Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breakfast was good

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Nice pool and hot tub
Location: Galena has lots to offer
Hotel was in a convenient location, no problems what so ever
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Homer Glen

A good nights sleep

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Easy to find, Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Quiet,comfortable room with great TV programing selections. Adequate breakfast selection.
Cons: Reiterate that there is no micro wave or fridge in room.
Location: Just outside Galena, IL. Ghost tours, Trolley tours, shopping, eating, Grants house, Tourism center has excellent President Grant history exhibit.
Arrived early evening, last week of August, on Tuesday. We were greeted with a smile and a cookie. When the restaurant we were going to for supper was closed we called the desk and they gave us a restaurant nearby. Excellent suggestion. The room itself was on the 4th floor, very quiet, bed comfortable. Many TV stations available. The air conditioner was efficient and kept us comfortable without a lot of fiddling and adjusting. The one drawback was there was not a micro fridge or microwave in the room. Our fault, we should have read the amenities closer. Breakfast was nice, fruit, make your own waffles, variety of dry cereal, hot eggs and sausage. A little something for everyone. A nice side for me was we arrived just before a storm and the warnings were posted at the desk. Having been in a couple of tornadoes throughout my life, I was relieved to know there is a designated safe room on both ends of the hotel for just that occasion. May not seem important, but if you have been in a tornado you know how comforting it can be to know there is a place to be safe just in case. I would recommend this hotel, just remember to bring a cooler for your leftovers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from danville, il

The perfect place when visiting my kids.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Location, game room, pool, staff
Cons: rooms need frig, microwave
Location: Best party spot in town after dinner is the Grape Escape on Main street. Nice that the hotel is so close to fastfood and Walmart.
We try to always stay here when visiting the kids/grandkids (2/5). The staff is very accomodating to all out needs. Been staying here over 10 yrs. No better place in town for the money, and we've stayed at them all. But always a little disappointed that there's no frig or microwave in the room. Love the pool and game room, none finer. Learned something new on the last stay. No longer is the best rate available over the counter with discussion. Now it's on-line. The times are a-changing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Close to downtown Galena.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The waitstaff was friendly and the rooms were very nice. Nice hot showers and the breakfast was great.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: All the shops and sightseeing in Galena were great. Also close to Dubuque but we did not make it there.
Very nice clean newer hotel. The clerk by the name of Irene, was most helpful. The breakfast that was included was very good with lots of choices. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Was reasonably priced thru Expedia. No hassles checking in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Nice size room, Nice staff

Posted Aug 14, 2015
The hotel is in a nice setting, right next door to the Ryan mansion and just a 3 minute drive to historic Galena shops and restaurants. Free breakfast was much better than expected, and the woman working the waffle iron went out of her way to make sure everyone was taken care of. Beds were very comfortable. Only complaint- the bathroom was beaten up and tub stained. And the "kid's pool" looked dirty and disgusting. Never saw any little ones in there, thank goodness.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. We are pleased to inform our guest that we will be remolding our entire hotel in the next several months as well as refinishing our baby pool as we are aware it showing some wear. We just recently refinished both our pool and spa and are excited to do the baby pool as well. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Breakfast, cleanliness
Cons: The hot tub was out of order for 2 of our 4 days. That is my wife's favorite evening spot.
Location: Very close to Highway 20. Downtown Galena is great. Did the alpine slides at Chestnut mountain. Caving in Debuque.
The hotel was very nice. Clean. Decent pool. The hot breakfast change each morning. That was a great surprise. The 2 ladies doing the breakfast were great. They were always busy but friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Nice and new hotel with a decent breakfast. The waterslide was a fun touch. Easy drive from the hotel to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vernon Hills, IL

Friendly staff and a clean room.

Posted Jul 31, 2015
The title says it all. The staff is wonderful, and the room was immaculate. The hotel boasts a small water slide which is perfect for younger children. We've stayed at this location previously, and we will stay there again. Satisfied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Galena, IL

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Overall a wonder hotel!
Cons: The bedspreads are quite heavy. That would be the only thing I would change.
Location: Galena, IL. We love the town. The shops are great. The food is wonderful. I highly recommend the trolley tour.
It was a wonderful experience. Hotel staff upgraded our room to a 2 room suite as we came in late and had kids. Breakfast was wonderful. Kids loved the pool and waterslide. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Kudos to the staff!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester MN

Nice/average/clean motel

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and safe.
Cons: Better cookies!!!! Your cookies are terrible. Over the years, Country Inn/Suites have put out amazing cookies. We were looking forward to them. STINKO
Location: Super!!
We arrived later and were not interested in the pool area however, it looked nice. This motel appeared to be very clean, quiet and comfortable. Not a high end luxury hotel but nice. Disappointing cookies. Not great pillows. Everything else... all good. If you would have had good cookies... I'd overlook every other problem... five stars.