Ratings based on 2,801 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2017
The hallway carpet needs replaced. It seemed dirty and had a musty smell to it like maybe there had been some previous water damage maybe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Not what I expected

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: not much, I couldn't wait to leave
Cons: everything needs to be improved
Location: it was close to UF, so that was the only plus
Based on pics website and reviews I was expecting a better quality hotel. The room was ok, but the hotel itself was under construction, so everything was dirty and old. In the lobby, they had couches that were ripped, and it was a bit scary as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Appt. at Shands

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: Carpet dirty, handicap rooms are a long way from parking
Location: Location is close to Shands Hospital, Steak & Shake, IHOP (don't recommend), china buffet, Arby's
You get what you pay for. The hotel is in the process of some renovations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Accessible, Quiet Area - Under Renovation

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The location, TV, plush bed, and water pressure in shower.
Cons: Basically everything could stand to be consistent and well-cleaned.
Location: Keeps you close to UF/Shands/Archer Road/Downtown without all the traffic and quick access to I-75.
My room had a wonderful balcony and large, plush bed. The fridge was decently clean, but did not have a "freezer" shelf/function. The hotel is currently under renovation, thus there is layer of construction-type dust on most everything in the room. It appeared that rooms were being updated piece by piece because some furniture and fixtures/faucets had been replaced while outdated pieces still remained. My room was on a non-smoking floor, but guests were definitely still smoking throughout. If your room is at the end of the building's hall, prepare to walk quite a distance (with stairs) as parking is sparse. Luckily, I was on the first floor; but the elevators/stair cases are heavily outdated and difficult to maneuver. Vending and ice did not look appealing because of lack of sanitation. I also noticed marks and some random spots on the room's furniture plus floor that were missed during cleaning. The locks on the doors and sealing of them do not appear to be secure - this is my biggest complaint. You can hear people talking, laughing, moving about their rooms, and of course: smoking. There is also no bathroom fan or closed-closet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice peaceful view of lake

Posted May 17, 2017
I only stayed one night but was very comfortable in a newly renovated room. I was placed in a room in a building behind the main building where you check in. The elevator was a little frightening as it sounded like it needed some updating and servicing. The hotel is undergoing some renovations so it really isn't much of a negative from me. The bed was comfy and my view of the pool was pleaseant. The staff was kind and helpful. I would recommend this to anyone looking to stay close to airport. It was reasonably priced as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience

Posted May 16, 2017
Hotel was not clean. No coffee until 7. Staff was not helpful or pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
The Hôtel needs updating. Room was depressing and not very clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

nice hotel, bad condition

Posted May 11, 2017
The hotel cries for renovation. They have still popcorn ceiling in the rooms that makes the low ceiling look even lower. everything looks old and not fresh even though the hotel seems to be clean, especially the beddings.as usual you get what you pay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
Found a shoe, empty hairspray bottle and filth under bed . Had to go to front desk to ask a question they don't answer phone
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Phil, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to update us on your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear about the issues you had during your visit. I will personally look into the issues you mentioned in hopes to better serve you on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, fl

Not bad for the price

Posted May 6, 2017
Stayed here, and for the price of the room I was almost expecting to walk into something like the movie "Joe's Apartment." The rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious. My issues were that more dusting is needed on the patio, because there are numerous cobwebs, and the drink vending machine was not working. Besides that, not bad. Kick back, relax, and enjoy a comfortable stay at the Wyndham Gardens
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Phil, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your great feedback regarding your stay at Wyndham Garden Gainesville. We appreciate you sharing your comments and it is our hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.