Ratings based on 529 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Illinois

Nice hotel close to town and shopping.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: It was clean and has a good breakfast.
Cons: There could be more parking space.
Location: Located on the northwest side of Galena, the hotel is not far from Dubuque, IA and is near all kinds of small shops and restaurants.
We were there for only two nights and the room and breakfast was fine. My only complaint was the loud plumbing from the rooms above.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M, Chicago

very nice with swim pool, slide, hot tub, breakfas

Posted Feb 8, 2016
we used hotel for skiing at chestnut mountain and it was about 11 miles away but worth the trip if you cant book at the mountain. would book there again and recommend. pool with slide was really nice along with breakfast. you dont feel nickeled and dimed. good all around package.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice affordable hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Nice hotel to stay over night with some family members, good facilities and excellent staff, breakfast was delicious
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pool area was very hot! Chlorine in pool was very strong. It burned your eyes. Other than that, it was all fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very helpful and accommodating staff

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: the staff
everyone was knowledgeable about restaurants and very happy to help you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carbondale, IL

Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: The beds were very comfy. We all loved the pool and hot tub. Breakfast was delicious, many hot and cold options which differed daily.
Cons: If I had to complain about anything, the elevator was super slow and not enough room in the dining area for breakfast.
Location: Convenient to all shopping. Easy to find our way around town.
Had a wonderful stay, was decorated so pretty for Christmas. We loved the room, pool, had a fun game room for our grandson.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great hotel just out of the downtown hustle.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Hotel was just outside of downtown, but was very nice and quiet. The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to make sure the stay was great. Hotel was very family and group oriented and was a pleasure to stay at. this is our 4th time at the Country Inn and we plan on staying there next time as well!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was okay.

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Friendly front desk staff; good breakfast.
Cons: Make sure maids clean room, better pillows.
Location: Near Galena, IL. Lots of tourists attractions for shoppers, etc.
Hotel was very nice; front desk staff was very kind. Breakfast was excellent. Never saw the maid service; forgot to clean room one day...was very disappointed compared to rest of hotel stay. Bed was terrible to sleep in; pillows were basically none existent. Hotel was nice, clean. Pool looked inviting. Rooms was a little noisy...had to turn up TV to drown out neighbors talking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in driving distance of downtown Galen

Posted Oct 19, 2015
My only disappointment was that there wasn't a microwave and fridge in room. For the price, I thought there would be. Hotel is not is not in tip top shape, but decent. Bed very comfortable, even for friend with back pain. We did not use the pool, but it looked very nice -- hot tub and separate kiddy pool. Breakfast offered lots of options and staff did good job of keeping things stocked, but space for breakfast was crowded for number of people. Overall, decent hotel. No major complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonathan from Lincoln, Nebraska

Comfortable Beds, Large Rooms, Friendly Staff

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
The Country Inn at Galena is a very nice hotel and met our needs just fine. The rooms are HUGE, the bed was very comfortable, the TV has so many channels, it would be impossible not to find something that suited you. The breakfast was very good, although the seating area is pretty cramped. The hotel staff were very friendly and called to make sure we were settled in a half or so after we arrived. We really only have two comments to consider (for both hotel management and those who might want to stay here). First, we were surprised that our room did not have a refrigerator. It's easily one of the largest hotel rooms we have stayed in, so there's plenty of space. Galena is known for its restaurants, and we, like many guests, had leftovers. Thankfully, the temps were low enough that we were able to store it in the car. For such a nicely equipped and modern place, the lack of a refrigerator was surprising. Second, our A/C-heater unit was noisy. I have gotten so used to those things being noisy that I'm considering writing the Amana company and asking them WHY their hotel units are all universally noisy, even when relatively new. It rattled and there was not amount of pushing, shoving, or kicking that would make it stop. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Galena, though we now know to remember we don't have a place to store leftovers. Overall, it's a wonderful hotel.