Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leighton buzzard

hotel with lovely staff

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Staff
Location: Not the best if you do not have a car as it is out of town
Lovely receptionists. Very accommodating with getting our room ready after turning up early.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carmarthen

Nice hotel, clean & very helpful staff

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: My French is poor, so appreciated that all the staff that I spoke to could speak English :)
Cons: Sky sports as an option would be good
Location: There was a shopping centre, Aldi's and Mcdonalds only 15 mins walk away.
Stayed for two nights while attending Vitafoods Europe show in Geneva, nice hotel but sadly I didnt quite realize that it was 30 min taxi drive from the Airport and Palexpo Centre, but thats my fault. Apart from that I cant fault the hotel. Its not plush by any means, its basic but it did not cost much, so you get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Typical quality travel hotel, enjoyed my stay!

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Near to many shops and restaurants. Clean, efficient, friendly staff.
This was the typical experience I expect of a Mercure hotel. Clean, tidy rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. No drama or mistakes. The location was central to all the roads, and just a 10 minute drive over the border into Geneva (the hotel is on the France side). Very near to several shops and restaurants, and we had a really fun dinner at the grill across the parking lot. All in all, it was just a one night stay en route to Paris, and we all got good, sound rest and relaxation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel for one who knows it's in France

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Hi. I booked one night in Mercure Annemasse Porte de Genève hotel, but I didn't stay there for 2 nights & lost my money for the second night because of Expedia big mistake of putting the hotel in Geneva / Switzerland hotels while it's in France. I expect an apology, my money back & compensation of 731 Euro paid for one night in Hotel de la Paix Genève when I arrived really tired and couldn't find any hotel while searching with my wife and 4 years daughter using a taxi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Stop over en route to Geneva from France

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Location & cleanliness
Cons: The exterior looks dreadful,we very nearly turned away,glad we didnt.
Location: only half an hr from Geneva & not to far from the highway.
Looks terrible on approach but was really pleasantly surprised. good value for money and very'new' looking inside,must have been refurbished recently(yet to do outside though) Stayed enroute to Geneva. conveniently located near the main road but not close enough that you're disturbed by traffi. about half an hour from Geneva. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to Switzerland but better value

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Reasonable price, good breakfast, large free car park, free wifi.
Cons: Needs updating in the public areas
Location: Hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, view of Mont Blanc from the room
Warm welcome on arrival, comfortable room, good breakfast, poor evening meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice staff mambers

Posted May 25, 2014
I would recommend all of u to book this hotel it's really nice
2 out of 5
by Jan from Prague

Not very convenient without a car...

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Original price looks interesting, when added some additional costs and time... it does not look so impressive or competitive..
Cons: Price of taxi to the airport (arranged by the hotel, and I asked for a cheep taxi) is high.. English speaking receptionist is a must...
I should better study the map..:) The hotel is quite clean, reasonable.. but it is in France, out of Geneva, not a close as it is presented. Using taxi makes stay rather expensive... We used public transport (regional bus 61, say 20-25 minutes by walk from the hotel), takes another 20-30 minutes to Geneva. Ticket to Geneva you pay in euro with bus driver (4e) on way back you have to buy a ticket in a machine using Swiss franks (or a credit card.. which is not the option over the weekend)... If you do not speak French, it could be a bit complicated.. We were leaving early morning, night receptionist does not speak any English.. Hopefully we arranged everything in advance, including pay and taxi (highly recommended). One more observations... Hotel taxi service belongs to most expensive around... When we took airport taxi, even with searching for the hotel we paid 70 Swiss franks. The other way by hotel called taxi costs us 100 euros. Note that euro is 1.22 SF, which makes the 122 compare to 70 we pay on way there.. However, weather was nice, my wife was happy so why to make a noise, right? But be aware of it..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

so far away from city

Posted Jan 2, 2014
bad experience this hotel only suitable for driving travelling
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hassan from montreal

Nice hotel . I like it , friendly staff, big room

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Room is big , clean, breakfast is nice , outside Tarrace is nice also
Cons: Internet was bad in one day out of five days It may be due to the provider itself , Internet for every six hours is not a good idea at all ,
Location: Nearest Geneva , and nice area
Good , I will use this hotel again in my next trip