Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 25, 2016
We are from out of state and not knowing about the bar laws in Iowa, my child came to the bar to sit with his brothers and father - the lady scolded him and told him to get out of the bar - was very rude and made him very upset. I understand that each state is different, but feel it could've been presented just a little bit nicer. Was disappointed in the pool/lack of pool and no hot tub. Not real impressed with the TVs either, the picture did not fit on the TV screen, so had to guess what the football score was on the screen. Fridge was warm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old facility

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Old building not enough food for breakfast staff not super helpful room not fully clean when we showed up
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Found a dead spider folded in the towel mat, sheets had small red dots that looked like dried blood, the housekeeper was a little lazy-she left one bed unmade & didn't throw out or obviously finished breakfast bowl...but the front desk woman was super nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

out dated room

Posted Oct 18, 2016
the room was very out dated, no couch as we wore told duding booking, first day very musty smell, but told staff they took care of by next day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Clean & comfy

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Hot & clean shower. Comfy & clean bed. Those are the important parts. Everything else was average or below. Pool looked OK, but could use new tile. Not real inviting. Breakfast was OK, but rough if you're gluten free. Breakfast room was loud. But they had the best & coldest milk. It was wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellman, IA

not up to expectations

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable and bedding great.
Cons: non working recliner, no desk, tv-cable not working, horrible towels, wash cloths-feel like sandpaper!
Like to be honest, the bed and bedding was great, the room was not. The recliner was broke and did not recline, the towels were absolutely like sand paper! Need plush towels at least to feel good when you dry off. These were HORRIBLE, like what our company buys at SAM'S for the shop. The cable was off and am sorry to say I have not anything else good to say. I do not like giving bad reports but will not be staying at this motel anytime soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: It was ok. About a 2.5 rating for hotels.
Cons: A little more choice for hot breakfast. Bacon was not done enough. Little choice of cold cereal. Overall, we did get breakfast, though.
Location: It was ok.
We were comfortable in our room. The TV kept shutting down occasionally so you had to toggle in a channel to view. Kind of odd.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sioux City IA

Not as expected...

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: It was easy to find, easy to get on main streets.
Cons: Customer service, more details about payments and how handled.
Location: Close to WalMart, main road, various food choices within 10 minutes or less.
I've stayed at Baymonts several times in the past, always been pleased. This time, not so much. Check in was a hassle - have you ever heard of having to pay an additional deposit when credit card and cash as your payment methods? I have not, and she was not especially friendly about it. I also had my credit card locked up when she ran my card twice in a row, once it said failed, then of course second time declined because of multiple attempt charges to same place. The room was small compared to other stays, and it was clean, but most of hotel looked dated. Another desk clerk later was exceptionally nice, maybe just caught the other on a bad day?? The maid service attempted to accommodate me, but I was going to a wedding and didn't want to leave at 11 am, they came to door several times attempting to get me to go so they could clean room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: It was clean and the location was near our destination.
The hotel was not super impressive. Our room was in a separate building from where we checked in. I wasn't overly impressed with the hotel staff. I thought the gal who checked us in was kind of rude. She yelled at my husband and my 6 year old son when then walked into the lounge/bar area when they were going to shoot some pool. She said my 6 year old was not allowed as he was underage. My husband & son were just going to kill a little time while I was checking us in and she clearly didn't want my son in the bar area stating he was too young to be in there. I don't see what the problem was as my husband was not going to order a drink. The room was clean but the bathroom was rather small. Hotel rooms that have an external sink/mirror area are much more sought after when many family members are trying to get ready in the morning. Also, we couldn't use our key card at the door that was closest to your room. We had to walk all the way to the other end, the main entrance, to get to the stairwell. That was not convenient at all
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Beds weren't that comfortable. The staff was nice and it was was to have a bar in the hotel.