Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Close to Galena and a beautiful place to stay. Great size room with everything you need. Grounds are well kept. Next time we'll try a cottage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kenosha, WI

Beautiful location, comfortable room, friendly

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Hotel is about 5 miles from town of Galena, which has a popular downtown area catering to tourists. Hawk Valley was quiet and removed from this.
The room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the scenic location. Free homemade breakfast with friendly owners and guests was a highlight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Teeds Grove, Iowa

Love this place.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Quiet and relaxing.
Cons: There is nothing I would change. Loved everything about my stay.
Location: The location was perfect about 10 minutes out side of town. There is a lot to do in Galena for ever ones interests.
Beautiful place, great staff, and great breakfast. Nice and quiet and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Amazing views and very peaceful! A must see and stay! We will be back to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hosts

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Wonderful peaceful setting in the country. After a disappointing experience at a local high end restaurant, they indicated that they would contact the owners to see what the issues were. They even helped us out with another restaurant . Excellent breakfasts and views
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hicham from Roselle, IL

We Were Treated Like Royalties

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe a swimming pool.
Location: Galena, and Debuque, IA. Hiking, sightseeing..etc.
Great place, Romantic, and great hosts who treated us like royalties.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Drew from Chicago, IL

Excellent place to stay in NW Illinois (Galena)

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Great owners. Peaceful estate. Great room with private entrance. Great breakfast!
Cons: Nothing! Best for adult couples. I would warn against bringing kids as not really setup to entertain childern.
Location: Downtown Galena has lots of shopping - but can get crowded. Go across river to Grant Park for some quite. Blackjack road for scenic driving.
So happy that I somehow found this place on Expedia for a great rate. Stayed in Swan Lake room (3 rooms in main house, plus cottages on the property). The owners are fantastic! Great breakfast every morning. The are also very helpful with advice and directions for the area. Private exterior side door in is great. The door also has a screen so enjoyed leaving it open in the morning. There's a deck with chairs that over look the estate. Beautiful grounds. Very peaceful. Close enough to Galena though (~15 minutes) and parking was not much of a problem in town (just don't park on the main drag).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for anyone looking to get away

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: country setting, pond, gazebo, water features,
Cons: out of town a few miles
It was a beautiful, quiet country retreat with great breakfasts and unending hospitality. Loved it and hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for couples

Posted Aug 14, 2012
beautiful place but almost 15 miles from the town proper. Kind of stuck out in the boondocks, but if you just want a nice relaxing weekend with nature, and delicious food and hospitality, it is super.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from DeKalb, IL, USA

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 13, 2012
Pros: Location, breakfast
Hawk Valley Retreat was vey peaceful and relaxing. We felt like one of the family and the food was delicious. We would definitely recommend this head and breakfast to anyone, but especially couples and nature lovers looking for a getaway.