Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arbor Vitae,WI

Felt like I was at home, what a "AWESOME" place!!!

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Everything you want to do is within walking distance
I arrived early, so the young lady at the desk was such a sweetheart to tell me all about the place. I decided to hang around at the pool/hot tub surrounded by gorgeous flowers and beautiful trees. The hall makes me want to get married again so I could enjoy this paradise tucked away. The Inn keeper Cornelia was very kind and friendly, which made me sad I was only staying one day. I met a few guests during the wine/cheese hour which was so delightful. The Piccadilly room was perfect for me, and comfort beyond imaginable. Being from New England, my love of this Historical home was breathtaking. Breakfast was wonderful and the staff were so pleasant, you just have to check this place out. Looking forward to my next trip, I will be coming back to Sweetwater Branch Inn, the perfect reason to return to Gainesville, Florida. Thank you so much Cornelia and the staff. The best experience I have ever had!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Staff and comfort
Location: Near University
After a full day of meetings, I truly felt like I was coming "home". Sweetwater Branch Inn has very comfortable rooms and common areas but what really sets them apart is the customer service. Every one we met was extremely cordial and accommodating. I had some dietary restrictions and they did their best to try and help me. The hot breakfasts were excellent! My wife rode a bike around town and to Payne's Prairie and had a very good time. This comfortable bed and breakfast is in a convenient location and I will definitely be staying there again when I get back to Gainesville!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers FL

Storm Haven Hurricane Irma

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: University of Florida, additional restaurants in the area and the Harn Museum w/Asian Wing. Retirement home for old/abused horses entry fee 2 carrots
I really lucked out here. Fleeing a Hurricane I stayed here for almost 2 weeks. Not only was the room very clean and comfortable but the shining star is a very involved owner that holds a high standard and her excellent staff of wonderful people. This was a stressful time but I couldn't have felt more at home. It was like an extended family. The breakfasts were excellent and home cooked. Victorian home from the 1800's. Next door another victorian home also lodging and a nice lunch restaurant. Great experience. I want to go back when the circumstances are different.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wellington,florida

A good half way point to stop to Atlanta

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Great place to stop , on my way to Atlanta. Very accommodating staff and a great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Charming Victorian style inn

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Staff, decor, price, comfort level.
Cons: Replace the astro turf around the pool with something more charming.
Lovely place. Rooms were very nice; it was like staying at home, except with better furniture and housekeeping. It's the kind of place that encourages good manners. Tired of staying in big chain hotels where guests talk in the hallways at all hours of the day and night. Staff and guests were very pleasant.
5 out of 5
by Susan

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful historic area, romantic cottage, excellent customer service ☺
5 out of 5
by Karen

Great place

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Overall it was an amazing place. The only issue that we had was a small amount of trash left on the couch. The cottage was very clean otherwise.
4 out of 5
by Janet

Great stay for r & r

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location to escape to while my daughter visited the college campus. We loved the private pool and our room and the people. It was quiet during our stay and limited breakfast on the 4th of July but we still had a great time and there were fireworks nearby. They were very friendly and accommodating to any of our needs We would love to return again for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Victoria's Cottage

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
Never stayed at a B&B before and will definite do it again! We stayed in half a cottage, plenty of room for the 3 of us, decorated adorably, comfortable bedding and everything we needed in the kitchen. (Only irritant was dozens of laminated "Rules" taped throughout, most were common sense and some just ridiculous.)
5 out of 5
by Gary

Business in Gainesville

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay in Gainesville. Much better than the chain hotels. We are glad we made this choice. Great breakfast. Wine and cheese in the evening. Buildings and grounds were immaculate.