Ratings based on 923 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick overnight

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: clean, good mattresses and lovely decorating throughout the hotel
Location: Sunshine Family restaurant about a block and a half away for breakfast - sit at the counter if you can!! 8)
Really enjoyed our night here! Lovely rooms, good mattress, fabulous bathroom and old fashioned windows that open! Quick mention, if you have a street-side room on a Saturday night don't sleep with the window open as the bars across the street can be a bit noisy and then Sunday morning church bells begin at 7am and seriously go like 12 full minutes. That said, we will definitely be back to stay here!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Historic hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
We enjoyed the historic nature of the hotel and the location in downtown Dubuque. Could have been a bit cleaner in the rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff

Posted Sep 13, 2016
The hotel staff really threw back the rating of this hotel. Unaccomodating in many ways. They need to rethink the staff at the front desk. Otherwise, it is a beautiful hotel and incredible location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Check in and out was really fast. The staff was really nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Paul Minn

Historic hotel in downtown Dubuque

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Hotel Julien is a beautiful, historic hotel in downtown Dubuque a block or two from the Mississippi River. The staff are courteous and helpful and my room was luxurious by comparison to most modern hotels I have stayed in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall just ok

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pricey for what you get and the condition. Had higher expectations but so so overall
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location walkable to River Walk!!!!!!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Location---Quite----Renovated but historic.
Cons: Perfect for our needs
Location: RIVERWALK and all the Mississippi river has to offer. Just blocks from hotel.
Parked car once there and walked the Riverwalk. Nice job on the hotel renovation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Road to Field of Dreams

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Nice hotel with good amenities. Staff helpful but not overly Midwest friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Julien Dubuque

Posted Aug 18, 2016
great locale, super friendly staff, excellant rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The Hotel was in excellent shape. Extremely clean. The staff was beyond friendly and our room Wakaso clean you could smell it. Will e back.