Ratings based on 362 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooksville, Fl

Nice hotel convenient to restaurants.

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Very satisfied. Comfortable, clean room. Breakfast buffet very nice.
Location: Near University of Florida and numerous restaurants to select nearby.
Bottom floor being renovated, but did not distract from the stay. Nice location, good restaurants nearby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Not what we expected

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Nothing was comfortable about our room - outdated, in poor condition, dingy, couldn't tell if it was dirty or just old, bed and pillows were uncomfortable, sheets worn and our phone started to ring at 2:50 am (had to disconnect it). The front staff offered nothing to assist us. Very disappointing experience and certainly not worth the cost. Won't be staying at another for a long time (and we are IHG members)!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Patrick, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that you found your room to be uncomfortable. We always try to make our guests feel comfortable and safe during their stay with us. As you may have noticed we are currently renovating the hotel and this does include the guest rooms since are aware that they are very outdated. I would encourage you to stay with us again once we have completed the renovations. Our projected date is by April of 2018 for the entire hotel to be finished. but some of the rooms will be newly renovated by January. I hope that this did not sour your opinion of our hotel and we hope to see you again soon. Patrick Duggan Director of Sales
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Got an old smoking room . Couldn’t move me to anot

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Another room. Nose runny al night. They sprayed Fabre to appease me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Patrick, Hotel Management
We apologize about the room in which you were given. Unfortunately we were sold out the night that you stayed so we were unable to move you to a different room. If you chose to not stay we would have canceled your reservation at no cost to you. Our staff did all they could to make the room more comfortable and I apologize if this was not enough. We are currently renovating and will be moving onto the guest rooms very soon. We should be finished with the renovations by spring of next year. Patrick Duggan Director of Sales
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Okay hotel. Was good to see that they were in the process of renovating as the hotel needs updating. Room was comfortable, staff was friendly, breakfast was just okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are eager to finish the remodel and we are close to starting on the rooms and finishing the lobby area. We should be finished with everything by the spring of 2018. I hope to see you again once we have finished the remodel so that you may experience a stay that is up to our standards. Patrick Duggan Director of Sales
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: nothing....underconstruction and just a total mess!!!!!!
Room smelled like an ashtray...told checkin desk and all they offered was for the room to be sprayed with airfreshener...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Patrick, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, unfortunately we were completely sold out the night you stayed with us otherwise our front desk staff would have offered you a different room. The only thing we were able to do was offer the air freshener. There may have been a guest who smoked in the room prior to you going in there (we are a non smoking hotel). We are under construction but have everything in our lobby well organized and out of the way of our guests to not inconvenience them. If you have any comments, questions, or concerns please call me at the hotel. Patrick Duggan Director of Sales
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Florida

Beds too high. Poor front desk service.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
I am just over 5 feet and could not get up onto the bed; asked front desk for 'anything' to step on to get onto the bed. They never returned my call. My door key did not work and had to be redone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Patrick, Hotel Management
We apologize that the height of the bed was too high for you, unfortunately we do not have stools for guests to use. I'm sorry we did not return your call to inform you about this. Unfortunately all of our beds are the same height. We hope you enjoyed the other amenities of your stay and that you will stay with us again in the future. Patrick Duggan Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Hotel was under renovation and will possibly solve some of their issues. It was an okay stay but needed some improvement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of that Holiday Inn Express in Gainesville Florida! We hope that once we complete our renovations that we will be up to your standards for your next stay. Patrick Duggan Director of Sales
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Marleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Gainesville Florida! We thank you for your great rating and hope to see you again in the future! Patrick Duggan Director of Sales
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Marleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Gainesville Florida! We appreciate your rating and hope that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit! Patrick Duggan Director of Sales
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Marleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Gainesville Florida we appreciate you rating and hope to see you again the next time you travel through Gainesville! Patrick Duggan Director of Sales