Ratings based on 1,070 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

This is a hotel with character.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Being in downtown and right on the Mississippi
Cons: For me, nothing.
I love this hotel. I've stayed there twice and if I had any even semi-rational reason to be in Dubuque I might move in. This trip I ate at their restaurant, Caroline's. The food was great, creative and very reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Onalaska

geeat location.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Great location. Great decor. Amazing sheets. Super friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Excellent renovated old hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown shops, and restaurants all within a six block walking distance. Staff very friendly and solved problems quickly.
Location: Several pubs and bars within walking distance. Excellent location if your visit includes the Mississippi River Aquarium.
Excellent old hotel recently renovated with nicely appoint furnishing. We had a suite over looking the Mississippi River. Full kitchen, full sized refigerator and bar. Excellent for entertaining guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
The bedroom and the bathroom were very clean and tidy. The staff were very nice and they offered us little bags of popcorn at check-in. I would definitely stay here again, and I do recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort & Class in Dubuque

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Perfect location with the class and comfort of a big city hotel
Location: adjacent wonderful restaurants and bars
Travelling on business and to my pleasant surprise this hotel offered all the comfort and class with a prime location. The city was charming and the staff were excellent along with all the ship business owners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midwest

Surprising find

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not much at all
Location: Nice little bars across the street.
Really surprised to find such a nice hotel in downtown Dubuque. Really nice renovation with clean comfortable room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Nice service, comfortable and clean room. The breakfast was great and reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison

Nice hotel but needs work

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: We like the location and history of this old hotel.
Cons: The entire property needs a deep clean, carpet shampooed /replaced. A lot of upholstery is tired and needs replacing as well as bed linens and towels
Location: The hotel is in a beautiful historic area of town. You can enjoy the old buildings, restaurants, art museum, coffee shops and casinos
We have stayed here several times in the last few years. The hotel is getting older and they have not maintained it. Rooms are looking tired and paint and carpet need changing. The carpet in the restaurant was so bad it was black! We were very disappointed because this used to be a beautiful hotel and was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, IA

Dubuque Trip

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Location and parking
Cons: Some problems with design to get to parking (have to use 2 elevators)
Location: In older part of downtown--close to Mississippi RIver Museum and historic buildings and Fenelon Place Elevator and restaurants and entertainment
Convenient to highways and tourism centers, easy parking and many restaurants in area as well as good food on site,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historic hotel right in town

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Great hotel- historic and well kept. Pool was great and hot tub as well. Very close to restaurants, shops. Didn't get a chance to try the spa- next time! We will definitely return. Brought my girls for a spring break getaway.. the Mississsippi museum is within walking distance and really a fabulous museum. 20 minutes to galena as well.