Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handicap room

Posted Nov 27, 2017
I signed up for a handicap room and shower online. When I checked in they said it wasn't available. There was barely room to get the wheelchair in the room. It would not fit through bathroom door. Very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and rating. We are sorry to hear that you room request was not available. We do try and accommodate as best as we can, but during game weekends, it can be difficult. We have passed your comments to our management team for review. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

it was adequate

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: price
It wasn't a terrible room but...arrived at 3pm hoping to take a quick nap before heading out for a late evening with friends. Construction work with a loud saw in the parking lot just in front of my room and then back & forth into the room they were working on made that impossible. He did quit right at 5 and I figured they had to work at some time so understandable. An hour later a high school/college basketball TEAM arrived, all excited trying to all take showers & dress or something. VERY loud and seemed like they were on both sides of my room. So much for any nap. But the kids were polite and friendly when I went out to get ice. Coach seemed to do his best to keep them reasonably "controlled". Guess they went out for dinner and by the time I returned at 2am all was quiet. Stayed for two nights. No one came to my room after the first night with fresh towels or refill on in-room coffee supplies. Didn't really need the towels but could have sure used the coffee the next morning but I was checking out that day anyway. Office staff was pleasant but not really friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and rating. We would like to apologize for the loud noises that prevented your nap. As well, our housekeeping should be replacing supplies and cleaning rooms every day. We will ensure this does not happen again. Thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The room I was in (114) stunk and was moldy in the bathroom. I felt dirty. No bugs though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and rating. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Please note that we have passed your comments to our management team for review. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Nice hotel close to Gainesville

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Very clean and nice hotel. Great staff. Close to UF
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and comments. We hope you enjoyed your time in Gainesville and at our property. We hope you will choose us the next time you are in the area. Thank you!
4 out of 5
by anabel from Miami, FL

Convenient and well kept.

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
I liked the hotel and the little breakfast they had with your stay. they have a little garden and nice hang out area under a pavilion with a grill and everything was nice and tidy, beds seemed clean but the rooms are small and that lemon smell was too strong. small pool as well but the service was good, clean towels and toiletries always avaliable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable. We do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area. Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is an old one. Stuffy rooms, need an upgrade. One night stay was just ok. Desk personnel were very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review and rating. We do appreciate your candid and honest feedback. Please note that we are consistently improving our property. Your comments are important to us. We will be passing to our management team for review. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by Monica

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Outdated hotel, not amenities and nit very clean

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Staff at front office is nice but that is about it. Room was very outdated and not clean at all. Bath towels were paper thin and in a three days stay we got only once toiletries, including a tiny bar soap. Beds and bedding were awful. Won't recommend it at all
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and rating of your stay at the Howard Johnson Express in Gainesville, FL. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Please note that your comments are important to us, and we will be passing to our management team for review. Thank you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sebastian, FL

Decent hotel marred by one important factor.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Location near UF campus.
Cons: Obviously need to upgrade the ac.
Location: Convenient to UF, restaurants, etc.
Check in and parking were both fine. The room was clean and pleasant. We were able to check in early which was good for us because we had our van full of our daughter's UF move in belongings so dropping off our suitcase helped. We were gone all day and very tired when we returned to the room. Much to our dismay the air conditioning was blasting away and so loud that it was both difficult to fall asleep and each time it came back on it woke us up. We really needed a good night's sleep but that never happened. Also, don't expect much at the continental breakfast. The location is pretty good but they really need to do something about the train wreck of an air conditioner. I would recommend checking your room before completing your reservation. Perhaps it was just our room but I was able to hear other ac blasting away when we walked outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your business and hope your daughter had a successful move in and is ready for a great university experience. We are sorry to hear about the AC in your room. We have noted these comments, and passed to our management team and maintenance team to fix right away. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and rating!