Ratings based on 2,505 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Freshen up the hotel and training..
Location: Location was convenient atso the hospital and school.
The Hotel has changed owners since my last stay. This stay cost almost three times as much as my last stay. Through Expedia I had a conformation for 2 Queen size beds, our beds were full size. I had 3 people in our party, there were only 2 towels and zero wash clothes. We called and requested 2 comforters, hours later we went to the front desk to retrieve them. We went to the hotel restaurant Friday evening about a hour before closing. The two hostess rolled their eyes and made body movements like they did not want us there. We left and went to another location to eat.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad experience

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was minimal but adequate. Cold items were included in the stay but there was an additional fee for the hot items.
Cons: Tear it down and build a new hotel. There's a beautiful lake at the rear of the property where the parking lot is!
Very old motel that looks it. The carpet in the common hallways needed to be replaced about 10 years ago. The locks on the door was loose and we didn't feel secure. I will never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by RAYN, Hotel Management
WE ARE RENOVATING.. THANKS FOR LETTING US KNOW
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will never made a reservation here again!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The lake was pretty.
Cons: Completely renovate this hotel
The first room they sent us to was occupied. Luckily the person inside the room had the TV blasting so we suspected someone was in there. We decided to try the key thinking maybe someone just left the tv on but it did not work. We had to walk back to the lobby to be given an "upgraded" room with a lake view. When we arrived at this room the smell of smoke (in a non smoking room) was awful. The bathroom was disgusting. We didn't even try for a third room. We notified the desk that we were leaving and stayed at another hotel down the street which was wonderful and clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The staff were very friendly The room was clean and inviting They were remodeling but everything was neat and orderly and you felt welcome
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Needs updates but overall pretty good!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
When we booked I thought the hotel was already the quality of a Wyndham. Not the case. However, it was obvious that they had major renovations going on because there were random painters everywhere. We were placed in building 1000. The elevator going down didn't work so we had to take the stairs which felt like the beginning of a Saw movie. Once we reached bottom you could see the very outdated carpet with stains everywhere (hope this is one of the renovations on the list). The room had a smell to it to me but nobody else could smell it but me. The first thing I always do is check for "hair" in the sheets and they passed so I was pretty happy from that point. Bathroom was okay and pretty clean. I just felt like I didn't want to take my shoes off cause the carpet was so old and gross. TV has poor reception but we were there for a Gator game so no need for TV. I only seen about 2 bugs but they had a sign on the table stating that bugs were high due to recent hurricane. They were not roaches so I could deal with it.. Just little tiny gnat looking things. The hotel provides FREE area shuttle and that was a done deal for us! Awesome service! The hotel staff was great!!!!! Once this hotel is updated this will be the place to stay in Gainesville!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very nice experience we really enjoyed our trip. Would use again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, but...

Posted Sep 9, 2016
I liked the room but the overwhelming smells of chemical air freshners made it hard to breathe. I learned, quickly, to just hold my breath in the elevator. The smell of chemicals triggered an asthma attack and I had to open the patio door to try to diffuse the scent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs in this place!!!!!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Awful! We were put in a basement room that was damp. When my daughter pulled sheet down there was a foreign hair on the sheet. I called front desk and demanded fresh bedding for both beds the manager said he would bring me the bedding but we would have to change the beds ourselves. At 11 at night I said fine. Bedding arrived at midnight. Went to change the bed and there was a large bed bug under the mattress called manager again and told him to get us out of this room only room left was a king bed. Since all other hotels were booked up in Gainesville and we were moving our student into dorm in the morning the three of us shared the king bed. All of our stuff was put in plastic bags and was treated by a pest control professional before coming into our home. This place is a nightmare! I would not allow my dog to stay the night there!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Deceived upon arrival!

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Wyndham just bought out the old nasty Paramount Hotel. The only things that had changed was the sign and the PRICE! Everything was old, dark, and broken! The staff tried, we changed rooms, but it wasn't any better. No cold water in the room, broken AC, stains everywhere, the security door for the entrance to the rooms lock was even broken. I would not have reserved a room at the Paramount. I thought I was staying at a Wyndham, I paid for a Wyndham, I was absolutely deceived!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

work in progress

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Windham is in the process of revamping the hotel. The setting/location is very good.