Ratings based on 635 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapolis, mn

Charged twice in Dubuque

Posted Mar 25, 2017
We were charged twice for the room. Once by Expedia and once by the hotel. When I called they said they would take it off but it may take a few days! Not acceptable! Staff was overly concerned about the possibility of a non-guest getting some free breakfast. Unable to take something back for my husband. And the amount of leftover food was shameful!! Staff unprofessional and non-accommodating. "Premium bedding" was not. Did not feel like a pillow top mattress to me!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The heat in our room was our only 'complaint' of the hotel. It didn't work above 68 degrees. Other than that, our stay was very pleasant!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Guest Services Staff, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you experienced issues with the heating system in your room. Hopefully you reached out to our staff for assistance, sometimes the system just needs to be reset. We are glad the rest of your stay was pleasant and hopefully we will see you again during your next visit to Dubuque, Iowa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pella

Excellent weekend stay

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and the pool area
Location: Just a short 10 minutes or less to get downtown for the river museum
Our family of 3 had a great time staying here. The breakfast was amazing! We enjoyed the pool, hot tub, exercise room, pool table ($1/game), air hockey ($1/game), and ping pong tables (free, but spend $2 at Walmart and bring your own balls). This area had LOTS of tables & chairs. The hotel staff were all super nice! Our room was clean and there were no noise problems. We would recommend:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from des moines, iowa

Great service

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Great shuttle to anywhere, amazing breakfast. Stay here everytime we are in dubuque.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel and restaurant and continental breakfas

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: everything we needed
Cons: there wa a stain on the sofa and left a note for housekeeping on the card
Location: N/A traveling through
everyone did their job and it was a pleasant stay, will stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, IA

Nice hotel if you plan to use the pool.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: I think the facilities were good, I really liked the attached restaurant.
Cons: Need to put cushions on the hall doors, possibly adding a better door closer.
Location: Went to Galena, IL to go through the shops.
Checked in on a Friday night and checked out Sunday, We had king suite and did not plan to use the pool. We were put in a room that shared a wall with stairs and had doors that closed. These doors banged shut every time someone came through and was loud if you were trying to fall asleep. I believe the pool must have been open until 11:00 p.m. and there were kids running up and down the hall constantly and going up and down the stairs banging the door constantly until almost 11:00 p.m. both nights. The TV remote did not work, staff sent up maintenance promptly and replaced the batteries. For a weekend stay, I would recommend the hotel if you are going to have your kids there. If you are planning to be there for a couples weekend, quite pricey for a noisy stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great family gathering place

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
We had our family Christmas at the Best Western in Dubuque last weekend. It was a fabulous place for a large group gathering. The rooms were clean and had everything anyone could possibly need. There were many other families doing the same thing and the atmosphere was festive and happy. We were able to bring in food and gather in the pool area to eat. The breakfast was a wonderful addition. There were things for everybody to do. Would very definitely do it again and recommend it to any family wanting to have weekend get away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels