Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hosts

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Wonderful peaceful setting in the country. After a disappointing experience at a local high end restaurant, they indicated that they would contact the owners to see what the issues were. They even helped us out with another restaurant . Excellent breakfasts and views
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hicham from Roselle, IL

We Were Treated Like Royalties

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe a swimming pool.
Location: Galena, and Debuque, IA. Hiking, sightseeing..etc.
Great place, Romantic, and great hosts who treated us like royalties.
5 out of 5
by P and G Ludwig from Carroll

Very nice Bed and Breakfast

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels
Very nice place to stay...beautiful country side B and B
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Drew from Chicago, IL

Excellent place to stay in NW Illinois (Galena)

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Great owners. Peaceful estate. Great room with private entrance. Great breakfast!
Cons: Nothing! Best for adult couples. I would warn against bringing kids as not really setup to entertain childern.
Location: Downtown Galena has lots of shopping - but can get crowded. Go across river to Grant Park for some quite. Blackjack road for scenic driving.
So happy that I somehow found this place on Expedia for a great rate. Stayed in Swan Lake room (3 rooms in main house, plus cottages on the property). The owners are fantastic! Great breakfast every morning. The are also very helpful with advice and directions for the area. Private exterior side door in is great. The door also has a screen so enjoyed leaving it open in the morning. There's a deck with chairs that over look the estate. Beautiful grounds. Very peaceful. Close enough to Galena though (~15 minutes) and parking was not much of a problem in town (just don't park on the main drag).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for anyone looking to get away

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: country setting, pond, gazebo, water features,
Cons: out of town a few miles
It was a beautiful, quiet country retreat with great breakfasts and unending hospitality. Loved it and hope to return.
5 out of 5
by Xavier & Maribel from Chicago

Very beautiful and romantic

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels
What a beautiful bed and breakfast. Everyone was wonderful and the location was very relaxing. I cannot wait until we go again. We stayed in the Hillside cottage and it was very beautiful.
4 out of 5
by Mary

Posted Nov 6, 2012 on Hotels
Wonderful place with, very cordial hosts, very creative breakfasts. Nice place to relax and absorb the surroundings. We really enjoyed our stay. Frank & Mary
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We won't stay in chain hotels again!

Posted Aug 24, 2012 on Hotels
The hosts were wonderful-we feel like we've made new friends! The breakfasts were gourmet and there were fresh homemade cookies. We liked snuggling under the big fluffy comforter & sleeping with the windows open and listening to all the quietness of the country.... We just didn't have enough time to relax since we were there with a group of friends and we rode bicycles all day. Next time!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for couples

Posted Aug 14, 2012
beautiful place but almost 15 miles from the town proper. Kind of stuck out in the boondocks, but if you just want a nice relaxing weekend with nature, and delicious food and hospitality, it is super.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from DeKalb, IL, USA

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 13, 2012
Pros: Location, breakfast
Hawk Valley Retreat was vey peaceful and relaxing. We felt like one of the family and the food was delicious. We would definitely recommend this head and breakfast to anyone, but especially couples and nature lovers looking for a getaway.