Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Surprisingly nice

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Just needed a stop over spot to sleep during a weekend trip and kind of expected a dive. Only stayed one night. Room was fairly clean although some of the fabric was spotted (sheets, desk chair, curtains) they had clearly been washed but had stains. Hotel appears to have been renovated recently and the room was well furnished. Easy parking, well lit lot. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Wisconsin

Up the hill from downtown, quiet

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Quiet location, nice bedding, Overall cleanliness.
Cons: Drop the wifi charge, it's an old, outdated policy, most of us have smartphones anyway...
Location: Great Mexican fare next door, and the mall is just minutes away. There's a Maid Rite about a half mile away, it's great! Loose meat rules!!
Beds soft and comfortable, bathroom clean, tv worked fine with a clean remote and cable channels. AC provided nice white noise, we slept soundly. Will return to stay here next time we're in town. An excellent restaurant next door, authentic Mexican menu, we liked it! Blackout drapes, and shower worked fine. Easy parking too. My only complaint- charged wifi service, not a deal breaker, we used our hotspot, but, come on folks, Just include it free!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gurnee,il

Great location, Comfy bed- Staff not so friendly

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We came to Galena for our anniversary - the hotel was in a good location for a decent price compared to staying in Galena. We were able to spend time in both Galena and Dubuque! Bed was comfy and room was in good condition! Could us some work for Hotel staff could be friendly upon arrival - she was sitting behind desk on her phone when we arrived and didn't really want to get up, she finally did but didn't even look up at us once during check in - just went about doing things had us sign and have us keys. Not very friendly for sure! Vending machine was down and no diet soda or wAter in their little fridge. Which was a bummer when we forgot to grab a drink
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dubuque for a day

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Location: Lots of shopping near by.
Seeing the sights in Dubuque - this hotel provided more than adequate lodgings. Comfortable and clean - decent free breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubuque, Iowa

Decent location and clean.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Decent location and clean. Rate seemed high for a Super 8. There must have been some event going on in town because Saturday night the rate was almost double the week night rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Repeat Visits

Posted Aug 8, 2016
I love Expedia and read a lot of reviews prior to booking a hotel room. I knew that this was going to be just an overnight stay and we would not be spending time in the room so less picky then if we are going to spend a lot of time there. I booked a queen non smoking room. It seemed that they decide on the day if people can smoke in it or not because it was obviously not always smoke free. The smell was horrible and the windows were blocked so you could not open them to get in any fresh air. When trying to mess with the window the entire front fell of of the air conditioner revealing all of the dust and grime underneath the cover. After making this discovery I decided that I was not going to even grab coffee from the breakfast room the next morning. The entire hotel did not seem clean. The next morning when we went to leave I stopped down to drop off my key. There was a box there with a note to drop the key in there and ring a bell if you need help. There was a gentleman there sitting with his feet on the desk playing on his phone and he did not even look up to acknowledge I was there. Certainly will not stop there on the next time through!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Okay but could be better

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Air conditioner work nicely
Cons: just about everything besides the air conditioner
Location: There was a nice Mexican restaurant next-door to the hotel that was pretty good
When we first checked in it seemed like staff really was not interested in being bothered. They looked tired maybe overworked. There was only one person at the desk that night. The next morning during checkout same deal staff seemed uninterested in coming out of the back room to check us out. Rooms were clean but may be a bit outdated. Bathroom floor tile was loose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

No frills place to lay your head.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Room smelled upon arrival. We stayed 2 nights & room was not cleaned, bed made, towels changed, etc. Breakfast was a joke. Juice machine broke down. Not much choices to eat. No decaf coffee available. Dog in room across the hall was barking all night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wi

safety

Posted Jul 23, 2016
the ice machine was not working,the outside door was not key activacted anyone could come in.not much area outside to sit,should maybe have a little table and chairs to use
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel easy to find

Posted Jun 6, 2016
This was an okay hotel. It helped that it was easy to find and the comfort of the beds was nice. The breakfast was okay, wished for a little more variety. On the negative side, the staff at night was surprised that we had never been here and didn't really have any helpful ideas of things to do in the city. The next morning we had to call the staff member to even come to the desk. The room smelled of mold or B.O. Not sure which.