Ratings based on 781 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lombard, IL

Next to Ryan Mansion Ghost Tours

Posted Feb 11, 2017
We didn't tour the mansion, but the hotel is close enough to make this very convenient. The hotel only a few minutes drive to downtown Galena.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall Ok Hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Close to the downtown area.
Cons: Consistent amenities.
Location: Within 5 minutes from the downtown area, close to gas stations and fast food.
Upon check-in we were told (before she asked for my name) that check in wasn't until 3 pm and our room was not ready and that we had to wait. I was ok with waiting since we were an hour early for check-in, however our room ended up being right around the corner from the desk and I can almost guarantee that no one entered that room during our wait to clean ect., therefore we could have checked in prior to the 3 pm time. Once we entered our room I noticed that we were missing curtains on the windows, however the bar with curtain clips was still there. It made the room look less appealing and lacked some privacy. We had two other couples in our group, each of us booked the same exact room for the same rate using Expedia. One couple had a mini fridge and a microwave in their room, while the other couple and myself did not. I found the amenities to be inconsistent and lacking. The hotel did call us a week before our trip to let us know that the pool would be closed for the duration of our stay and that we could cancel if we wanted to. I wish I would have known that they planned this pool renovation earlier, as I would have looked for other options. A week prior on a holiday weekend left us without may other choices. Overall, the hotel was ok and suited our purpose. It was close to the downtown area which was a large plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Relaxed weekend.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
I stayed in a suite 1 king bed & hot tub (w fireplace). The room was exactly what l wanted, in the way it looked, the confort and cleanliness. l also enjoyed having partial view of the frozen pond :) and the wooden building that looks like a barn. Being on second floor in the last room, it was very quiet although our internet on our phones was disconnected a few times. My impression of the breakfast room was that it could have looked more inviting just by puting a cover on the tables (it was more like a school cafeteria).The food choices could use some improvement. Sunday they made a very simple cheese omelette and they also had bacon which wasn't so bad , but Monday morning they didn't cook anymore . We had the choice of waffle (we had to make it ) ,or toast (as something warm) .There was also bagel, cheese cake, cereal and yougurt.. Could use some nice fresh fruit and eggs.A nice satisfying breakfast always makes us feel great, especially when we are away ,and it makes us to want to come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was ok only

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The room was cold when we arrived. The heater was really loud. It was hard to sleep. Guests across hall smoked even if it was a non smoking room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well worth the price.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Huge pool. Nice bed and spacious.
Location: Right outside of Galena.
Very clean hotel. Good breakfast! The pool was very large and warm. The HVAC system worked well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H.

Great hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Great hote yet at an affordable price. We stayed at the hotel in galena Illinois.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The hotel was clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. Huge pool and the locker room was also clean and well maintained. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A disappointment for the amount of money

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
There was no elevator to the second floor, and it was hard to drag my luggage up to the second floor. The bed was dangerously high from the ground with tiny foot stools, easy to imagine turning an ankle in the middle of the night. The gas fireplace was nice, as well as the refrigerator. Moderate noise as folks returned from their evenings out. I will not stay here again. In the breakfast room, TV with local preacher throughout breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, easy access, NO STAIRS!

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Very accommodating for 1 year old baby (pac&play & nice high chair provided) & they put us on 1st floor for my mom who uses a cain