Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

1.7 out of 5
23% of guests recommend
1.8 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
1.8 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BEDBUGS! NO REFUND, EITHER. EXPEDIA, NEVER AGAIN

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: NOTHING.
Cons: TEAR IT DOWN.
The Comfort Hearth in Gainesville, GA was located in a sketchy part of town, which should have been our first clue. We should have left without even checking in. It was only for 1 night, so we proceded to check in. Things went from bad to worse....I called Expedia after only being there for a few minutes, to ask for a refund. They would not refund my money. As I was talking to the Expedia representative, a police officer came to have a discussion with someone down the hall. The last straw was when we found bedbugs. I always check the mattresses upon first arrival in any hotel, looking for telltale marks from bedbugs (blood/poop? spots?). I found nothing. However, in hindsight, I guess the tiny bugs I killed in the bathroom were baby bedbugs, coming out of the walls (I have done plenty of research on bedbugs, but I didn't know what a baby one looked like). As we were sitting on the bed, watching TV, the adult bedbugs made their appearance. I wrapped one up in a tissue and took to the person on duty. The man at the desk said that people are always coming and going, the bugs could have come from anyone (as if that explains it?) I asked for a refund, and he would not comply. He offered to move us to another room. That was absolutely not an option. We packed and left. I am currently in the process of making sure I ddn't bring any home. All my stuff from the trip is sealed in plastic bags, waiting to wash/dry on hot. Thrown away a lot of stuff. What a nightmare.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible !

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Do not stay in this hotel! I reserved online and drove 18 hours to get there. Once I was there I asked to see the room before signing . It was disgusting so I canceled and the desk lady told me I would not be charged . To my surprise I was charged and Expedia can't do anything so I have to fight charges with my cc
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Absolutly the worst experience I ever had. Terrible service and horrid room quality.
1 out of 5
by Elizabeth B.

Horrible

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Orbitz
Free breakfast is a joke!!!!!!! They only had coffee, our tv did not work, there were bugs in the bathroom and in the room!!!! So unclean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl

Nice and clean

Posted Sep 5, 2015
The staff are nice room was clean I would stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mj

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Called to get price and when arrived was told a different one. Staff was new and tried to make it right. This place needs a lot of work from cleaning to paintING and replacing worn out items like the AC worked about half the time. It would come on and work for little while then shut off. It did this all long long. Was very stuffy in this room. It showed on line a coffee pot ref and micro in room but was not. . Looks like they are trying but have a long way to go for me to stay again. Sorry but was not happy at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

A real let-down! I should have read the reviews.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness, maintenance.
Location: Near downtown Gainesville. We were visiting family so we don't have tourist suggestions.
We reserved two nights at this hotel based on location and moderate price. We failed to notice that cancellation was 24 hours in advance. We were first assigned a room whose door didn't close properly and which had an unpleasant smell. The second room was a bit better, but it was dingy and the floor felt nasty when I walked on it barefoot. Traffic noise was terrible, but when we asked about a room on the back side we were told that those rooms were all "smoking" rooms. We then tried to cancel our second night - that was when we learned our credit card had already been charged and that we couldn't make that change after 4PM and still get a refund for the second night. We checked out anyway. Ironically, we were able to get a room at a nearby, much nicer hotel for a special AAA deal for only $15 more. Breakfast was a joke too - we went across the street to McDonalds instead.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from NC

Staying at a quiet motel.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The price was good.
Cons: The motel is older, but clean.
Location: Centrally located area.
Very pleasant, a quiet stay. Easy access and adequate parking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hoschton, GA

Don't go, don't ever go

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Got conformation from Expedia, went to hotel. Told no rooms. Expedia called other hotels for us until they found one
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best

Posted Feb 18, 2015
They need to make sure they have the rooms they post online before they allow anyone to reserve them.