Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bugs and Stink

Posted Jun 4, 2018
Live spider on my pillow, dead bug next to the bed, dead fly in the breakfast refrigerator. This room smelled so badly I could not sleep. I opened a window, only to find that the window lead to some kind of storage, which had noxious or septic fumes pouring out of it into the room. Pubic hair in my bed sheets. Continental breakfast consisted of coffee, Raisin Bran, Frosted Flakes, plain bread, Little Debbie's mini donuts, a little bit of milk left in a gallon jug, a little bit of Sunny D (not juice) in a gallon jug-- kept in a fridge that had a dead fly in it and appeared not to be defrosted for many months. There was not even an apology given by owners/management when I told them there was a dead fly in the fridge. Although there was apparent effort made to keep the place cleaned and maintained, there are fundamental issues not dealt with, causing most awful smells, and absolute penny pinching leading to absolute false advertising on the breakfast-- never seen anything like it. The pool had been filled with dirt and turned into some kind of defunct garden. The owners had some cooking going on on a propane stove outside that made the whole property smell like curry. This place turned my stomach, and the memory of it makes me nauseated. If you are the least bit sensitive to smells, do not stay here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Surprised

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Blast from past , but extremely clean, staff excellent , rested , showered , no complaints. I will stop here on my way through.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga

No customer service

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Checked in late at night - freezing cold. Manager kept me locked out of the lobby while he completed the paperwork. Nice image - manager in short sleeves and me standing in a cold outer room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from galax va

hotel but lacking in services

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: room is clean and beds are comfortable
Cons: wifi and the parking area needs to be cleared of ice
Location: some shopping and good food
wifi is not running well, normally this is much better but this time it is fair to poor. hard to get on line and then hard to go anywhere once your get there. room also was cold when we arrived, heat wasn't turned on earlier to get it to warm up. also after it snowed they cleared the handicap ramp but didn't clear the parking area and tonight it was very slick with black ice
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Reasonable

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
Older motel but well kept and clean. Reasonably priced. Galax is a great old town to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Difficult Access

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: It has a quiet atmosphere, no noisy highway traffic.
Cons: Some renovation in the room I stayed in.
Location: Location, as mentioned is difficult to access. I didn't look for things to do. I just wanted to sleep and leave by 5:00am.
Difficult to access from I-77 south, using GPS. Difficult to get back on I-77 south, using GPS. The inn is aging, but well kept.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view of Galax!

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Helpful staff and goodnight’s rest. Remodeled, upgraded and room service would make even better!!
3 out of 5
by James

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
Hair on towel, generally unclean; house keeping was smoking while cleaning another room (while in the room).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Different

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful view from the inn, and the house has a unique design. The 2nd key didn't work, and the breakfast was nothing fancy. Overall acceptable at this price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not really worth it.

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
When they call a room a "Double", they mean "one double bed". Two beds is called a "double room double bed.". The clerk says that "happens all the time" and proceeds to charge you more for the room change which makes the deal not well worth it. Hotel is old, but mostly comfortable. It's a cheap room with cheap fixtures. Area is residential on the edge of town. Not directly off the main highway through town.