Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceeded our expectations

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The Ramada is conveniently located close to downtown Galena. Our room was spacious, well-lighted and clean. There was plenty of hot water, big thick towels, and spotless bedding. It was a haven after a day of inclement weather. We only stayed one night and did not use the pool or have the continental breakfast, so I can't comment on those amenities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

nice hotel near golfing

Posted Sep 14, 2016
This Ramada is very nice with lots of parking! It's clean and quiet with a nice breakfast too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not far from downtown Galena Il.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Nice beds.
Cons: Breakfast needed to be warm.
Location: Lots to see on Main st in downtown Galena.
I think they forgot to turn the warmer on for breakfast. The eggs and sausage were cold.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

comfortable hotel with a resort feel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: large pool, patio, pond
Location: A short drive to boutiques, quaint restaurants, the Desoto hotel, Grants house and the Belvedere Mansion.
The entire hotel was clean and comfortable. Everything looked pretty new. There is a huge indoor pool, and a large patio overlooking a little pond in the back. We didn't try the spa, because it was a little pricey and we heard other guests say the massage therapists were not very good, but we did not try it so I can not say for sure. It's a quick drive to downtown and you are right on the main highway through town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Only can go downtown to Galena Main Street. Nothing else close by.
Would be nice to have a bar and good wine there. Or perhaps advertise bring your beverages and we will provide nice bar glasses. Air conditioner is noisy. Nice rooms. Breakfast was okay. Get some healthy bagels and fresh fruit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Met expectations

Posted Aug 7, 2016
We've stayed at this Ramada before. It is a good hotel and a good value for the Galena [tourist area] on weekends. You'll find everything you need, and everything in good order.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago burbs

Great hotel, minutes from downtown Galena

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Comfortable and clean rooms, decent free breakfast provided at reasonable hours. Wish the gym opened at 5 or 6 am instead of 7 am...hard to get a workout in once my kids are awake ;)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Looks better on the outisde

Posted Jul 31, 2016
This hotel looks great when you walk into the newly redecorated lobby, but the novelty ends there. Front desk could use a guiding hand in how to make people feel welcome. Our room looked fine enough, but the toilet needed maintenance twice during our 3 night stay and the towels just didn't smell clean. The highlight of our stay was supposed to be long soaks in the Jacuzzi after busy days of walking and enjoying the sights. This was not possible since the Jacuzzi was not working during the entirety of our stay. I understand that maintenance issues come up, but to not offer an apology or some form of compensation to guests for the lack of an advertised amenity is difficult to accept. On the positive side, the hotel is set on a beautiful property with a deck overlooking a pond. Coffee and tea service is available all day/night. Breakfast is included, and the oatmeal included some delicious topping choices. Also, maintenance was quick to respond to issues, as inconvenient as they were. Overall, the Ramada Galena would be a good choice for someone who is not too particular about their hotel experience. However, this hotel lacks the country charm and hospitality one would expect to find in a village as old and lovely as Galena.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel and great deal from Expedia

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Overall cleanliness, the deck/yard/pond area, the pool, and very much appreciated the complimentary breakfast and all-day coffee tea.
Cons: Service at front desk. Maintain all amenities & have parts available so they are not out of commission for long. Small fridges in rooms.
Location: Hotel is off-of US 20. Close to downtown Galena (5-minute drive on US 20) & close to Dubuque, IA (15-minute drive on US 20).
Hotel was, in general, clean and well maintained. However, hot tub was not working for our entire stay (3 nights) and very small fitness room, but the pool and deck are a very nice size and well-kept. I would recommend they consider adding umbrellas on deck. The complimentary breakfast consisted of cereal, bagels, toast, danishes, yogurt, cold hard boiled eggs, oatmeal packets, waffle maker and biscuits with gravy, along with coffee, milk, tea, & juice. Overall, housekeeping and maintenance staff were friendly, however, front desk can improve on friendlier customer service. For the great price I found on Expedia, happy with value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Very nice hotel. Room was clean and quiet. There's not an elevator but it's only 2 floors so not really an issue unless you have trouble with a small flight of stairs. Then just ask for a first floor room. Breakfast area was roomy and clean. Would rather have seen eggs and sausage than biscuits & gravy. But they had waffles and plenty of other choices. I would stay there again.