Ratings based on 792 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Relaxed weekend.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
I stayed in a suite 1 king bed & hot tub (w fireplace). The room was exactly what l wanted, in the way it looked, the confort and cleanliness. l also enjoyed having partial view of the frozen pond :) and the wooden building that looks like a barn. Being on second floor in the last room, it was very quiet although our internet on our phones was disconnected a few times. My impression of the breakfast room was that it could have looked more inviting just by puting a cover on the tables (it was more like a school cafeteria).The food choices could use some improvement. Sunday they made a very simple cheese omelette and they also had bacon which wasn't so bad , but Monday morning they didn't cook anymore . We had the choice of waffle (we had to make it ) ,or toast (as something warm) .There was also bagel, cheese cake, cereal and yougurt.. Could use some nice fresh fruit and eggs.A nice satisfying breakfast always makes us feel great, especially when we are away ,and it makes us to want to come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was ok only

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The room was cold when we arrived. The heater was really loud. It was hard to sleep. Guests across hall smoked even if it was a non smoking room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well worth the price.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Huge pool. Nice bed and spacious.
Location: Right outside of Galena.
Very clean hotel. Good breakfast! The pool was very large and warm. The HVAC system worked well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed there this past weekend and woke up on Sunday the COLDEST day of the year -10. My boyfriends diesel truck wouldn't start and the maintenance guy at the hotel was nice enough to drive my boyfriend to Walmart and get him some fluids he needed for his truck and he also let him borrow a space heater to warm up the truck. Needless to say he went above and beyond and his generosity and kindness was very much appreciated. The whole staff was very friendly all weekend and it was a pleasure staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H.

Great hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Great hote yet at an affordable price. We stayed at the hotel in galena Illinois.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but not good breakfast

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great get away
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The hotel was clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. Huge pool and the locker room was also clean and well maintained. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A disappointment for the amount of money

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
There was no elevator to the second floor, and it was hard to drag my luggage up to the second floor. The bed was dangerously high from the ground with tiny foot stools, easy to imagine turning an ankle in the middle of the night. The gas fireplace was nice, as well as the refrigerator. Moderate noise as folks returned from their evenings out. I will not stay here again. In the breakfast room, TV with local preacher throughout breakfast.