Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southfield, MI

An older small hotel

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Reasonable price and location.
Cons: Could use updating of the rooms.
Location: Not far from center of town, but not on the lakefront. We attended the Jacob's Ladder festival which was only a few miles away.
A nice older small hotel that seems to have had some refurbishing. Could use updating of the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Immaculate. Great shower!! (Trust me : )

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Location: Quiet. Not in the center of town, which was a plus for me.
Immaculate. Reasonably priced. Pleasant. Seriously, the best shower I've ever experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal QC

Decent place to stay if not picky

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Was impressed with room when I walked in since it had 2 beds, fridge and microwave which previous hotels didn't have. But once settled in, the wifi didn't work which was a bummer and a rooster outside kept us up half the night. Bathroom can use some maintenance, but that doesn't bother me as much. Breakfast was amazing though!!!!
2 out of 5
by cathy from Adelaide

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Rude desk staff. Breathtaking in their ability to ignore us. Owner very nice. Wi fi didn't work in the room. Dirty. Fire escape locked and bars on Windows. Death trap.
5 out of 5
by Nathaniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Parking
Location: Muslim section, lots of markets and shopping. Lots of walking.
Ok stay. Great staff. Internet rarely worked whole week we were there. Food was ok. It was clean and quiet however, and that was important to us. Parking lot, as most of Jerusalem is a nightmare, to park in.
2 out of 5
by Mitch from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Berger and Astoria Hotel was poor.

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
The Berger is an old, tired hotel. There were so few people staying there that they shifted us to the sister property the Astoria Hotel, across the street. This hotel had construction going on. When we booked in the person at the counter was on the phone and didn't acknowledge our presence. This hotel was also older. The rooms were large but the features were from another era. There were no snacks we could buy and I had to walk down the street to find a little grocery store. The breakfast was bare bones.
4 out of 5
by Leanne from Spokane wa

Would go back

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed the place. Clean great employees the owner was very helpful.
3 out of 5
by David G from Wiltshire, UK

Basic but with charm, space and amagnificent view.

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
The staff call the proprietor 'The Major' and an army feel runs through the hotel - shipshape, clean, and with higher than average facilities (Fridge as well as tea/coffee making and extra sink, large bathroom, good shower) The rooms are large. The furniture is plentiful with good storage space - though rather basic - metal frame desk and table - a bit like officers' barracks I guess. 'The Major' is very helpful - both knowledgeable and forthcoming about the area and able to produce a needle and any colour cotton required in an emergency. The real bonus is the magnificent (though partly restricted) view of The Sea of Galilee from the balconies. Insist on a front room. The Major will say they are a bit noisy - but the sound proofing is good and I have know ones far louder. You may get similar views from other hotels in Tiberius. But I doubt they will be such good value. The view of the sea must however be the thing to look for - especially if you have half an hour after seeing the sites to reflect and watch the sun go down with a beer on the balcony.
4 out of 5
by Julius from New York

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
Nice rooms, simple.