Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peru IL

Rustic stay cabin near Galena

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Our only issue with our stay was with the water.. When we filled the jacuzzi tub the water was orange and the jets on the tub were full of rust.. Other then that everything was exactly as pictured and very quaint
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quad Cities

Don't go there.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
We were so looking forward to our stay there. We drove to the office a little dirty shack with dogs jumping and barking. No one was there. We then drove down to the cabins. It was awful. There was mud, weeds, junked cars, things thrown behind cabins. There was no way I would even step inside one of these cabins. The cabins needed a lot of work. You may as well stay in a tent. We drove home. No thanks!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Different kind of place and experience.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
I felt the grounds could have been neater; including the office. The grass needed to be cut and I could have done without the dogs next door barking whenever they saw us. The interior was nice, a few cobwebs but clean otherwise. The bed was very comfortable. The drive from Galena was beautiful and not that far from town. I would definitely go back. Much better than the typical hotel experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
I would say this is average place to stay, little overpriced though. Not very clean (cobwebs, yellow stains in the bathroom) but not disgusting. Outside not very appealing but on the other hand quiet and green. Inside little dated and fireplace didn't work. Bathroom very spacious but yellow stains from water everywhere on sink, toilet bowl and bathtub. I think for that price you can find better place for that price.
4 out of 5
by james

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jordan H. from East Dundee

Down to earthiness accommodations

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Our family had a wonderful stay! If you are looking for "hoidy toidy" accommodations, this is not for you. It's pure log cabin earthiness - we loved it! The alpacas and labradoodles are the icing on the cake and appear to be having the time of their lives there, dirt and all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Batavia Illinois

Don't recommend

Posted Jul 23, 2015
This cabin property felt like it was moments away from going out of buisness. All landscaping was overgrown. Used shampoo and conditioner in bug infested shower. Stained curtains hung in the windows. Direct TV didn't work. Coffee maker took 45 min's to brew a pot of coffee. I would never stay here again!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Laughable!

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
Felt super sad for the Labradoodle dogs! To me they were not very well taken care of. The gas fireplace would randomly turn on in the middle of the night. Ruth was super nice!
3 out of 5
by Kenneth from Illinois

Seen better days

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
Could be much, much more
1 out of 5
by Angela R. from Illinois

Overpriced and Disappointing

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels
This was a Labor Day weekend option that was chosen from a limited number of places available. I do not understand why it has such high ratings. Upon seeing the outside, I was tempted to cancel on the spot. The land where the cabins are located is not very nice and the cabins are fairly close together. The owners would not answer there phone and there was no one to greet us upon arrival - just an envelope taped to the door. The water is well water, which is gray and has a rust smell as it doesn't appear that they filter the water. There was a basket left for us at night which contained bananas, yogurt and store bought pastries. For the price, I would have expected something gourmet or home cooked rather than store bought. They also have alpacas which do not seem to be well cared for - there were so many flys on the animals the poor things could not open their eyes. I have stayed in Galena many times - there are so many other and much nicer places to stay for less money - avoid this place!