Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ocala, Florida

A urban hideaway!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: They have a wine and cheese hour every night and it was relaxing sitting by the fire, sipping wine, listening to Christmas music; peaceful!
Cons: I do no think I would change a thing about the Sweetwater Inn
Location: Less than 0.7 miles from downtown Gainesville, Florida so anything, anyone could want, is within walking distance!
Amazing how away you can feel while being less than a mile from a larger city. It can only be described as if someone transplanted an oasis into the middle the city. Quite little paths to walk through nature, small personal cottages, 2 bed and breakfast homes, heated pool, event accommodations, this place has it all! We did not see any children there either, which is a huge plus! A a review would not be complete with out a shout out for the staff, especially Heather! It is just like being at a relatives home where you are pampered and made to feel like you belong here! Whatever the future holds for Sweetwater I hope they keep Heather around, happy, and employed for a long time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
My only issue was the Saturday and Sunday breakfast. Saturday breakfast was late to star and Sunday bteakfast was started much later than announced; therefore, we had to leave without it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deerfield Beach, Stati Uniti d'America

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Excellent!!! Rooms are clean and the breakfast is amazing! Friendly staff 👍
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Quaint, historic getaway

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: Walking distance to downtown restaurants and bars.
I had always wanted to stay here and am so glad we finally did! The buildings have a historic charm and are decorated appropriately for the time period. Mae's cottage is separated from the main houses along with several other cottages. It is shared with another cottage under the same roof and they share a porch. It was noisy one evening, as our neighbors were talking loudly on the porch. But it was generally quiet and private. We would've enjoyed more comfortable seating aside from the bed. We had a nice dining area by the kitchenette, but none of the seating was very inviting. The full sized fridge was great for leftovers and our own snack and drinks. Breakfast our first day was just ok, but was delicious the second day. We ate outside and enjoyed the beautiful grounds and watched the cats play. It is located 1/2 mile from downtown and was an easy walk to restaurants and other downtown attractions. There happened to be an art festival downtown the weekend we were there, which was a nice surprise. We enjoyed being able to do so much without having to drive. The grounds at night were also beautiful. They were nicely lit and there were weddings both nights of our stay. The hot tub was more of a cold tub, which was disappointing. But the jacuzzi in our room was terrific!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing place to stay!!!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The property is beautiful and all of the people are super nice and accommodating...the breakfast was especially yummy!
Cons: The bed was a little hard
Location: One block over is all the nightlife and Restsurants you need
Amazing charm...delicious breakfast and wonderful people!!! We had a really great time. Everything was clean and charming...they even put candles in the cottage for us! I would suggest checking if an event is planned first because it got a little loud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville Florida

Well Taken Care Of

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The staff and the guest who there on repeat visit testifying to the consistency of care the staff gives. The rooms are wonderful--the staff just makes
I few into Gainesville FL the day before Hurricane Matthew was to come on board. The staff was gracious and even with the lateness of the day still provided me with a plateful of nummy goodies and a full glass of wine. I enjoyed this hospitality from my third floor in the Isadora Suite overlooking the world from the sitting room. Staff was very alert to the hurricane and I could see them the next day after breakfast preparing to provide and protect their guest. They are truly there to take good care of you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Old Elegance

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Beautifully restored home and beautiful grounds. Staff were friendly and helpfull.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Wonderful Victorian B&B

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Everything! The staff is exceptional, and they make the whole experience a true delight!
The Sweetwater Branch Bed & Breakfast is a delightful experience! The staff are all friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable, clean and tasteful, and the atmosphere takes you back to a kinder, gentler time. The gardens are beautiful and inviting. The food was freshly prepared and delicious. Even when off-duty, the staff will stop and take time to answer questions, look up directions, or provide information. I would highly recommend choosing this B&B over a commercial, chain hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from lake helen

nice place

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: it was quiet and close to everything
Location: good restaurants nearby and plenty of nightlife
the stay was pleasant i would stay again very quiet nice pool area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite and Peaceful

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Quiet and clean.
Cons: Did not feel as warm as other bed and breakfast inns. Felt more as if it was run as a hotel.
Location: Nice location next to town, a few good restaurants to choose from.
Quiet and peaceful bed and breakfast close to town. The property was beautiful, rooms were big, clean and cozy. Overall nice and pleasant place.