than Switzerland then this isn't too bad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J & Y Anderson from Australia

Cheap and Friendly Hotel but a little dirty

Posted Jun 28, 2012
Pros: Cheap, great location, outside the tram stop and a short walk to grocery shops and bakery
Cons: Apartment room was a bit dirty, had to wash the cutlery and cookware before we used it. Dust in obvious places that should have been cleaned
Location: Directly outside is the tram stop that takes you into Geneva, only takes about 20 minutes. Day passes are cheap too.
This was definetly a cheaper option than staying in Geneva. Switzerland is expensive so saving money anyway you can is a bonus! It's directly outside the tram stop, which happens to be the end of the line, as you're actually staying over the border in France. Location is perfect, only a 20 minute tram ride into Geneva, a short (200m and 500m) walk to a few grocery shops. Day pass Tram tickets cost about 6 euro each BUT if you're travelling on the weekend the one day pass will cover 2 people travelling together. We found this out by visiting the tourist information bus which was just outside the train station in Geneva itself. They have some great tourist booklets which have very useful info! The hotel/apartment was really spacious but very dated and is in desperate need of a reno! Air-con would be nice! It was quite dusty when we first arrived and I found a vacuum cleaner in the cupboard so ran it over the floor and wiped some of the furniture we'd be using. I also took the pedestal fan apart and washed it so we could use it, as it was really filthy. The cleaner either hadn't been or is really slack! The bathroom was suprisingly clean though considering the rest of the place was dusty and dirty. Our towels and sheets were also spotless. Noise was not a problem either, soundproofing is good here and we slept well. The man in reception was really nice, supplying us with maps and helping to print off some things for us. He also spoke good english so no problems there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trell from US

Posted Mar 6, 2012
Cons: smells poor but cheap.
This hotel is as cheap as you can find for Geneva. It has a peculiar odor. The service desk closed at 10 and the electricity went off about 3AM - then it got cold. While this sounds awful the quality of hotels in Europe is not as good as the states. You just do not get much of a hotel for your money in europe, especially switzerland. We love Switzerland but next time we will just take a tent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Worse hotel in my life (customer reception & hotwater problem)

Posted Jun 29, 2011
If you arrive late you will be in trouble. The first night there was no water and no hot water. The second day there was no hot water. I went to the receptionist and I told him that I need to take a shower because I want to attend an important conference, but he was going to give me bottled water. I missed half of my conference that day because the water was connected at about 10:30am. When I was leaving the hotel, the receptionist was asking me to pay municipal fees that I had paid when I checked in. I could not convince him that I paid to another person who was the receptionist when I checked in. Lots of bad experiences. Basically I would never recommend such a hotel with this type of poor customer support services. I wonder why Expedia has it on their list.