Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great bed and breakfast.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay. This bed and breakfast was very quaint and made us feel like we were back in the late 1800's!!! Truly a wonderful experience and we would definitely come back again. The owners were friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice facilities and great host

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Location: Walk to downtown Galena. See U.S. Grant's home (but remember that it's closed Monday and Tuesday)
Dave is an attentive, charming host and Bernardine makes an excellent breakfast. I felt welcome and at home.
4 out of 5
by Patricia from Charles City, Iowa

First time at a B&B

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
It was our first time ever to stay at a B&B. The hospitality was wonderful, the food was so delicious, the opportunity to meet and chat with other people was fun, and the homey atmosphere was so much better than a hotel. The room we had was somewhat small and the bathroom was extremely tiny, but the bed was comfy and the room was very clean and beautifully decorated. Staying at this B&B was part of the Galena experience...historic housing, and I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Katherine from Chicago

Family-feeling accommodations in beautiful house

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Hotels
Dave is a super authentic, friendly innkeeper. He made us feel very welcome. If you're the kind of person who likes to keep a bit more to yourself, even for B&B standards, this visit was a bit more interactive than some might prefer. Overall, we had a very nice visit and enjoyed the family-style breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Chicago

Great hospitality!

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful place for a weekend getaway. Close enough to walk downtown, and far enough away it was quiet and peaceful. Great service and hospitality.
5 out of 5
by Tracee from Davenport Iowa

best place ever

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful place for a romantic getaway. Great breakfast. Very charming
4 out of 5
by Margaret from Chicago

Charming Historical Inn

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
Charming historical inn with excellent breakfast run by a wonderful couple. Lovely stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Galena IL Bed & Breakfast

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: We particularly enjoyed the breakfast, meeting the other guests over breakfast conversation ... sitting on the front porch in the rocking chairs.
Cons: Some of the rooms have very small bathrooms. Clean and useable, but very tight.
Location: The Inn is located very near the shopping and restaurant district in Galena, and is across the street from President Grant's home.
Very welcoming, accommodating Victorian B&B. The Inn Keepers were very friendly and helpful and were genuinely concerned with ensuring a comfortable enjoyable visit.
5 out of 5
by James from Sun Prairie, WI

Cozy, Romantic Getaway

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
Went with my wife for our 20th wedding anniversary. It was romantic and the owner was very friendly. Only things preventing top scores across the board, were some renovations were in process (but it remained quiet) and the curtain could not be closed to keep the room dark in the morning because it would cover the air-conditioner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Charles, IL

Excellent Bed & Breakfast

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Its hard to believe that so many people say such great things about the quality of the inn and how Dave and Bernadine are the perfect hosts. Well...its all true! We stayed at the inn for one night and we had a wonderful time. The location, service, room and breakfast were all perfect.