Ratings based on 883 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Great hotel with a lot of personality!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Wonderful hotel with interesting history! The hotel was clean and staff was very helpful and and courteous! The restaurant had a wonderful breakfast menu and every dis we had was delicious! The staff was friendly and quick with tasks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winston-Salem, NC

Dubuque's Finest

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: A classic hotel restored and maintained so as to preserve its classical beauty.
Cons: I have no suggestions for improvement.
Location: The Hotel Julien Dubuque is easy walking distance to the Dubuque waterfront and all downtown establishments.
An excellent hotel experience in all respects. An elegant hotel, spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, and a topnotch restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

A nice beginning of week get away

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Arrived Sunday and checked out Tuesday. Did not eat at the hotel but enjoyed coffee in the lobby, and complementary local newspaper. Had a tough time controlling the temp in our room, and the hot-tub was out of order. Other than that, the hotel is beautiful and we enjoyed our room and the lobby area. The hotel is near many of the cool things about Dubuque. Highly recommended. We rented bikes a few blocks away for fun on the Heritage Trail and were able to walk to dinner at LaMays. Some restaurants are not open on Monday and Tuesday, but we managed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Charming 102 year old hotel located near the river front.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for down town

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Perfect place for staying in Dubuque, Staff was excllent. Room was quite even though there were trains close. Good food in the hotel. You can walk to the water front and casinos. Loved the place and will return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach

Nice hotel with professional staff

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Location: Nice river walk, good restaurants and wine tasting. Walking distance to all activities in old town Dubuque.
Great experience in Dubuque, Iowa. Clean and comfortable room with friendly staff and nice location central to old town Dubuque.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Gorgeous Hotel

Posted May 18, 2016
This was a girlfriend getaway and sorry to say, only a one night stay as we were traveling further... close to everything, liked the prompt shuttle service to casino, the lobby, rooms meeting rooms were beautiful quite masculine so men will enjoy the appearance and comfort as well. Staff was helpful and the welcome bag of great popcorn a plus!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed at it prior to restoration- very well-done!

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: The quality of the renovation and restaurant.
Slept. Ate at Caroline's which was fantastic and left.the.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Holmen, WI

Very nice amenities. Loved the robes!

Posted May 3, 2016
Great place to stay within walking distance of so many things to do. A just a short drive to Galena, IL.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We absolutely loved this hotel.

Posted May 1, 2016
It is absolutely beautiful and such a clean hotel. This will be our place we will come to stay at when we are in Dubuque!