Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive for what you get

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The space in accessible rooms is nice. The lounge area is pretty.
Cons: It doesn't make sense to me to put accessible rooms far from the elevator. I would have appreciated more courtesy from desk staff.
Location: Easy enough to get to from several highways. Casino, Greyhound Track, and walking trail are right there. Close to downtown.
I was very pleased with a previous stay in an accessible room on first floor close to the pool. This time the accessible room was on second floor which meant lots of walking from elevator to room for anything. Wi-fi was not private. Breakfast was not free but expensive. Desk staff was mostly unfriendly and unhelpful. We never received a receipt at check in but were charged considerably more than quoted when I booked, and the difference went unexplained. We chose to leave a night early. We did receive a receipt for credit, but that extra was still not refunded at that time or adequately explained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice - easy casino access

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Access to casino, and had a great room.
Cons: Cost of breakfast. It could be added to a package.
Location: Casino. Mississippi, Galena IL wineries and downtown is great.
Great hotel, on the Mississippi - and the casino is a walk away. Nice clean hotel. Recommended if you want to have a nice place and no worries.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice and clean. Breakfast was a little pricey, no kid's meal. The food was good, though. The only problem was that the hotel smelled like cigarette smoke because it was connected to a casino and I was unaware of this when I booked the room. If I had known of the strong smell and presence of second-hand smoke, I would have stayed elsewhere. I was traveling with my 7 year old daughter and that concerned me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to Five Flags

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: spacious room
Cons: hotel lobby could smell fresher
Location: Soccer tournament at Five Flags
The hotel stay was good overall. The room was clean and spacious although our view out the window was of the roof and mechanical equipment. We couldn't see much. Hotel lobby area smelled a bit like cigarette smoke but the hotel room area did not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Collins, IA

Absolutely fabulous!

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Thank you so much for helping make our girls weekend so great Ken, Jeff, Jessica, Chuck, and all the other hotel and casino staff! We had a wonderful time and hope to be back in the near future! Also the Cougars band was excellent!! Would love to hear them again!!
5 out of 5
by Fred from Madison

awesome stay!!

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
We always try to stay with Hilton Garden Inn. Great overall experience. Clean, great value, people were awesome. Thanks again
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel and staff. Room was very clean. Breakfast was delicious but priced a bit high.
5 out of 5
by Terrace

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel at the casino

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: The room was the first one inside the door on the ground floor. It was very convenient for when we left and came back.
Cons: Carpet and bathroom floors deep cleaned.
Location: casino and we went to a concert nearby.
The bathroom floor had hair on it(not ours) And the back splash of the sink area had never been cleaned. It was actually crusty. It just need needed some elbow grease.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the Casino

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Hotel was clean, staff was very friendly and helpful. Cookies in the lobby were delicious!!
Cons: Continental breakfast
Location: Can walk to Casino and Restaurant/Bar with out going outside
Staff was very nice, hotel was clean and beds were comfortable. It has a nice pool and hot tub. Easy to walk to casino or restaurant. I would say that the only thing I wish it had was a continental breakfast.