Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples FL

We stayed in the honeymoon sweet lovely

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: The character, the fireplace at the foot of the bed the grounds
Cons: better coffee maker
I was in Gainesville for an MD appointment with a Neurological Vascular Surgeon as I recently learned I have 4 aneurysms. We live in Naples FL., I am originally from MA Have never been to Northern Florida. It was so special being at the Sweetwater I just thought it was so charming. I loved having our own space, for the hours we were at the hotel we could just put everything else aside and just enjoy your establishment, I will be having regular check ups Shands at UF and we plan to stay in our little honeymoon suite a bit longer next time we enjoyed it that much thank you for making what was a very frightening trip pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Quaint Find in Gainesville

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Decor, fireplaces, and compound very lovely with pond and outside areas. Staff very friendly.
Cons: Slippers would be helpful and robes!
Location: U of F activities
Lovely, quaint find in downtown Gainesville. Staff was very friendly. Rooms comfortable with individual thermostats and comfortable. Breakfasts tasty and wine/cheese fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm beach

Football weekend

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Everything location rooms breakfasts...
Cons: either get rid of the wine and cheese or upgrade that experience..
Location: Close to downtown and the University
just the BEST.. Everything was fabulous. Rooms were very nice, spacious TV s worked well. The Breakfast is the Best in Florida... The only negative was the wine and cheese, not very good, warm wine and No Cheese.. Can't wait to go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Excellent stay in Gainesville

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Stayed here for a few nights on a business trip this last week and it was a total delight. The Victoria Cottage was very historical and came equipped with a full kitchen and hot tub. Needless to say, after a long day of work, it felt nice to come back to such a cozy place. There was also a complimentary wine and cheese hour every evening. The highlight was certainly the sous chef breakfast that was complimentary every morning of my stay. The chef was extremely talented and we loved the crepes and creole grits. Best place to stay in Gainesville.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Stay here to disconnect totally

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed at Sweetwater Branch Inn 3 times since July. While the house is charming, clean and breakfast delicious, I have never been able to get internet service. The server name & password is given on check in but it does not work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Charming old world hotel. A standout choice in a sea of mediocrity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee

Quaint inn right in downtown Gainesville!

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Loved my stay. Staff was beyond kind, gracious and accommodating. Room I stayed in was Isadora and it was pleasant and cozy. The morning breakfast was incredible and offered options both hearty AND healthy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ann from Rollins College, Winter Park Fl

FL Local Food Summit in Gainesville

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was perfect.....room, food, customer service. We were there for a FL Local Food Summit [two students and myself - staff, at a college].
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in the "Blue Moon" room. For the price, $200 including tax, I expected better. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on. The breakfast was just OK. From other reviews I had read, I expected "wonderful". The grounds are gorgeous, and all the staff were very friendly. Parking was tight, but each room has its own assigned space. We ate lunch at the restaurant, which had only been open 2 weeks. I wouldn't recommend it. We will not be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Caroline from Stuart

Want to visit again

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
If you want to be part of the old southern vibe this is the place to be. It is surrounded by cute a cute neighborhood with made walking fun. It also has a large park nearby. Walking distance to downtown Gainesville.