Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location but didappounting overall

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Booked a balcony room but given a room on ground floor with courtyard with floorboards rotten and dangerous to walk on. Promised an upgrade to a room with sea views and given a room witb street views. Told them of my disappointment but ignored and no further communication. Rooftop bar did not have beer as they had run out. Bar without beer????
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne, australia

Perfect location in one the best neighbourhoods

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Staff great, hotel great, well designed generous rooms. Not much more you can say. Perfect hotel in a great city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Recep Mercan, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your reviews with us. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay here at Georges Hotel and in Istanbul. From Galata with love
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel with rough edges

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Location, décor, and staff
Cons: General maintenance, breakfast, and access for people with disabilities
Location: Lots of independent stores and restaurants nearby
We decided to stay at the Georges Hotel Gala because of its location and stylish atmosphere. It's in a trendy neighbourhood and the public spaces have a lot of character. The rooms are quiet and well appointed. The view from the restaurant is fantastic. Bonus: the large balconies are a terrific feature for those who like to sit outside. On the downside, the room was big but a bit run down, with peeling paint on the balcony ceiling and holes in the chair. The breakfast could be improved with fresh OJ and better preserves. There are also steps to the elevator and restaurant that would be challenging for people in wheelchairs. It should be noted that the staff made us feel special (thank you!) and we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Upscale vibe

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Overall ambiance and upscale feel.
Location: Galata tower, Istiqlal Street. Access to tram to Kabatas ferry stop or across bridge to spice bazaar and other areas.
We enjoyed our stay at this stylish hotel. The reception area has a nice exposed brick wall and leather furnishings, as a nice ginger blossom scent that creates a hip ambiance. They gave us a lower floor room that was like a little apartment - a lot of space to spread out. The room was comfortable, with complimentary water bottles, robes, etc. Bathroom was nice with a rain shower and open stall plan. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was pleasant with a great view of the Bosporus harbor, and good meal options. The location is great, near Galata tower and one end of Istiqlal street. If you want to take a break from Turkish food, there is a Shake Shack on Istiqlal. You can walk down hill to the tram stop or up a ways to the Tunel station. There are good restaurants and cafes on the small streets around the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Next to Galata Tower

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Boutique hotel on cobblestone road. Walk to Istiklal Street for shopping. Gorgeous, large rooms, spa like bathrooms, however the restaurant doubles as the lobby. Good restaurants nearby. Free breakfast until 3 pm!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Istanbul at your feet, a delightful retreat

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: At the centre of the city's trendy Beyoglu district, easy to walk around Pera and across to the Old City but a calm, quiet, classy retreat.
Cons: The shower in Room 2 needs attention to stop it shooting water everywhere and the room lighting could have been just a little brighter.
Location: After a busy day sightseeing join the crowd in the bars, cafes and restaurants around the Galata Tower. You're not far from foodie heaven Antiochia.
Booked with flight on Expedia. Very good value rate (February 2016). Hotel sent useful welcome email one week before arrival. Very pleasant welcome, very comfortable, spacious and warm (Garden) room, huge, exceptionally comfortable double bed, nice L'Occitane toiletries, white towel bathrobes and slippers, Nespresso machine, first class French teas, lots of hot water all the time, great breakfast (from 7 till 3), picture-perfect view over Old City and Asian side of the Bosphorus from the breakfast room/restaurant/bar, solicitous and professional service. The restaurant wasn't open early Feb 2016 but the bar is well-stocked, well-run and has a small list of some exceptional Turkish wines chosen by the bar manager who visits the vineyards himself. If you're arriving by cab from either airport make sure the driver calls the hotel for directions. There's no sign outside. The staff's English is very fluent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Excellent staff, very kind and helpful. Nice location, close to metro, tramway, istiklal and plenty of nice restaurants. Taking into consideration that hotel is located on a stiff hill, that envolves a lot of stairs climbing.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Nice hotel, attentive staff in a fun neighborhood

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
I greatly enjoyed my time at Georges Galata. The staff were very helpful in making my stay fantastic, helping with dinner recommendations and transportation in advance of my trip and making reservations for me once I arrived. The hotel is in a fun neighborhood, which seems to be growing, with new cafes and interesting shops. It's a short walk (15-20 minutes) to the old city, where most of the sightseeing is, but I enjoyed spending my evenings in the neighborhoods by the hotel. The hotel is styled nicely and comfortably, and the rooftop restaurant was a great place to see the morning sunrise over beautiful Istanbul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Georges Hotel is the place to be

Posted Oct 9, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We have stayed in many hotels so I believe we have a good knowledge of what to expect and the Goerges raised the bar. Great location in Galata. Excellent staff. The hotel roof top bar/restaurant is a must see anytime of the day or night. We will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Brian from Toronto

Amazing Experience

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel experience was one of the best we had on our travels throughout Europe. We arrived late at night and the staff receiving us was friendly and helpful in getting us situated (brought our luggage to our room, assisted us with finding food, offered suggestions for tourist options for the following day, etc.). The room was a great size, the bathroom was fairly large (although it was entirely glass with blinds and the door does not seal closed), the balcony had a table and chairs and the view was amazing. You can hear the prayer calls echoing here and it sounds beautiful! The hotel is in a difficult place to get to if you are travelling in a larger vehicle, but it is possible and definitely worth it. There are lots of shops (food, goods, souvenirs, etc.) in the area.