Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what you would like.

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
We rented two rooms. One smelled like mold, the other like smoke. The second room's was not sweep/vacuum when we received it, the second day the bathroom remained the same way. We let the management in the front office know before leaving.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for the housekeeping problems that you experienced while our recent guest. We have spoken with the housekeeping department and shared with them your problems so that we can make sure they are corrected for future guests. Please give us another opportunity to earn your business if you are in our area again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to restaurants and a huge outlet mall.

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Not enough soap, shampoo, etc. A separate dressing area from the bathroom would have been nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you required more soap and shampoo than we had provided in the room. We would have been glad to get you additional ones if we had known. We appreciate your suggestion of a separate dressing area. Please come and stay with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient location. Clean room. Enjoyed free breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed our rooms, breakfast and location. We hope that you will remember us when your plans bring you to the area again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price it costed

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was very close to our next day destination but that was the only positive. The room was not updated, the bathroom amenities were 2 small flat bars of soap and 1 bottle of shampoo smaller than the size of 2 fingers (placed in a room for THREE people!) no conditioner. Over the period of the evening, we kept seeing small roach like bugs on the ceiling, wall & table in the room! Disgusting! Half of the outlets in the room didn't even work! My son needed to plug in his phone charger & had to keep trying til one worked. We tried to use the microwave and it would not work, one time after pushing the plug into the wall to assure it was plugged in the microwave flickered on but died again and never worked! Breakfast was a joke: bread, bagels, batter to make a pancake, raisin cereal and coffee. I decided to just try a small cup of OJ because we were going to have to go elsewhere for breakfast and the OJ was mixed with grapefruit juice! The pool area did appear to be clean and kept up but no towels available. Overall, we've stayed in much nicer hotels for the same pricing and this place was ridiculously unattended to. Only had dealings with 2 employees, both of who were very polite/nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are glad that our location was close to you destination which made it convenient for your stay. I am so sorry that you encountered other issues that made your stay less than memorable. Please know that we have spoken with the appropriate staff members to correct the problems/issues that you mentioned. Our stafff does appreciate your kind words about their performance. We hope that you will come and give us another opportunity to earn your business in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs some work.

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was good, but security doors did not work, lighting in room was poor, hair dryer did not work and no iron or ironing board. Was difficult to get ready for a wedding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Security is very important and we have immediately looked at the doors in order to get them working properly again. We have also told the maintenance staff and housekeeping staff about the other issues such as missing iron and ironing board missing, so that they can be corrected. Please know that we sincerely appreciate your business and hope that you will give us another opportunity to earn your business.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We sincerely appreciate your business and the time that it tood to tell us and others about your stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unacceptable and Bottom of the Barrel Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
This property is below average. It is located besides an out of business, boarded up fast food restaurant. The room I reserved was for nonsmoking yet there were cigarette burns in the bedspread. The room had a musty odor that never went away. The room was extremely dark even with all the lights turned on. It was impossible to see out of one side of the window The outlets were in such bad condition, my flatiron kept coming in plugged while I was trying to use it. The free amenities such as shampoo and conditioner were lacking. It was as if the room was missing some of the basic ideas in your average hotel. There was trash that was visible under the 2 drawer dressor. It was very apparent that the mirror had only been half way cleaned. I was relived that I brought my own pillowcase to sleep on but because this place was extremely questionable, I slept in all my clothes and never got under any of the bedding. The shower curtain wasn't even long enough to keep he water inside of the tube. It looked as though it was 10 or more years old. I believe it was suppose to be white but had faded to a dingy yellowish color or so I believe, the lightening was almost nonexistent in the bathroom. The room is described as having a refrigerator, microwave, etc. The micro mini refrigerator sits directly on the floor with the microwave on top. I literally had to get down in the nasty floor in order to place my drink inside. I felt like I was in one of those hotels that charge by the hour!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
First of all, I am terribly sorry that you had such a bad experience. We always want our guests to receive a clean, comfortable room at an affordable rate. When we fail to achieve our goal we are so sadden because we know that we can provide our goal to all of our customers. Some things we can't control, such as what goes on next door to us, however, we can control what goes on inside our facility. We do appreciate your business and we sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to earn your business. Happy Holidays to you and your family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fl.

dirty

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A lot Cleaner
Coke can behind curtains, cheese crackers behind nightstand. Shower rod coming out of the wall. Outside of toilet hadn't been clean in months. Will never stay there again. No elevator only stairs they hadn't been vacuumed in a long time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

PRICE WAS OK BUT................

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: THE BED WAS COMFORTABLE.
Cons: APPLES IN BREAKFAST AREA HAD BEEN THERE A VERY LONG TIME, BRUISED, SEEPING JUICE. THE TOASTER AND THE MICROWAVE WERE NOT WORKING. 2 CEREAL CHOICES.
Location: DAHOLNEGA AND BURT'S PUMPKIN FARM ARE CLOSE BY
THE CHECK-IN MGR WAS NICE. THE OTHER MGR DID NOT SPEAK TO US OUT OF SEVERAL MEETINGS OVER 2 NIGHTS THERE, NEITHER THE MICROWAVE NOR THE TOASTER WORKED IN THE BREAKFAST AREA. 2 OF 4 LIGHTS DID NOT WORK. ONLY 2 OUTLETS WORKED. THE SHEETS AS WELL AS THE SHOWER CURTAIN WERE WHITE ONCE, BUT IT IS CLEARLY EVIDENT THEY DO NOT USE BLEACH. THESE WERE YELLOWED. THERE WAS NO CONDITIONER, ONLY 1 SMALL SHAMPOO. THERE WERE CIGARETTE BUTTS ON THE WINDOW SIDE OF THE BED AT THE EDGE OF THE FRAME. IT'S BEEN A WHILE SINCE THE ROOM HAD A GOOD VACUUMING.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Room was stained, dirty. Dry wall damaged throughout hotel. Luckily the price was cheap and we were able to bring in our small dog for the night. However, I wouldn't sleep under the sheets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by M. Martin, Hotel Management
I am pleased that you feel that the value was good. We are pet friendly so travelling with your pet in easy when you stay with us. I also notice the problems that you encountered, rest assured that we will do everything in our power to correct those issues immediately. Please give us another opportunity to earn your business if you are ever in our area again.