Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from palm bay

quick overnight stay

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: room smell, room maintenance
Arrived about 4pm for check in. Upon entering room, overcome by deodorizer odor that bordered on cruel and inhumane. Went to a game, upon return odor was less powerful. Informed front desk at checkout about the odor issue but the gentleman seemed to care less.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. Please note your comments are important to us. We will be informing your comments regarding the deodorizer used in the room to our management team for review. Thanks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fl

Really bad smell in room

Posted May 5, 2017
I'm not sure but I think they poured cleaner on the ac & thought it would cover up the carpets need cleaned
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please do understand that we have a process in place for cleaning our rooms. We ensure that our housekeepers clean the entire room and it meets the standards of Howard Johnson.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
bathroom floor was dirty, sheets does not smell nice, I really do not like it
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review of your stay at the Howard Johnson Express in Gainesville, FL. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We really wish you would have let us know of these issues during your stay, we would have tried our best to better your stay. Thank you
4 out of 5
by Rachel from Lecanto, FL

Would stay again

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
It was exactly what we were looking for. Clean, comfortable room near UF Shands Hospital. Decent continental breakfast and the owners/staff were very kind. Definitely would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good enough for me

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
It's was ok actually no complaints here the staff were friendly and the room was neat and clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and rating! We do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Appreciated having a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Nice hotel for a budgeted price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are very pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area!
4 out of 5
by Chris

Older but very well kept up

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is a little older but cute. The main thing was that it was that our room was in perfect shape. If you have children, make sure to stop before checking in for a potty break. There are no public bathrooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Decent room in a well maintained structure. The bathroom is small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review and rating We are very pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable. We do hope you will stay with us again on your ext visit to the area. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by Jane

overnight stay, quick filling breakfast, off again

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Well kept facility, accommodating hosts, will ask for top (2nd) floor next time as the occupant above our ground floor room was very active, seemed to be pacing back and forth in his room from 10-11pm - I enjoyed the lovely, colorful flower beds in front of the lobby area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for the compliments on our landscaping. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

$69 you get a little less than you pay for

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Tiny bathroom. Breakfast is all packages nasties like honey buns & fatty blueberry muffins. IHOP across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and rating. We have passed your comments regarding our breakfast to our management team. Thank you.