Ratings based on 1,058 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort & Class in Dubuque

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Perfect location with the class and comfort of a big city hotel
Location: adjacent wonderful restaurants and bars
Travelling on business and to my pleasant surprise this hotel offered all the comfort and class with a prime location. The city was charming and the staff were excellent along with all the ship business owners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midwest

Surprising find

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not much at all
Location: Nice little bars across the street.
Really surprised to find such a nice hotel in downtown Dubuque. Really nice renovation with clean comfortable room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Nice service, comfortable and clean room. The breakfast was great and reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison

Nice hotel but needs work

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: We like the location and history of this old hotel.
Cons: The entire property needs a deep clean, carpet shampooed /replaced. A lot of upholstery is tired and needs replacing as well as bed linens and towels
Location: The hotel is in a beautiful historic area of town. You can enjoy the old buildings, restaurants, art museum, coffee shops and casinos
We have stayed here several times in the last few years. The hotel is getting older and they have not maintained it. Rooms are looking tired and paint and carpet need changing. The carpet in the restaurant was so bad it was black! We were very disappointed because this used to be a beautiful hotel and was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, IA

Dubuque Trip

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Location and parking
Cons: Some problems with design to get to parking (have to use 2 elevators)
Location: In older part of downtown--close to Mississippi RIver Museum and historic buildings and Fenelon Place Elevator and restaurants and entertainment
Convenient to highways and tourism centers, easy parking and many restaurants in area as well as good food on site,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historic hotel right in town

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Great hotel- historic and well kept. Pool was great and hot tub as well. Very close to restaurants, shops. Didn't get a chance to try the spa- next time! We will definitely return. Brought my girls for a spring break getaway.. the Mississsippi museum is within walking distance and really a fabulous museum. 20 minutes to galena as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Julien

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Parked and walked to dinner at VinniVinnucios, Awesome! Walked to several local shops, awesome, walked to the casino, not so awesome, followed by walking to a few local pubs, awesome. Took advantage of the hot tub, awesome, followed the next morning by walking to the coffe bar down the street, ok, followed by walking to massages and pedicures at the Capri college ( only appointments we could get) okay, not awesome as Potosi. Staying here is great for a girlfriends getaway or a romantic interlude. Dubuque continues to impress me and our stay at the Hotel Julien was awesome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The hotel and staff are very friendly and helpful however the pillows are terrible and it was very hard to get a good nights rest b/c there is a bar across the street that plays very loud music until 2 A.M. We brought small children and this kept the whole family up. If you stay bring your own pillow and earplugs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had an amazing experience!

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed in one of their suites for my birthday celebration, had both amazing service and beautiful surroundings. Also visited Potosa Spa for a birthday massage, was heaven. I wish I could live in their relaxation room in the spa, so peaceful. Definitely the nicest hotel in town.
5 out of 5
by Chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels