Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Menasha, WI

Mixed experience.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Nice, spacious room. Bathroom quite worn-looking. Could hear every cough from next door. Excellent breakfast. Weird hotel layout with one, tiny elevator way in the back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Mike Guthrie Front Desk Lead, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Best Western Plus in Dubuque, IA. We are sorry to hear you were inconvenienced by noises from the adjacent room. We are currently in the process of updating our bathrooms with new marble tub/surrounds, so possibly we have not had an opportunity to start the update in the room you stayed in. We do hope you will visit us again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Very comfortable! Clean, spacious room, and open common area is awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Mike Guthrie Front Desk Lead, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to submit a review of the Best Western Plus in Dubuque, IA after your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forwarding to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perry IA

Nice enough hotel, horrible customer service

Posted Sep 4, 2016
First of all with the room there was no toilet paper which gave me the impression that the bathroom must not have been cleaned before we checked in for there to not be any. Second, when you check in with your credit card they go ahead and charge it along with an insane up charge instead of after your stay so be prepared to have that amount pending on your card. I told the front desk person when I checked in to not charge my card I just used it to hold the room and we would be using my husbands card and they still put the charge on my card. I wasn't expecting this charge to be on my card so it made me stress about overdraft charges. My husband went to the desk to talk to the person and she was not helpful or even apologetic. She offered no solution at all in the matter. The next morning I talked to the front desk person for the day shift and he again offered no solution except this time we got "the manager will be in at 11 and will give you a call." We have yet to receive any phone call and I am short $216 on my card throughout the holiday weekend. The staff need to listen to their customers because I clearly stated do not charge my card more than once and she told me my card will not be charged. It was a huge inconvenience and we will not be coming back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, Mi

Lovely hotel with excellent service.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
I love this hotel and always try to stay here when I'm in Dubuque. The pool area makes you feel like you're at a beach resort, so clean and crisp! Champs restaurant adjoining has excellent food and the wait staff are truly professional. The free breakfast items are all delicious and well presented. My only questionable observation on this stay in room 348 was that there was a small amount of black mold on the bathroom tub tile and grab bar. A little bleach would resolve it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The kids loved the pool. Near the Mississpi River A plus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
The beds were too hard. Pillows too soft. The brakfast buffet was mediocre. Every thing else was perfect. Top notch staff. Beautiful pool area. Very clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Best hotel I've found in Dubuque

Posted May 14, 2016
After weeks of trying to find a decent place to stay in Dubuque I was very pleased with my stay at the Best Western Plus and look forward to staying with them in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Nikki, Hotel Management
Thanks Tim for your perfect review! Looks like your research paid off! As a team, we strive really hard to exceed our guests' expectations and I am so glad we reached the mark with you. We also look forward to having you back next time!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Great hotel centurly located overall a great place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2016 by Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review of our property!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great place

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Stayed here for a couple days. Great place. Great pool, great staff and champs sports bar is connected to the hotel and has great food. Champs also has a free breakfast buffet if you are staying at the hotel :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2016 by Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel, Hotel Management
Thanks Cat for your 5 star review of our property! It's great you got to experience several of our amenities while you were staying with us. I hope you will come see us again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2016
This is the second time our family has stayed here. We love it. Plenty for the kids to do! The staff is very helpful and doesn't bother you at all! Housekeeping is very accommodating and helpful! Our battery died on out vehicle and maintenance was very helpful! Could be just a tad cleaner....wasn't awful, just noticed edges of floors and baseboards dusty. Other then that we have no complaints and would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2016 by Nikki, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for writing your review of our property. I am so glad you were able to enjoy your stay and our staff were able to contribute to that. I also appreciate your constructive feedback and will absolutely make sure that our carpet edging is addressed. I hope you will come back again soon and visit!