Ratings based on 1,033 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Julien

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Parked and walked to dinner at VinniVinnucios, Awesome! Walked to several local shops, awesome, walked to the casino, not so awesome, followed by walking to a few local pubs, awesome. Took advantage of the hot tub, awesome, followed the next morning by walking to the coffe bar down the street, ok, followed by walking to massages and pedicures at the Capri college ( only appointments we could get) okay, not awesome as Potosi. Staying here is great for a girlfriends getaway or a romantic interlude. Dubuque continues to impress me and our stay at the Hotel Julien was awesome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The hotel and staff are very friendly and helpful however the pillows are terrible and it was very hard to get a good nights rest b/c there is a bar across the street that plays very loud music until 2 A.M. We brought small children and this kept the whole family up. If you stay bring your own pillow and earplugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Beautiful building within walking distance of downtown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milwaukee, wi

Beautiful old "Grand Dame" respectfully updated.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Chose this Hotel on a lark while exploring the area. It turn out that if we had discovered it sooner, this would have been our home base. While probably not the first choice for those still hauling " the brood", for couples or mature explorers ( especially those who appreciate the character & architecture of this City ) you can do no better. If you are more comfortable with the restless energy of the Casinos, you won't appreciate this quiet, laid back, elegant beauty that sits squarely in the middle of a fun, thriving Riverside downtown. Walk to the museum's, Riverside parks, fun diverse dining, and enjoy River/bluff views. In fairness, there are trains that follow the River, but surprisingly muted by the sheer bulk of the building. GREAT beds, elegant rooms that still provide modern amenities, and a solid, quiet, relaxing atmosphere no nuevo classic chain can hope to match. This will be a getaway destination for us in the future, anchored right here at this absoloute Gem of a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, MO

Beautiful hotel in downtown Dubuque!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The beds were so comfortable! Great Location
Location: Lots of restaurants and pubs within walking distance.
A girls getaway at the Hotel Julien, was absolutley perfect! Beautiful hotel and wonderful staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The hotel is centrally located and many restaurants, shops are within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2017
This place has an interior that is historical and a classy modern touch. The location on Older Main is great for walking to shops and great food places within a few blocks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

favorite place to stay in Dubuque

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Cons: Showing wear and tear in bathrooms./
We have been staying at the Julian Inn since it was remodeled several years ago. The staff is great, the rooms and especially the beds are very comfortable. We always enjoy eating at Caroline restaurant downstairs. This visit i'm noticing some wear and tear on the rooms. I hope management will go the extra mile and spruce up what is the best Hotel in Dubuque.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Liked the ambience,

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: It was historical and convenient.
Location: It was close to the River Museum and to the casino.
Close to everything and had a van to take you places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Fantastic place to stay! Would stay again in a heartbeat.